We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best little airline in NZ”
Review of Sounds Air


Reviewed 26 June 2021

very impressed with Sounds Air, I did a 1 day return flight Taupo > Wellington > Taupo. fantastic 9 seater aircraft, very smooth flight apart from the in and out of Wellington which is notoriously bumpy on ant aircraft. Could not fault the experience, the staff and crew were so helpful and professional. I will definitely be using this service again, it was absolutely brilliant.

Date of travel: June 2021
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank 160dereks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2021

This is flying, the price of the flight from Wanaka to Christchurch is worth it for the scenery alone. Amazing service, amazing crew. The landing was the best ever.

Date of travel: June 2021
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank steve1234749
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2020

Very efficient, timing was good. Friendly staff, easy check-in. No frills, but a perfect way to get across the Strait. Could be hard to get in if you are elderly or not so agile. We had a smooth, quick flight. We noticed a few people had transported their animals (in cages of a designated size). Long term parking at the airport made the whole experience super easy for us! We booked online, easy process. Limited flights to choose from, not offering all services every day. We just worked our holiday around our booking. Price, not so cheap but for the convenience it was worth it!

Date of travel: August 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2020

Sounds Air flies me to Wellington for work every week. The customer service is first class, stellar views and great prices. It's a real pleasure to fly Sounds Air.

Date of travel: March 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank SusanEShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2020 via mobile

Lovely staff, great slights over all the wineries. Small plane with not much space. Probably could offer candy as my wife had trouble unblocking her ears which became quite uncomfortable.
Flew from Wellington which is an artwork in itself

Date of travel: February 2020
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
Thank DariusGoodhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.