We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Long (Overnight) layover in Port Moresby airport

Kuala Lumpur...
3 posts
Long (Overnight) layover in Port Moresby airport

Hi all travellers,

I will be travelling from work-related trip from LAE to POM to SIN this coming early Jan 2024. This is my first time in PNG & my first in the POM airport. The flight from LAE shall be landing at 1900hrs at POM & my next flight out to SIN is about noon time the next day. As a budget traveler, the idea of spending another ~$200 for a hotel room is not favorable, but still an option. The plan is to hang around in the airport & try to kill the time as best possible like I always did in other airports. The questions are, is it allowed to stay overnight in this airport? is it safe to do that? What about facilities in the airport? I do plan to enter & stay in the international terminal once I get there from LAE.

Appreciate inputs/advices from you guys. Thanks.

10 replies to this topic
London, United...
Level Contributor
6,613 posts
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
1. Re: Long (Overnight) layover in Port Moresby airport

i am pretty sure the airport is closed overnight - there are some recent threads on PNG and POM on a budget

there are some missions (missionary houses) in POM which have cheap accommodation but if you book in advance unless you are on a busy day you should be able to stay at somewhere like the holiday inn for much less than 200 usd and they have a nice pool and facilities - look on trivago

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
8 posts
2 reviews
2. Re: Long (Overnight) layover in Port Moresby airport

by the time you pay airport taxi fares to and from a cheap joint it is just as economical to stay in a budget hotel that offers free airport transfer like Hideaway Hotel, Ponderosa Hotel or Shady Rest Hotel.