We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best of…. Recommendations please

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 posts
2 reviews
Best of…. Recommendations please

Fly/cruise/fly Milford sound ? safety and enjoyment both important

Ice bar ?

Jet boat ?

Winery tour (half day only) ?

Earnslaw cruise ?

Thanks in advance.

2 replies to this topic
Arrowtown, New...
Level Contributor
8,303 posts
68 reviews
65 helpful votes
1. Re: Best of…. Recommendations please

* Fly/cruise/fly Milford sound ? safety and enjoyment both important

COACH - cruise - fly is the best option. 'Best' is so subjective - personally I'd choose a company that offers a smaller coach and smaller boat. - otherwise they are pretty much all the same.

* Ice bar ? - not my cuppa tea, so I have little knowledge as to any differences

* Jet boat ? - what do YOU want from the jetboat? Each one has differences which might be the selling point you want.

Shotover Jet - the original 'canyons', though I wouldn't choose them due to difference in opinions regarding business practices

K-Jet - departs downtown - includes both Kawarau and Shotover Rivers

Queenstown Jet Boat/ RealNZ - has the biggest/ fastest boat with 2x V8 Raptor engines - goes up Kawarau River

Skippers Canyon Jet - get a small bus (20 seater) up the Skippers Canyon road (no rental vehicles allowed - pretty extreme road!), and jetboat the remote upper canyons of the Shotover River - this is my top choice - loads of history and experience

Dart River Jet - drive up to their Glenorchy base (beautiful road), continue up to Paradise, then jet the Dart River - stunning area. This would be my 2nd choice.