We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Milford Sound tour operators

Lower Hutt, New...
Level Contributor
67 posts
2 reviews
Milford Sound tour operators

Kia Ora. Our long awaited trip is finally happening next month! We have a rental car, but I think a coach trip to Milford Sound might be best. Can anyone recommend a good tour operator? Ideally we don’t want to be on a crowded boat. We are travelling in the school holidays as I work in a school. Thanks.

10 replies to this topic
New Zealand
Destination Expert
for South Island, Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand, Tonga
Level Contributor
24,605 posts
745 reviews
511 helpful votes
1. Re: Milford Sound tour operators

definitely a tour bus in april. Southern discoveries is the only operator that goes to the underwater observatory if you want to do that.

Ironically, i have found the bigger boats are the less crowded ones, and the smaller boats crowded so you cant move around.

I prefer a bus that doesnt have the commentary in several different languages as i fine the constant talking detracts from the scenery.

Metro Manila...
Level Contributor
122 posts
13 reviews
8 helpful votes
2. Re: Milford Sound tour operators

We went on the Milford Sound cruise c/o AwesomeNZ just yesterday and found it to be great experience for us!

Our bus driver, an elderly man who expertly handled our vehicle, was giving his commentary only during the trip up from Queenstown to Te Anau and then Milford Sound. Granted that at times his voice wasn't too clear at certain moments, I actually found them helpful as we passed by specific spots. And then on the way back, he only spoke three times: when we departed Milford Sound, as we approached Te Anau (to announce a quick rest break) and then when we were about to enter Queenstown (around the airport area).