We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

5 nights in Queentown

Middlesbrough...
Level Contributor
472 posts
105 reviews
111 helpful votes
5 nights in Queentown
Save

Hi,

I'm leaving next week from the UK, stopping in Sydney first then flying to Christchurch to Queenstown via Mount Cook.

I have 5 days in Queenstown and currently I have booked, Milford Sounds by plane with cruise, Lake Wakatipu, Skyline package with dinner, catapult and swing, and I still have one day to do something. Can you please suggest anything else? (not into history, but like outdoor walks / scenic things). This is my first time in NZ. Is Lake Wanaka worth including?

Cheers

15 replies to this topic
California
Destination Expert
for New Zealand
Level Contributor
18,621 posts
71 reviews
33 helpful votes
1. Re: 5 nights in Queentown
Save

Maybe one of the jetboats? Shotover is a short thrill ride, Dart River a longer, less of a thrill ride, gorgeous scenery. Rent bikes in Arrowtown and ride one of the many trails. Hike up Queenstown Hill to the Basket of Dreams. Do the TSS Earnslaw cruise and visit the sheep farm.

Nelson-Tasman...
Destination Expert
for South Island, Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand, Tonga
Level Contributor
24,217 posts
739 reviews
509 helpful votes
2. Re: 5 nights in Queentown
Save

there are so many things you can do - wanaka is worth visiting, so is doing the queenstown hill walk, or hire a bike and do the frankton trail. Maybe walk from bobs cove, glenorchy, Wineries. What is the rest of your itinerary?

do you like mountain biking? the lake dunstan trail from cromwell heritage area to hugo bridge and back is just stunning.