We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Last minute trip planning in South Island

Level Contributor
57 posts
1 review
2 helpful votes
Last minute trip planning in South Island
Save

Hi Everyone,

I am a procrastinator by nature (which I am trying very hard to change) and am now just starting to plan my South Island trip! Its my first time in NZ and I can't wait to explore its beauty. I will be going with my entire family (they are all relying on me to plan everything!). We love being in nature, hiking, oceans/swimming, wildlife, looking at scenery, eating fresh healthy food. No need for nightlife or citylife. We just want to relax and see the magnificent natural beauty that NZ has.

I will be landing in AKL the morning of 3/8. I plan to fly straight to Nelson because I booked Wilson's 3 day guided hike in Abel Tasman (so excited!). My question is now that I am so far north on SI, where should I go next?

I need to fly back to AKL on the evening of 3/19 as I have a flight out of AKL to home on 3/20. Therefore I have 3/12-3/19 7 days to explore the rest of south island. Some places I know for sure I would like to visit is: Milford sound, Hooker valley trail and stay overnight at Mt cook. Maybes are Glow worm cave at Te anau. I am undecided as of right now whether to fly from Christchurch or Queenstown to AKL on 3/19. Any itinerary suggestions would be extremely helpful as I leave in 2 weeks! Thanks in advance !

27 replies to this topic
Auckland, New...
Level Contributor
695 posts
12 reviews
11 helpful votes
1. Re: Last minute trip planning in South Island
Save

Well I don't think you'll be staying in Mt Cook for the night, the chances of getting accommodation two weeks from now for a family is next to non existent.