We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Terrible experience with Athens Car Rental (ACR)

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 posts
35 reviews
12 helpful votes
Terrible experience with Athens Car Rental (ACR)

Hi all,

I'm new to Tripadvisor. I actually joined because I had such a negative experience with Athens Car Rental (ACR) and I wanted to share it with people as a cautionary tale but also because I will be back in Athens in a few months and am looking to hire a car from a reputable company.

When I was looking for a car rental company I searched these forum and came across a few good reviews for ACR so we went with them. However, I get the impression that these reviews were based on situations where things went smoothly. I can honestly say they are the worse car hire company I have ever used in all my travels. They left us stranded, wasted our holidays and lied multiple times. Perhaps they are ok if nothing bad happens but if there is an incident you will be left high and dry.

We rented a car from ACR in October for a five day trip from Athens to Volos. We got the car with no hassle and the representative was nice and friendly. Just one day later the car broke down on a mountain hill road about 30km outside Volos. The car died on a bend and we had to push the car to safety as the engine was smoking. While that was unlucky for us the big problem was how ACR dealt with the problem. Had they responded professionally and with good customer service, we would have been ok as these things happen.