We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Just starting to plan for a June trip.

Flushing, Michigan
1 post
Just starting to plan for a June trip.

Hi , I am just beginning to plan a long awaited trip to the Cotswolds. I think we will be staying in Chipping Campden for a least a week or more. We plan on doing a lot of walking and we will also have a car. We want to be walking distance to pubs and restaurants also. Should we spend a few days in London and take the train to Bath then rent a car? Ideas of areas we should visit? We will be doing some walking trips too, any suggestions? I have read many of the posts and have some ideas but it a little overwhelming! Thank you for your help.

10 replies to this topic
Machynlleth, United...
Level Contributor
3,217 posts
5 reviews
2 helpful votes
1. Re: Just starting to plan for a June trip.

Car rental. There are not really any places to rent WITHIN the Cotswolds, so yes you need to rent somewhere like Bath or Oxford. Both really special places to visit, where you don't need a car, so go by train, enjoy for a few days, then rent the car on leaving the city.

Machynlleth, United...
Level Contributor
3,217 posts
5 reviews
2 helpful votes
2. Re: Just starting to plan for a June trip.

Well, the Cotswolds are a range of hills covering some 800 sq. miles, with lots of scattered scenic, historic and architectural delights, and scattered settlements, so it's easy to feel overwhelmed initially.

But you have a week and a car, so that's good. ( Or is that a week including London and Bath? That's not so good ....).

I find this website good for 'at a glance' lists of attractions. This is the page for historic sites, and there are separate pages for gardens, for towns and villages, for activities ( including walks):

https://www.cotswolds.info/castles-romans-sh…