We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

What to see in Westport and Karamea in one day?

Utah
Level Contributor
48 posts
23 reviews
Save Topic
What to see in Westport and Karamea in one day?

I have one day to spend in this area on April 14, 2017. We will be driving from Westport early in the a.m. and I know it is a 1 1/2 hour drive, and I need an itinerary for a day's worth of sight seeing! My husband and I are 57-58 years old, good health, like to hike 2-4 hrs round trip.

I am a photographer and would love to be able to get some awesome pictures of this area.

What route and things to do/see are suggested? I'm open to all comments!

Also, I could spend the night in Westport or drive to Greymouth depending on time of day. Our plans are to drive over Arthur's Pass to Christchurch the next day... is that doable in one day????.

Thank you!

9 replies to this topic
New Zealand
Level Contributor
1,862 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: What to see in Westport and Karamea in one day?

There are great walks in both of these areas but you will have to choose between them unless you like rushing. At Karamea you can walk part of the Heaphy Track for as far as you can handle and return on the same track. Then visit the Oparara Arch and caves, the latter for which a good torch is required. Call in at the information centre for info.

At Westport drive past Carters Beach and walk to Tauranga Bay seal colony. There are great views of the coast on this walk as well as a lighthouse.

New Zealand
Level Contributor
1,862 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: What to see in Westport and Karamea in one day?