We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alaska transporter and wheelchair

San Francisco...
Level Contributor
2,895 posts
3 reviews
9 helpful votes
Alaska transporter and wheelchair

Via cruise,: Ketchikan, Juneau, Skagway.

First time traveling with these equipments. I thought maybe the transporter would be lightweight enough for the ship and then at the ports. But now I’m wondering if in port, we need something heavy duty. I’d hate to bring two. If we have to that’s OK. Once again, this is my first time, someone is lending us a transporter, so will have no idea about it until just before we board.

There will be a strong enough person to push either chair.

I was thinking about the terrain. The person can walk off the ship if the gangway is difficult.

Just planning to meander around. Not go to the glacier, not go on a bus. Slight possibility of going on the tram.

However, if we get too far, wondering how easy it would be to put either one in a taxi with three people.

Not sure to know if I can use a wheelchair or transporter in the rain.

We’ll bring a pillow to sit on, a blanket to keep warm and maybe some kind of plastic wrap for rain.

Anything I should know?

4 replies to this topic
Wrexham, United...
Destination Expert
for Singapore, Traveling With Disabilities
Level Contributor
4,508 posts
362 reviews
313 helpful votes
1. Re: Alaska transporter and wheelchair

That's going to be challenging, but very rewarding. You may get some help here, but other forums may be more useful.

I suggest you also ask for advice on the Cruise forum http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowForum-g1-i10703-Cruises.html

And get help from local experts on the Alaska forum https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowForum-g28923-i349-Alaska.html

Have a lovely vacation.

San Francisco...
Level Contributor
2,895 posts
3 reviews