We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Confirmed a Seat?

CK
Washington DC...
13 posts
Confirmed a Seat?

So I a few days back booked a flight through AA for British Airways operated flight. My status is Ticketed and all but I'm just curious. I've heard of flights being overbooked and like the flight is a good few months away but if I'm ticketed does it mean I'm for sure confirmed a seat?

I'm new to all this and am figuring it out on my own so I'm just trying to make sure everything goes OK for my first flight and stuff.

9 replies to this topic
San Diego...
Level Contributor
45,895 posts
1. Re: Confirmed a Seat?

Unless you booked a basic economy fare that doesn’t allow you to select a seat until check in, you should be able to go to the BA website or use their app and select a seat. You’ll need the BA confirmation number.

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6,240 posts
143 reviews
175 helpful votes
2. Re: Confirmed a Seat?

Yes, you have a confirmed reservation. You can’t have an e-ticket otherwise.

But that does not guarantee being offloaded in an overbooking situation. But how often does that happen? Usually the airline asks for volunteers who don’t mind being offloaded.

Not worth worrying about, you can’t control what happens & nothing you can do will prevent it. Booking a specific seat number isn’t helpful either.

Vancouver, Canada
Destination Expert
for London
Level Contributor
71,489 posts
11 reviews
89 helpful votes
3. Re: Confirmed a Seat?

'I've heard of flights being overbooked' Many carriers overbook with the knowledge that travellers' plans will change, some may not travel and some will miss a connection.