We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$7 - $40
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Gastropub, New Zealand
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (248)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
89
68
44
23
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
89
68
44
23
19
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 31 December 2023

Great food, good service and nice garden! We liked the calamari and chowder and the portions are absolutely huge.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2023 via mobile

We ordered the pasta and the salmon plus a couple of drinks. The staff were friendly and my partner enjoyed his pasta. The low point was the salmon. I thought I was getting NZ salmon judging by the price (and the fact that we're in...NZ!), however as soon as it arrived I knew it was either Tasmanian or Atlantic because of the pale colour and the dry texture - neither are a patch on NZ salmon. It was Atlantic salmon. They are both significantly cheaper though, so I'm guessing that's why they serve it - they buy the cheap Atlantic salmon and charge the customer for NZ salmon. Had I known this is what they're serving I wouldn't have ordered it. They should be up front about it on the menu because to not say it's Atlantic salmon is misleading. It was served with boiled veggies. The sauce was nice.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2023

Great food and wine! Excellent service. Which made it a lovely Mother’s Day lunch. Always enjoyed my food!

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2023 via mobile

This restaurant serves consistently bad food over many years and last night wasn’t any different. Had the chicken burger and the chicken was obviously pulled out of the freezer and deep fried…texture was like plastic. Another had the salmon salad…salmon just dropped on some baby...spinach. Wrong drink was served and when told the waiter said they didn’t have any lemonade syrup in the dispenser, so he just served the soda water!More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2023

Exactly what you would expect from a Monteiths Bar, the food was good, the beer cold, but what made this evening so special was our server. I wish I had gotten his name, he was a young man who understood customer service. He managed our...table of 12 like a pro and we were never having to ask for a refill. Thanks for that.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2023 via mobile

Salmon was awful. Very oily and processed looking. Hash brown oily and tasteless. Steamed vegetables were the only edible part of meal. Very disappointing meal.

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2023 via mobile

Food average decent range of beers nice pub but used to be better. Plenty of better eateries locally. Try the Mexican better beer too

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2022 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch on way to Queenstown. Asked if wanted drinks as soon as we sat down. Good menu Nice outdoor area Lovely gentlemen and friendly with sense of humor. Seafood salad very yum Creamy pasta no taste, I ate the mushrooms left the...rest. Told staff meal tasteless and no drop or offer to remove from bill. Overall disappointedMore

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2022 via mobile

Staff we lovely, but seemed tense and we felt hurried to choose a drink as soon as we received the menu. I wanted a stock standard Cosmopolitan but the ingredients weren’t available to make one. Husbands first choice chicken breast was not available so he...had the rib eye-medium which came out well done. I picked the pasta with chicken very expensive at $30 unfortunately my creamy pepper sauce came out instead as some revolting mustard variation of yuk. DisappointingMore

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2022

It is a very welcoming place. It has a fantastic beer garden which is great for people watching. The beer was very well kept. Also, very clean and tidy. BUT, the music was awful. The average age of the customers was about 50 and there...was dreadful Rap music being played. I think maybe the young staff has got their hands on the music system. Shame as the place is definitely worth a visit.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2022 via mobile

We were very disappointed to find the pub locked up when all sites said it was open. Please update your opening time details.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Daydream11122721512, General Manager at Monteiths Brewery Bar Alexandra, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2022

Hi there Sorry about that, but I'm not sure if your aware of a massive staff shortage around the country we cannot open if we do not have any staff simple as that we are hoping to be open on all days shortly but until...More

Reviewed 27 September 2021 via mobile

We came here years ago when traveling through & our teens still talk it, good to see it's just as good on our return visit. We were the only ones there this Monday lunchtime. The waitress was lovely & very efficient.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2021

Great food and service for two nights in a row! We had choices for eating out on our second night, but made a bee-line back to Monteiths.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2021 via mobile

Great service and very friendly staff. Had the lamb burger which was excellent. Great garden area with plenty of tables. Recommend!

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2021

Yes it does rain in central Otago sometimes - and this place was the perfect place to while away a couple of hours. Plenty of seating options, not a great big barn; and the seafood chowder is to die for !

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Centennial Court Hotel
96 reviews
.64 km away
Almond Court Motel
143 reviews
.73 km away
Dunstan House
151 reviews
9.55 km away
Omakau Commercial Hotel
202 reviews
24.29 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Courthouse Cafe & Bar
364 reviews
.19 km away
Industry Lane Eatery
90 reviews
1.18 km away
The Tin Goose
187 reviews
.03 km away
Amigos Alexandra
90 reviews
.26 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Grey Ridge Vineyard and Accomodation
63 reviews
4.16 km away
Judge Rock Winery
18 reviews
2.52 km away
Shaky Bridge
15 reviews
.54 km away
Three Miners Vineyard
12 reviews
4.71 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jet25824941261
11 August 2021|
Answer
Response from Carl P | Reviewed this property |
I would say yes, it has a nice atmosphere, especially in the garden area. Depending on the age of the kids, maybe not so much as the night goes on... :)
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

MONTEITHS BREWERY BAR ALEXANDRA - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Monteiths Brewery Bar Alexandra

Monteiths Brewery Bar Alexandra is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4