We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Riverhead

Corner of Queen & York St., Riverhead, Auckland 0820, New Zealand
+64 9-412 8902
Website
Share
Save
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (240)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good26%
  • Average13%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (39 reviews)
“fish and chips” (35 reviews)
“flounder” (7 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Corner of Queen & York St., Riverhead, Auckland 0820, New Zealand
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: The Riverhead
1. Stunning view of the water
"Having lunch out on the deck overlooking the river was beautiful."
kiwitravelernz389
See reviews that mention overlooking the river
2. Fresh & Delicious Selection
"food was excellent. Great waitress (service) and delicious dinner"
82annieed
See reviews that mention pub food
3. Easter @@lunch@@ get-together
"The food, cocktails and the service exceeded our expectations."
YouAreWorthIt
See reviews that mention lovely lunch
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 656 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

A couple of years ago I swore I’d never go back but I’m so happy I did. Couldn’t fault a thing. Food was superb, great garlic bread to start followed by 4 meals: whole Flounder, Ribs, Fish & chips and Salmon. Service was excellent. Great...More

Thank 853shelleyt
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A wonderful environment to have a friendly catchup with family and/or friends either just for a drink, a drink with nibbles or experience their wonderful restaurant. You won’t be disappointed. Saturday night is when we went, there was a huge group of patrons in the...More

Thank MareeC76
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your wonderful review! It was pretty busy all day on Saturday, so we make sure that the team are refreshed and on top of their game. They are usually really good at acknowledgement and smiles, so we'll just remind them of the importance...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

We had dinner at The Riverhead Landings restaurant on Saturday night and it was wonderful! Great service, and great food. It was super busy so I would always recommend that you book. The salmon main dish was a hit! recommended! the meatiest ribs in town...More

Thank stacejase
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Awesome! so neat to hear you had a fabulous time...we'll look for ward to seeing you again soon, kind regards Puala

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is one of our favourite 'go to'restaurant when our family has a special reason for dining out. There's always something for everyone on the menu. Although we love it in summer when we can sit outside on the outside decks, we also love it...More

Thank huttoft
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Yes, I agree, we see so many people choose The Riverhead for their special get-togethers with family or friends and we enjoy being able to offer the wide range of spaces and food options so that everyone has something special to remember. Thanks again, regards...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We celebrated our mothers 80th birthday at the Riverhead Tavern in their Private Room - Deacon Kitchen. A huge congratulations to staff and especially to Ahmet who was our dedicated host/waiter. He was amazing, so professional so friendly and everything was managed with a lovely...More

Thank Fiona S
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

This is awesome to hear! Thanks so much for choosing The Riverhead to celebrate this milestone. We are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the event. Ahmet genuinely enjoys making people happy and it shows...Thanks again, regards Paula

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had lunch here with friends on a Wet Saturday , good food, good service, nice and cozy. Most enjoyable. Since we were here last though the prices have gone up and they are now in the above average bracket. $18/$21 for a small starter....More

Thank Robert L
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks, Robert for your feedback. That is something that our team can discuss. Of course, we do have just the same costs as central city restaurants, only the very best ingredients and pay our team fairly. We do however appreciate the feedback. So plesed you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked a table for a group of 21 people for dinner last night. It was advertised as a steak and oyster night which was the main reason we choose this place to eat at. We had made a reservation and our group was split...More

Thank nadiap186
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Nadia, I accept that we let ourselves down and made errors both in front of house and the kitchen that evening, however after more analysis it would appear there were issues that arose that were caused by your party as well. The waiting team...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently celebrated a 'milestone' birthday with a group of friends. There were 9 of us in total. We sat in the 'conservatory' which was so warm and cosy. The views of the river are lovely. The atmosphere in the dining area is really delightful....More

Thank Kiwi_Classics
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your wonderful review...it's everything we work so hard to accomplish! The duck is amazing. So glad that you were warm and toasty on the deck. It's nice to have the views and feel like you're outside in winter while staying warm. Happy belated...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A legacy review after Trip Advisor app problems on phone... We were recommended this place from a few friends and have been meaning to come dine here for a while. It did not disappoint! Loved the styling and decor, made for a very wa and...More

Thank David O
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Awesome! That what we like to hear. It's is a good choice for families as there is quite a wide choice and the kids have plenty to keep them occupied. We'll look forward to seeing you again, regards Paula

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place for our business Team Day presentation and awesome lunch and service. good coffee, great facilities

Thank Rach T
Paula P, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks, Air NZ team! We love having people here that work hard in Deacon's, then rejuvenate with a nice lunch on the decks. Hope to see you again soon, regards Paula

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Riverhead Hotels
Vineyard Cottages
53 reviews
8.44 km away
Albany Oak Motel
58 reviews
9.69 km away
Albany Executive Motor Inn
35 reviews
10.45 km away
Kawai Purapura Retreat Centre
13 reviews
10.49 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Hallertau Brewery & Restaurant
313 reviews
1.21 km away
Tandoori Bar and Eatery
13 reviews
4.82 km away
Huapai Tavern
11 reviews
3.45 km away
Nearby Attractions
Huapai Golf Club
8 reviews
1.91 km away
Soljans Estate Winery
90 reviews
3.65 km away
Coatesville Markets
25 reviews
5.84 km away
Kumeu River Wines
18 reviews
3.66 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sarah L
19 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Vivie313 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, they do have gluten free options. Their menu is online.
1
Vote
Sarah L
19 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Paula P | Property representative |
Hi, the best thing would be to visit our website where the full menu is online and all the dietaries with the dishes. Cheers Paula
0
Votes
shazziec2015
9 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Martin D | Reviewed this property |
A quick phone call should answer your question...I reckon it would be an excellent venue for Christmas day
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$26
Cuisine
Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Corner of Queen & York St., Riverhead, Auckland 0820, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  Riverhead
  • Phone Number: +64 9-412 8902
  • E-mail
Description
Nestled on the shores of the upper Waitemata, The Riverhead is steeped in local history and was a vital part of the development of early New Zealand. Prior to The Riverhead being built on this site, Thomas Deacon, the original owner, owned a pub on the point just below where The Riverhead now stands. The early Maori used this landing point as the place to disembark and portage their waka across land to the Kumeu River to get easier access to the lands in the Far North. Early immigrants then used this same route to travel north, disembarking at Helensville and continuing by ship north via the Kaipara Harbour.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing