We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The lazy Gecko cafe

232 Main Street, Clarens 9707, South Africa
+27 61 405 8776
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good25%
  • Average19%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“waffles” (31 reviews)
$$ - $$$
232 Main Street, Clarens 9707, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed in Clarens over the long weekend and everyone looked forward to this big tasty brunch. It started with one of the group ordering a double cappuccino, after the whole tables drinks arrived, the waiter said they can’t do doubles, and had to order...More

Thank Nicholas V
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Full disclosure. The manager dealt with our complaint and we were not charged for any eats. The service was horribly slow. When our waffles and pancakes finally arrived we were very disappointed. The ice cream that was served with both was yellow, grainy and had...More

Thank nanQ6816QN
Riana R, Owner at The lazy Gecko cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you for your review If it was delt with by myself and all food was taken off your bill, I don't see why you had to leave a review. You did complain about the ice cream, we have had not even 1 complaint over...More

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

They really are lazy geckos . There were 7 tables in total and thus not that busy. The service are absolutely horrible. I had to go ask for menus as no one saw us taking the table. We waited 20 minutes just to place our...More

Thank jmv0320
Riana R, Owner at The lazy Gecko cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you for your review. In future, please do not visit a restaurant on a BUSY time if you do not wish to wait. With 5 waiters, I doubt that not even 1 waiter attended to you in 20mins. You were sitting at table 12...More

Reviewed 5 March 2018

I enjoyed a waffle with ice cream. The waffle was slightly over crisp but still very tasty. I also had a delicious milkshake with it.

Thank Caryn B
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

Lovely waffles and amazing milkshakes. Definitely worth the visit when in town! The chocolate mousse milkshake is out of this world!

Thank brentl291
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

Bad experience at the cafe. Served weak watered down cappuccinos which we complained about. New ones were made which were ultra strong. Big tip - stick to pancakes and remove coffee from the menu. Things only went sour after that - ordered the waffle in...More

Thank NeilVend
Riana R, Owner at The lazy Gecko cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Thank you for the review Our cappuccinos are made with a machine, set to a standard cappuccino. In that sence,we can't cater to everyone's idea of the perfect cappucino. As for the pictures on our menu, they are merely an indication of our food,we change...More

Reviewed 24 October 2017

My husband and I stumbled across the Lazy Gecko Cafe while craving something sweet. They offer a wide variety of milkshakes and speciality waffles, pancakes and flapjacks. I ordered the "healthy" option of fruit flapjacks and my husband had the chocolate mousse waffle. Both were...More

Thank Jules_G31
Reviewed 19 September 2017

The pancake stack is really good and they do a really refreshing mint drink I had to go back for. The burgers are also huge!

Thank RichardWriter
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Milkshakes we got were good, but not the best we had in Clarens yet. Service had a bit to be desired for.

Thank KobusP3
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

I visited to get takeaway coffee and pancakes with my wife and 3yr old daughter. My daughters babychino(frothed milk) was boiling hot so it cost us R15 to burn her mouth! Surely you understand that a babychino should just be warm?? Secondly we asked for...More

Thank Matthew C
Riana R, Owner at The lazy Gecko cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for your review Please read our menu as we state how our pancakes are served. 2 pancakes per order. We don't work according to how many pancakes,it states on our menu per order. Sorry that this wasn't explained to you again,this is why...More

Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Clarens
Protea Hotel Clarens
338 reviews
.32 km away
Mont d'Or Hotel
199 reviews
1.44 km away
Castle in Clarens
185 reviews
6.98 km away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
104 reviews
24.06 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Clementines Restaurant and Bar
944 reviews
.20 km away
Highland Coffee Roastery
331 reviews
.21 km away
Clarens Brewery
723 reviews
.15 km away
The Courtyard Bakery and Cafe-Clarens
184 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Clarens Brewery
331 reviews
.15 km away
Tobias Art
18 reviews
.04 km away
Blou Donki Art Gallery
10 reviews
.82 km away
Art and Wine Gallery on Main
6 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The lazy Gecko cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
8:30 AM - 4:00 PM
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 232 Main Street, Clarens 9707, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Free State  >  Clarens
  • Phone Number: +27 61 405 8776
We specialize in Breakfast, light lunch, pancakes and waffles (savoury and sweet).
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing