We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
African, Grill
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (55)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
10
5
9
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
10
5
9
5
0
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 30 October 2022 via mobile

We had a nice evening with friends and family. It’s a pleasant location with live music on Saturday evening. The burger was nice, ostrich filet was tough and the vegetables were cold.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2020

Had a meal here, but was not impressed with the steak on the skewer as the steak pieces had a lot of fat content and every piece was tough..My order was med to rare , which came okay.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2019

We were on our way out from the Kruger National Park and was looking for a place to use breakfast when we passed this lodge. the receptionist was very friendly and assist us to the restaurant where the waitress assist us with a warm welcome....The food was excellent and you can really visit this lodge.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ChrisF5357, General Manager at Calabash Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2019

Good Morning Gerda Thank you very much for the feedback. I am very pleased to see you enjoyed the restaurant. Please pop in again! Kind regards

Reviewed 4 July 2019 via mobile

Not one for giving reviews, let alone negative reviews. But this was poor. We were a family of 4. The place itself is really tired. I ordered a Peri Peri Chicken. What came out was lamely grilled/roasted chicken, with cold Peri Peri sauce in a...pot beside it. A first and a last for me in one moment! My daughter ordered Macroni Cheese. The pasta was covered in sauce with a sprinkling of cold, stale, grated cheddar on top. It seems expecting for sauce or cheese to arrive warm is extraordinary. My son had a vegetarian wrap, which consisted of large chunks of vegetables which parachuted out of the end each time he tried to take a bite. It was. Really as bad as it sounds, unfortunately.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ChrisF5357, General Manager at Calabash Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2019

Good Morning Thank you for the feedback. I am very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. Did you perhaps discuss your experience with the Waiter or Chef on duty while you were here? I have addressed the points raised to our Chef, and...More

Reviewed 3 July 2019

The food was very delicious and the staff was very friendly. We really enjoyed and I would not hesitate to recommend the restaurant to anyone.

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ChrisF5357, General Manager at Calabash Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2019

Good Afternoon This is fantastic news. Thank you very much

Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Sefapane Lodge and found the service good on the first night with the waiter at Tusk Bar being very attentive. The second day/night the service for dinner at Calabash was not great. How can a restaurant not have any of...the wines ordered on a Friday evening? Mid week I understand but not at the weekend. Service at tusk bar also went down hill with different staff working. Lack of glasses for drinks was amusing and surprisingly they seemed to be able to provide the wine that the restaurant, 30 feet away, could not provide. Nice overall resort but could do with a service overall in the F&B outlets.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ChrisF5357, General Manager at Calabash Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2019

Good Afternoon We have addressed all the concerns raised by you with the team. I am confident that our Restaurant experience has improved a lot. Kind Regards

Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

We had dinner here and good was exceptional but fine. Prices were a little high for the quality provided and wine was expensive. On a Sunday evening in Phalaborwa choices are very limited so beggars can't be choosers!

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ChrisF5357, General Manager at Calabash Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2019

Good Afternoon Anne Thank you very much for the feedback, we will definitely look at the prices. Kind Regards

Reviewed 17 September 2018

Sefapane Lodge sucks. I also think that the staff is being oppressed. There is not flexibility in that place. I think Waiters and waitresses are being oppressed by their supervisor. I am working at the mines with extreme temperatures. I need to hidrate myself. So...They cannot expect me to have only 2 drinks on my meal. I also suggest that water must be included in the lunch pack. At least 2 litres because Phalaborwa is a very hot place.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ChrisF5357, General Manager at Calabash Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2019

Good Afternoon Thank you for the feedback. As one of corporate guests, we provide you with what your employer & travel agent pays for. You are more than welcome to address the package you are on with your employer. Kind Regards

Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend enjoyed this Place very much! Perfect Service and Great Food (Steaks). We would come back anytime! Great Place to eat or stay for just a couple of Drinks.

Date of visit: March 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ChrisF5357, General Manager at Calabash Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2019

Good afternoon Jan We are looking forward to have you back at Sefapane soon. Kind Regards

Reviewed 21 February 2018

on the road and popped in for a light lunch; the staff were attentive and the food delicious and beautifully presented the hotel and grounds are beautiful and would like to find out more on my next visit, hopefully, a stay.

Date of visit: February 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris F, General Manager at Calabash Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Good Morning Tracy Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Please come and stay with us next time. Regards Chris Ferreira General Manager Sefapane Lodges & Safari's

Reviewed 25 November 2017

It was a big pleasure to have dinner in this Restaurant, Very good food with a good taste and very nice service

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: November 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mbongeni M, Reservations at Calabash Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to enjoy our meals in our Restaurant, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed not only the food but the service as well. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 24 November 2017

The last ten years I visit this hotel/restaurant for 1 or 2 times a year. Food is always good and tasteful. ( seen 4-5 diff chefs passing by ) I enjoyed it also again this time. Great place. Only little remark is we had one...evening during our stay that there was a group from outside the hotel and that was to much for the employees.More

Date of visit: November 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sefapane2016, International Marketing and Sales at Calabash Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear Ronald K, Thank you very much for your feedback via tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you have been enjoying our food for the last ten years. Thank you again for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor and we hope to...More

Reviewed 15 November 2017

We had dinner on a few occasions at the calabash grill and we were never disappointed! They make some great burgers but the wraps are really tasty as well!More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: September 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sefapane2016, Int Marketing and Sales at Calabash Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear RafflesNL, Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. Great to hear that you enjoyed your dinners in our Calabash Grill Restaurant. Thank you again for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor and we hope to welcome you again soon. Kind...More

Reviewed 20 October 2017

We were underwhelmed by our dinner here. I ordered curry and it was not particularly flavorsome. My husband had a salad and the sauce was tainted with something that smelt like petrol. The waiter dealt with our complaints well, and amended the bill suitable. Out...8 year old however was very happy with her children's menu.More

Date of visit: October 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sefapane2016, Int marketing and Sales at Calabash Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Lisa T, Thank you very much for your feedback via tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that your visit to our Calabash Grill restaurant was a disappointment. As you can see on our aha Sefapane Lodges and Safaris page on tripadvisor, most of our...More

Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I come regularly to eat here for dinner and we always enjoy the food and service. For starter can recommend the ostrich carpaccio or mushrooms. For main I can recommended fillet or also the chicken curry is very nice. You don't have...to stay at the lodge to eat here. It's an open air restaurant so if it's a bit chilly would recommend to bring a jersey.More

Date of visit: June 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sefapane2016, Int M&S at Calabash Grill Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear NellekeKo, Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoy eating at our Calabash Grill Restaurant. Thank you again for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor and we hope to welcome you again soon....More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Sefapane Lodge And Safaris
501 reviews
.10 km away
Casa Leitao Lodge
45 reviews
.48 km away
Bushveld Terrace - Hotel on Kruger
627 reviews
1.27 km away
Cajori Hotel
60 reviews
1.39 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bushveld Terrace Hotel - Restaurant
214 reviews
1.24 km away
Yurok Spur Steak Ranch
68 reviews
1.60 km away
The Bus Stop Arts & Crafts & Coffee Shop
20 reviews
1.16 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Game drives at Phalaborwa Gate in Kruger National Park
280 reviews
1.27 km away
Bushbaby Adventures
128 reviews
2.56 km away
Kruger National Park
2,768 reviews
41.24 km away
Letaba Elephant Hall
5 reviews
44.43 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Calabash Grill Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CALABASH GRILL RESTAURANT, Phalaborwa - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Calabash Grill Restaurant

Yes, Calabash Grill Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Yes, Calabash Grill Restaurant offers delivery services.

Calabash Grill Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4