We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$6 - US$40
CUISINES
Mediterranean, European, Spanish, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (2,759)
Filter reviews
2,383 results
Traveller rating
1,404
560
224
114
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,404
560
224
114
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak tapas paella pizza chicken prawns ribs visited el beautiful restaurant last night lovely food visited this restaurant during our stay well worth a visit holiday fizz waiters
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We approached the young lady who seated us at Table 90 after asking if we wanted to sit inside or outside. She presented us with a complimentary glass of something pink and sweet. We were presented with menus and I chose fillet steak 🥩 and...my partner small plates sizzling prawns 🦐 and scallops. I had a pint 🍺 and she had a glass of sangria. The shambles began when the guy with glasses (looked to be in charge) took our order, then a second waiter approached and checked his tablet to discover that our order had already been taken. The food arrived and we eat it: The steak 🥩 was ok the vegetables on the side were more a work of food placement than a nutritional addition to my overall dining experience: The sizzling prawns 🦐 were on the small side and presented in a iron pot, the scallop portion was 5 scallops and again well presented although not substantial. Two small plates do not equal large plate: We had finished our mains and sat patiently for a long time waiting on the plates to be cleared: I spoke to the young lady who at one point walked passed our table: The plates were eventually cleared and we placed and order for coffee ☕️ to come after out desserts. We ordered a tiramisu and profiteroles. The coffee arrived before the dessert, waiter no.2 from above took the bill away and went to check the on the location of the desserts, some time later the desserts arrived. Waiter no.2 presented the bill with the desserts 🍮 on it and I paid the €77.70 and thankfully there wasn’t a service charge included so I didn’t have to ask for it to be removed. I turned back and noticed waiter no.2 speaking to waiter with glasses and the appeared to be having a chuckle at my remark to waiter no.2. Be aware this group operates four restaurants in the area, I can only hope the others are better but I can’t comment on them.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don't often bother with reviews but feel compelled to for this place. The service was of excellent quality as was the food. We opted for the meatball calzone and I have to say that it was the best quality one I've had since being in...Italy. The dough was soft and cooked right through and the filling was beautiful and the runny yoke fried egg on top completed it superbly. Wish I hadn't left it till the end of my holiday to visit it. I would highly recommend this restaurant without hesitationMore

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
DBM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Maestro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks a lot for your words. We´re making changes everyday in order to keep improving, and this review means a lot for us! We would love to see you again in a future! :) Thanks a lot again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyed meal. We booked in advance. Everything cooked well. Wine fab. Will return . Lovely restaurant very chilled. Staff attentive.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment we arrived and we’re seated the service was friendly and attentive. Equally the food was superb - my steak excellent and my wife’s chicken tender and tasty

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
DBM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Maestro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks a lot! We´re super glad that you liked your steak and chicken! :) Hopefully we can see you again in a future!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As you can tell from the tile in my review, the service was terrible. Long wait to get a table, long wait to place our order, and lonnnnggggg wait to get the bill. The food was lovely, but it was seriously overshadowed by the fact...they didn’t have enough staff, so customers were not given attention for quite a while.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
DBM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Maestro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Thanks a lot for taking your time to review your experience with us. We´re really sorry that you had to wait that long. We´re currently hiring people in order this doesn´t happens anymore. Hopefully you can give us a second chance in a future,...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Have visiting here for years now..we used to travel from PDC here for lunch couple of times and dinner once.. They used to do the best toasted chicken sandwich, came with some chips and leaves... Last time (2019) we noticed that the price had jumped...to the (not worth that) stage so opted for the burger and chips which was cheaper ,,,it was only a lunch after all.... This year the whole menu was different, much less choices and the prices had jumped considerably... We now had a "2 mini burgers" option.....you know those key-ring burgers you see in the looky looky shops....but hot..!!.....no chips no leaves...very disappointing but tasty nonetheless.. We went for dinner with friends one evening....no starters but mains of fillet steak ,which was beautiful and desserts, one glass of wine two beers two cokes 4 coffees....158 euro....Dublin/London prices.... I feel theyre trying to catch up with covid losses which no other restaurants we visited were doing...mid-range food with fine-dining prices.. Another thing i noticed while walking around CT was the menu's displayed outside several restaurants were exactly the same as El Maestro....chain..??More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
DBM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Maestro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello! First of all, thanks for taking your time letting us know your thoughts. Yes, we have changed several things on our menu. (Not everything though). We´re always trying to offer the best quality for our customers, therefore prices may be a little bit different...More

Reviewed 30 May 2022 via mobile

We have visited here before a few year ago. The place has had a revamp. It took a little while to get served but it was busy. I had steak and my husband had pizza. It was delicious best steak I have had in Teguise....They also do a nice house white wine call Bach unfortunately you cannot buy this in the U.K. but it’s worth trying while you’re here. Would highly recommend and would visit again if we were here longerMore

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
DBM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Maestro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello! Thanks a lot for your kind words to our restaurant. We´re sorry that you had to wait for a while. We´re currently working hard to ensure this doesn´t happen often. Hoping to see you soon again!

Reviewed 29 May 2022 via mobile

Food was very tasty with good recommendations from the waiter. Only drawback is the 3 small potatoes with the meal. We had the tuna and Angus steak. Pricy but very nice but as you can see from photos not a lot on plateMore

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
DBM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Maestro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello! Thanks a lot for your review, we trully respect your opinion and we´re always happy to read it. We really put a lot of effort in offering the best quality possible. Therefore portions may be a little bit smaller than in other restaurants from...More

Reviewed 25 May 2022

Easily the best meal we had while out here. Amazing service and the food is unbelievable. We had chateaubraiand steak and it’s one of the best we’ve ever had! Came two nights in a row as we wanted our last night to be one to...remember! Couldn’t recommend enough. Cocktails are also amazing, tried a few from the menu and all were unreal. If you’re looking for somewhere to eat, go here!More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 21 May 2022

We recently visited El Maestro on 2 occasions. Both times, we received excellent customer service from very attentive staff. One of the young waiters made such an effort with our 2 children, which meant a lot to us. The food was delicious! And the place...had a great ambience. The duck cannelloni starter was absolutely delicious. Would definitely recommend dining here.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?2  
DBM, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Maestro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2022

Thanks a lot for your kind words to our restaurant! Hopefully we can see you again in a future! :)

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Be Live Experience Lanzarote Beach
5,694 reviews
.12 km away
Apartamentos Celeste
1,168 reviews
.12 km away
Oceano Apartments
797 reviews
.20 km away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults Only
7,452 reviews
.20 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Spicy Affair
409 reviews
.15 km away
Habana 6
912 reviews
.14 km away
The Jack Daniels Bar & Grill
227 reviews
.10 km away
Fuel Stop
1,051 reviews
.10 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Playa de las Cucharas
695 reviews
.11 km away
Pueblo Marinero
1,553 reviews
.15 km away
Hook
356 reviews
.14 km away
Chis Pas
154 reviews
.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Brillite
7 November 2018|
Answer
Response from huggle14 | Reviewed this property |
Ask the restaurant
0
Votes
Baldylum
23 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from CesarRestaurantes | Property representative |
Thank you for your reservation enquiry consider your booking confirmed. Many thanks. Marie Lopez
0
Votes
Joditay86
12 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from CesarRestaurantes | Property representative |
Hi I am sorry but we do not do a traditional Christmas dinner, we have an extensive menu but not English fesrive fayre
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about El Maestro

El Maestro is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5