We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant

Aorkai Mt Cook Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
+64 3-435 1890
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good34%
  • Average17%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (89 reviews)
“salmon bagel” (13 reviews)
“fries” (14 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Aorkai Mt Cook Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Totally average cafe with some views of the glaciers. Service as ok but not especially friendly or welcoming...

Thank Leo W
Reviewed 2 days ago

We have eaten here several times now, and I just love the ambience and personal service of this Restaurant. The food is amazing, great quality, good options. The location and atmosphere of this restaurant is worth travelling to Mt Cook for. This is not Queen...More

Thank crdick
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have never had a meal here as like everything in Mt Cook it's expensive, but its the best place to have a beer and wedges after spending the day exploring the area. much nicer and quieter than going up to the hotel

Thank michelleryan2017
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for your lovely review. Much appreciated. We do have reasonable meals on the menu, including salmon salads, pizza, soups etc, so check it out when you're next in.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We came for lunch (4 of us) and shared 2 pizzas,. They were fresh and tasty. We liked them, the staff and the ambience of the restaurant so much that we came again for dinner. Again, at dinner we experienced a different menu but the...More

Thank wishtago...
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed the service and the fresh and tasty food. That is so appreciated. Made our day! Travel safe.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very slow service and what looked like tasty appetising menu turned out very boring and very expensive. Sadly to eat well in the village is not possible and I write of well not expensive, try the Cardrona if you like to eat well.More

Thank drtcoBov
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Yes, it was a day when the staff were absolutely swamped by hundreds of people who had not booked all coming in but they do the very best they can. if there was anything that wasn't to your satisfaction we would have gladly replaced it...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food is average. We were refused a second round of drinks as they claimed to be closing the restaurant while other guests were still being served. The manager could not give a good why this was the case but still refused to serve.More

2  Thank Michiel t
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

You omitted to mention you were told an hour earlier that the kitchen was closing and asked if you would like another drink. You said no. You were asked if you enjoyed the meal and if everything was fine. You said yes. An hour later...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly the pluses: The view is magnificent. Can often get a table by the window. Makes the meal really much more enjoyable. The staff are also very friendly. The service was quick and easy. The beer, always good. Wedges are tasty. The minuses: The food:...More

2  Thank Ouiuken
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Delighted that you enjoyed the friendly service, the great views and some of the food items. We don't do a curry with any cabbage in it so perhaps you're getting confused with somewhere else? Any trouble at all with the food and we would gladly...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had beers and dinner here while we were waiting to do the stargazing at the Hillary Alpine Center. We ended up being here for over three hours due to poor weather. The staff was really nice to us, allowing us to nurse our beers...More

Thank avidreaderatl
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your lovely review. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed our friendly service and atmosphere!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went here with a quite high expectation after reading good reviews. It definitely wasn't a bad experience however, was nothing special. We had salmon fillet, sausage and wedges. Salmon itself and salad comes with the salmon was good, however hollandaise sauce tasted just like...More

2  Thank Angelic8619
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Delighted you enjoyed the salmon and salad along with the outstanding view and service.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had our lunch here after our helihike up Tasman Glacier with them. Special thanks to our guide Ant Harris who gave us an unforgettable trip. Me and my wife enjoyed it tremendously. The most unforgettable highlight of our entire New Zealand trip.

Thank Ong C
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

That's wonderful! Thanks so very much for taking the time to write of your great day with us. It is always a delight to hear! Travel safe.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Matheson Cafe
1,035 reviews
33.32 km away
Alice May
1,266 reviews
39.09 km away
The Panorama Restaurant
247 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Aoraki/Mt. Cook
386 reviews
.11 km away
Hooker Valley Track
638 reviews
1.55 km away
Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre
492 reviews
.19 km away
Southern Alps Guiding
113 reviews
.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ash5200
24 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Harriet W | Property representative |
Dear Ash, Yes it is VERY high season! We do take reservations and if you book your group in for an early dinner that should work. Let me know your name, contact details of where you are staying and if you want to book on 29... More
0
Votes
Pipo2968
26 May 2015|
Answer
Response from Harriet W | Property representative |
Welcome to Mount Cook National Park! We serve sourdough or ciabatta bread and toast. In winter the last order depends on how busy it is but book for no later than 7pm to be sure that we are open. Breakfast starts at 10am. We... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Aorkai Mt Cook Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Mackenzie District  >  Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)  >  Mt. Cook Village
  • Phone Number: +64 3-435 1890
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing