We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Cafe, European, New Zealand
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
978 results
Traveller rating
376
328
167
50
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
376
328
167
50
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza salmon bagel apple crumble salad steak mount cook great coffee great view place to eat ate here lunch and dinner south island new zealand sir edmund hillary limited options national park first night
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 978 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We enjoyed our coffee and scone in this nice old cafe. It’s fiercely independent and takes on the big boys. Wonderful views.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank BigKevTravels
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Bless you for this and getting who we are. So pleased you found us! Thanks so very much for making our day that much better. Travel safe!

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Had hoki bites and wedges after a 14 mile walk- Sealy Tarns, Kea Point and Hooker Valley, also pints of speights gold medal ale. Really good, plentiful, basic and just what we fancied. Staff pleasant and helpful. Views good. Best place to eat in town...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank BobThePieman
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Wow! You were really out there enjoying it all today! Wonderful! And so pleased that we had just what you wanted. We work on wholesome, enjoyable and as organic as possible. Thanks so much for your lovely review! Travel safe.

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We found this as we were driving around the 'estate' and we were very glad we did. Good service, knowledgeable staff, a range of menu options, great food. All put together made for a very enjoyable evening eating, drinking & talking. Thanks guys.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 822rogerb
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Delighted you found us! And thanks for making our day with such a lovely review. Travel safe.

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Food was a bit pricey and unimpressive for the price. A $27 nz medium pizza is probably your best bet. The water was cold, free and very good.More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz7
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

400km from a main city for supplies and government excess charges to operate in a national park miles from anywhere may add to the cost a little. Not sure where you're from, but our staff are paid above minimum wages as well and have staff...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We called in after doing the Hooker Valley walk and had a coffee. Great service and good coffee at average cost. Lovely to see the old photos.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank ALH57
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Delighted you enjoyed the coffee, service and great old photos and soul of our beloved place. Thanks for coming in. Travel safe.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had an excellent lunch and great heli-hike experience. Charlie was wonderful and is very safety conscious. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank RonGoingTravelling
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so very much for your lovely review. It made our day! Travel safe.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate dinner two nights while staying at Mt. Cook. We had the Filo Wrap, the Meat Lovers Pizza, the Salmon and the Chicken Curry, all of which were excellent. If you make a reservation, you can request a table. We sat right next to...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Gayle G
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Oh that is such great news! Thanks so much for letting us know! The chicken curry is made with 100% organic NZ chicken and the curry paste is made by hand in our kitchen. Delighted you enjoyed it. Travel safe.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Parking here is difficult since people in the area use it (presumably from the nearby hotels and such). Many people park below and walk up. Both times we went, we were lucky to grab a parking spot but that seems rare. We got there about...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank redhead_roaming
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we're so happy to hear that you found the cold drinks fridge as well. The juices and the sparkling water that are available for sale there are chosen because the water is from a pure well...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The blt was terrible, fish nuggets were passable, French fries enough for six people. I would not recommend this place.

Date of visit: February 2019
2  Thank GlennDetrick
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry we gave such a generous portion of french fries. If the BLT was unsatisfactory we would have been more than happy to fix it at the time.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a lovely little café, located right next to the Visitors' Centre in Mount Cook Village, and inevitably with fabulous views. Arriving there mid-afternoon, we were disappointed that the range of cakes, muffins etc was so limited. Perhaps they were so popular that there...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Robin S
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Yes, you're absolutely right, there had been a deluge just beforehand and we weren't able to keep up. I am sorry that you had to wait 15 minutes for your drinks and if the cafe was nearly empty and there was no-one outside I can't...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
The Hermitage Hotel
2,371 reviews
.19 km away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
1,831 reviews
.59 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
476 reviews
30.28 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
214 reviews
30.32 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 6 nearby restaurants
The Panorama Restaurant
297 reviews
.14 km away
Matheson Cafe
1,271 reviews
33.37 km away
Alice May
1,646 reviews
39.09 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 14 nearby attractions
Hooker Valley Track
884 reviews
1.55 km away
Kea Point Track
160 reviews
.17 km away
Sealy Tarns Track
62 reviews
.17 km away
Glacier Explorers
501 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ash5200
24 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Harriet W | Property representative |
Dear Ash, Yes it is VERY high season! We do take reservations and if you book your group in for an early dinner that should work. Let me know your name, contact details of where you are staying and if you want to book on 29... More
0
Votes
Pipo2968
26 May 2015|
Answer
Response from Harriet W | Property representative |
Welcome to Mount Cook National Park! We serve sourdough or ciabatta bread and toast. In winter the last order depends on how busy it is but book for no later than 7pm to be sure that we are open. Breakfast starts at 10am. We... More
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing