We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Country bar and restaurant catering to local farmers and those from further afield. Good honest food, prepared with fresh local ingredients. At the heart of the Wairarapa wine trail, we showcase local wines, in particular those from the Gladstone area. Craft beers available. Open fire provides a welcome in winter, and outdoor dining is available in the warmer months in our riverside garden bar. Also known as The Gladdy
PRICE RANGE
US$11 - US$24
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub
FEATURES
Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Free off-street parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
121
53
22
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
121
53
22
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza fish and chips steak cheesecake salad the river sunday lunch the pub bar menu open fire lovely meal wairarapa community visitors
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointing visit. We arrived at 4:30 covid restrictions require table service, we were the first to arrive and the last to be served we didn’t leave until after 8pm. We were told we were forgotten not once but twice. The very very long wait...was not worth the average meals we were served. Under cooked greasy chips. The fishermans platter was an absolute joke, no bigger than the kids meal with a large bowl of fries. We were sitting outside and because dinner service had ended the heaters were turned off. What an awful night, watching others come and go before us and a waitress who continuously walked past us seemingly stressed, angry and unaware of where food was going. Needless to say we cancelled our desserts still charged full price for two of three meals and all of our drinks. (No way were we paying for the fishermans platter).More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
gladdyinn@gmail.com, Owner at Gladstone Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi We are very sorry that you had such a disappointing experience. We clearly failed to meet our customer service standards for some reason. We would very much like to investigate how this could have come about so we can ensure it does not happen...More

Reviewed 26 July 2021

Full car park we weren't hopeful to be walk-ins, group of 10, and get a seat but the staff worked it so we had the option of inside or outside. Great service from the young female server - she knew her menu, provided some recommendations...and what would appeal to the kids. The place was busy and she was running plates and taking orders without being flustered and with a smile on her face. You don't get that much these days. We ordered Thai Pork, Prawn & Squid Salad - it was all fried and not quite what the diner thought it would be, and would go better if they were fresh pan seared prawns Gladstone Burger and Panko Crumbed Chicken Schnitzel Burger - AMAZING Pulled pork eggs benny - huge risk as it was an unusual mix, but it worked and the plate was cleared Beef & Guinness pie - best pie the diner had ever eaten, he appreciated the layers of flavours and the mash. Our daughter is a mash aficionado and gave it a big tick Kids pizzas - our kids said the pizza was too peppery which they'd usually hate, but not a crumb left and big smiles with 'pizza was 10/10' comment Huge thanks to the chef and servers who made our unplanned Sunday family/friends meal the topping to a great weekend We've been to the Gladdy many, many times and we have to say that the menu has been stepped up, its noticeable and appreciated Will definitely go back to the greatest little country pub, and you should too, you won't be disappointedMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 7 June 2021 via mobile

If you are expecting average pub food this place is fine, the staff are friendly enough. However if you want anything more you will be disappointed, the food is really not very good. I had the Asian salad with ‘pork belly’ and tempura squid. Basically...some battered squid rings, a couple of battered prawns, a few tiny lumps of pork belly that were entirely fat with no pork and some chopped red cabbage.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
gladdyinn@gmail.com, Owner at Gladstone Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your meal. Our Thai squid, pork and prawn salad is always very popular with our guests. We will pass on your comments to our chefs, but the meal...More

Reviewed 6 June 2021 via mobile

We regular visitors to the Gladstone Country Inn. It’s got a fantastic array of food & drink and being close to the river means the kids have something to do while mum and dad enjoy a glass of Sav Blanc in the sunshine. It really...is a special pub and not parallel locally.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 9 May 2021

We recently, along with a group of friends, called into the Gladstone Inn, for lunch, whilst on a caravanning holiday in Wairarapa. The pub has been done up since we personally had visited last (having been a Wairarapa resident), the outside seating is lovely with...a view overlooking the river. The food was lovely, staff were great. A beautiful spot, and we highly recommend a trip out into "country Wairarapa" and enjoy what the Gladstone Country inn has to offer.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 7 May 2021 via mobile

Lovely little modern pub with tasty food and yummy wine. Outside seating is overlooking the river. Great atmosphere. Small menu well presented

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 22 April 2021

Beautiful old country pub and restaraunt, open fire, beer garden, pizza oven, family friendly, on the wine trail. Pizzas to die for. Came here with a group of friends, service was excellent, warm and cozy on a dark winter night. If you are in the...area, you must stop in, you will not regret it. 5 out of 5More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 April 2021

Nice atmosphere, staff busy, bit of a delay between receiving each pudding. The meals however arrived close enough together. Portion sizes were good, cheesecakes were bigger than most could finish. Mouse was outstanding.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 10 January 2021

The Gladstone Pub aka The Gladdy is the stuff of legends, having been around since the 1800s - and although it's had a few facelifts, it still has sense of history about it. The interior is basic yet cosy, but it's the verandah and outdoor...spaces which everyone swarms to in the summer. Pretty standard pub grub on the menu, like fish and chips and burgers, but the Asian squid and pork salad was a stand out - more than making up for the lacklustre presentation. Wine selection is good - which you'd expect in wine county, it's a Tui pub so beer range disappointing! Service a bit slow, but most were nice enough. All in all, highky recommend if you're in the neighbourhood - about 15 mins from Carterton.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 January 2021 via mobile

A group of 6 family members had lunch here on Wednesday (December 30th). Food was great, it was a busy summers day so service was a bit slow (happy to overlook that). Not so happy to overlook the forgotten drink and dessert orders, especially as...we when followed up we were told they were on the way (dessert order was never given to the kitchen). Staff were very apologetic and took 20% off our bill, but regardless still put a bit of a downer on our lunch.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Acorn Estate Motel Masterton
51 reviews
12.26 km away
Gateway Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
192 reviews
12.32 km away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park Wairarapa
415 reviews
12.41 km away
South Park Motel
118 reviews
12.61 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Clareville Bakery
297 reviews
9.84 km away
balter Bar and Kitchen
83 reviews
10.11 km away
The Screening Room Cinema and Eatery
108 reviews
12.87 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Fensham Bush Reserve
26 reviews
13.73 km away
Stonehenge Aotearoa
158 reviews
5.29 km away
Gladstone Vineyard
31 reviews
2.16 km away
The Woolshed Museum
39 reviews
14.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Gladstone Country Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gladstone Country Inn

Gladstone Country Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5