We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, European, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
66
36
19
10
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
66
36
19
10
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pork belly mash salad fries seafood stonegrill
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The stonegrill experience was cool. The kids enjoyed cooking their seafood on the stonegrill (supervised), but the food on the whole was pretty ordinary. Pork belly and ribs were fine but lacking in flavour, with very basic salads and accompaniments. Wait staff were friendly and...attentive. Glad we tried it but won’t be in a hurry to return.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 29 January 2021 via mobile

New menu which is actually a photocopied older menu and a useless, lazy wait staff. Place has definitely taken a step backwards. Cobb n Co would be a better choice. Avoid until improved.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 11 January 2021

We had booked and paid the deposit for our wedding to be held in the upstairs function room in April 2020. In September 2020 we selected the menu options we wanted and had organised for it to be typed up and sent to us to...print off and attach to our invites. In November, I was still waiting for it to be sent to us. I followed up and was told they had changed event organisers and chefs and they currently did not have a menu for us to choose from.... I had already chosen! But I was patient and understanding and waited and waited and waited for them to finalise their new menu and send it to us. I kept being told they didn't have the menu ready yet. Don't forget, I'd already chosen one AND they serve lunch and dinner every day but yet don't have a menu??? It is now Jan 2021 and I've given up. They still do not have a menu (apparently) and we are no further ahead than we were in April 2020. So I have cancelled and was told I would get our deposit refunded. That was three weeks ago. I have emailed multiple times and even called and spoken directly to the owner who said it would be done "tomorrow" well, tomorrow was last week and I'm still waiting. I have emailed the event organiser (the third one to pass through the venue. I can see why they go through staff so fast) and am now getting no response. I wonder if we will be waiting 9 months for a refund like we had to wait 9 months for a menu. Absolutely appealing service and I would never recommend this venue for functions. They obviously do not know how to organise them!More

Date of visit: April 2020
Helpful?
Happiness03931057622, Owner at Detour Bar and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2021

REFUND HAS BEEN GIVEN AND WAS GIVEN WHEN ASKED FOR !!! This review is incorrect.

Reviewed 9 January 2021 via mobile

The lady at reception where we were staying recommended this restaurant to us and gosh we were definitely not disappointed! Best steak I've had in such a long time cooked exactly how I requested. Hubby ordered a mixed stonegrill and he couldn't even eat it...all which is so not like him lol. Great place, friendly staff and delicious meals definitely worth a tryMore

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 22 October 2020 via mobile

After a long day driving around the cape this eatery was a great experience, food was great value and taste. Service from Jo and Mikayla was good and delivered with a smile.. Worth a try.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 30 September 2020

Chose this restaurant for a Monday evening meal because it has a good star rating. I was not disappointed, the maître de opened the door to us and seated us professionally. The waitress came quickly to take our drinks order. She was not so confident...but did a reasonable job, not so familiar with the wine or menu items. The meal came quite quickly, I had the pork belly and my friend had the salmon. Both of us cleared our plates, it was so delicious and good sized portions. Highly recommend and I will be back.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

We absolutely loved Detour. We stumbled upon it when looking for a place for a late lunch. The waitress was incredibly friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. The BEST halloumi cheese I’ve ever had! Loved the halloumi and Brussel sprout salad. And the...homemade chocolate brownie was to die for!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 July 2020

Had the Scotch Fillet steak, it was amazing!! Everyone at our table had beautiful meals. Service was also great. I had been to Detour about six months ago and it was terrible, I said that I would never go back, but so pleased that I...did. Will definitely return. Well done to the New Chefs.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 7 March 2020 via mobile

Went in for Stonegrill lunch today. Ordered a drink and was told by waitress that many items were not available. This was because there was no chef and the duty manager was cooking. No problem as we were going for the Stonegrill. Was told to...grab a seat and either she or the other waitress called Lucky would come and take out order. We waited. And waited. Thought maybe I misheard and that what she meant is we might be lucky if our order was taken. I finished my beer and finally someone came over. We decided that our luck may not be on so did not order. Being the only ones in the bar we thought the speed to get served would be good. Most disappointed. Won’t be back.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 March 2020

Stopped off here, while in Whakatane, for dinner, and a drink. Really great, relaxing atmosphere, just to chill and look out onto the street.Ordered a meal from a reasonable menu. The meal was well presented, and very well priced.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
228 reviews
.13 km away
White Island Rendezvous
465 reviews
.37 km away
ONE88 On Commerce
281 reviews
1.18 km away
Alton Lodge
72 reviews
1.44 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Spice Junction
293 reviews
.05 km away
L'Epicerie
230 reviews
.07 km away
White Island Cafe
239 reviews
.37 km away
Roquette Restaurant & Bar
365 reviews
.15 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Mataatua: The House That Came Home
132 reviews
.47 km away
Whakatane i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
68 reviews
.11 km away
Puketapa Lookout
10 reviews
.18 km away
Whakatane Museum and Arts
10 reviews
.46 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Detour Bar and Lounge staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Detour Bar and Lounge

  • Detour Bar and Lounge is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4
    • Service: 4
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 4