We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PRICE RANGE
$5 - $35
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Pizza, Cafe, New Zealand, International
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Street Parking, Wine and Beer
Reviews (855)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
793 results
Traveller rating
399
285
53
35
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
399
285
53
35
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza mussels salad steak chowder coromandel town fish of the day lovely food
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 April 2024 via mobile

Basic casual place to dine on the main street. Our lady server from Belgium was very nice . We just had mains but the fish , salad and new potato special we selected was very nice . Light and fresh and thoroughly enjoyable.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2024

Arrived just before 12, got told only cabinet food as kitchen not open. Got an average corn fritter and a muffin with no butter. Had our food then noticed kitchen opening. We would have waited if we had known. Then had to go and chase...up our coffees as they had forgotten them. Very disappointed as have had lovely lunches in the past. Won't call in again🙄More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2024 via mobile

We enjoyed our delicious meal here last night. Fresh and nailed it! We had the lamb salad and chicken slaw salad with a side of the crunchy potatoes. Couldn’t fault it! 👍🏻

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2024 via mobile

Delicious meal, we turned up with no booked and easily got a table, great service. My husband had the Greek lamb dish and was beside himself with how delicious it was, I had the chicken slaw which was great too. Thoroughly recommend! Also had a...great view, watching the world go by on the Main Street.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2024 via mobile

Can’t fault the meal. Service was good with friendly staff. Great veggie selection, I had the grilled halloumi with sourdough garlic bread and humus, delicious. My partner had a pizza, good as well.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2024 via mobile

As a vegetarian, I went for the vegan pizza and I have to say, probably the best pizza I have ever had. It was loaded with tasty fresh goodies, with a small sprinkling of chilli flakes. Absolutely great flavours. My wife had the mussels in...green curry and there were no complaints there either. I ordered at the counter and there were no issues with timing or helpfulness of the staff. We will be sure to visit again..More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 January 2024 via mobile

We used the technology on the table to order our food, which didn’t work very well (our food order was missed until they came out to check if we had it) just order at the counter and you’ll be good to go.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2023 via mobile

A very good place for breakfast .The fruit and yogurt was excellent .Eggs and hash browns likewise.You have a choice of inside or outside with lovely timber tables .The coffee was excellent .Nice outlook to passing traffic

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2023 via mobile

My friend and I stopped for lunch at Umu after enjoying the lovely walks around Coromandel and had the most delicious Margherita Pizza and rose. The waiting staff were training but very pleasant- very good stop on a sunny day

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2023

Our go to spot for breakfast when we stayed a couple of nights in Coromandel. I tried the gluten-free sweet corn fritters and my wife had eggs on ciabatta toast with hash browns (I traded some corn fritter for a few bites they looked so...good). Coffees were always hot and mid-strength in flavour. Music choice was a bit loud/heavy for first thing in the morning, but maybe I'm getting old? :-) Would recommend Umu for breakfast or coffee if you're in town. Make sure you get your hands on their muffins. We had apple crumble muffins one day then apple and blueberry another day. Really delicious homemade flavour, not overly rich or buttery/oily. A real winner.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2023

No it's not! Staff seem incompetent when even looking for table numbers. Two long black coffees and two scones....25 minutes and still no show. I asked for a refund to my card and the staff member didn't know what to do. The owner was throwing...her toys out of the cot" I can't cope" ," shut the restaurant until we can get everting under control"."sorry everyone ( to customers) can you come back in half an hour or so" WHAT!!!! We shall not recommend visitors to Coromandel to visit. It was Matariki (long weekend, public holiday) and school children were waiting tables! There was also a lack of staff to complete most tasks. The coffees were being delivered to other tables of four....one at a time! get a bigger machine!!! We, as residents of the town, are very disappointed. We are touted as a destination but if this is the level of professionalism we are to present, we are doomed as a tourist stopover.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Josie Fraser, Owner at Umu, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2023

Hi D2300lltimf I am very sorry about your experience at Umu on Saturday. Yes there was a wait, as it was very busy. We had several staff call in sick that day, and at this time of the year we have a limited amount of...More

Reviewed 6 May 2023

We had a lovely coffee here, liked that it had a courtyard seating area and the service was quick despite it being busy.

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2023 via mobile

Friendly staff, tables are uneven and unfortunately my drink ended up on it side due to the lip of the joined tables. Steak was over cooked!

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2023 via mobile

This is an understated restaurant! It does not look like much from the street, but don’t let that stop you! The presentation and quality of the food is that of a fine dining establishment. We had the burger and fish of the day and both...were excellent! In addition, the staff were so friendly and inviting (unlike the pub next door that we tried first and no one spoke to us so we left!)More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2023

Went there with the wife and daughter. Wife had the mussel pot and I had the mussel chowder. Both dishes absolutely delicious and serve staff fast and effective. Very chill vibe very nice stop for a feed

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Olive Motel
180 reviews
.28 km away
Coromandel Court Motel
117 reviews
.41 km away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
445 reviews
.44 km away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
622 reviews
.58 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Pepper Tree Restaurant & Bar
1,051 reviews
.05 km away
Star and Garter Hotel
243 reviews
.03 km away
Coromandel Hotel "The Top Pub"
196 reviews
.59 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Mercury Bay
62 reviews
.93 km away
Coromandel Town Information Centre
21 reviews
.22 km away
Kauri Block Track
38 reviews
.37 km away
Coromandel School of Mines & Historic Museum
11 reviews
.83 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mike hutchins h
15 June 2019|
Answer
Response from mike hutchins h | Reviewed this property |
You bet.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

UMU, Coromandel - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Umu

Yes, Umu offers takeaway services.

Umu is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4