We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Astro Cafe

Is this your business?
Mt John | Godley Peaks Road, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
+64 3-680 6007
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good37%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“carrot cake” (32 reviews)
“cakes” (40 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Mt John | Godley Peaks Road, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

A great place for a well deserved rest after hiking up Mt John. Unfortunately I can’t give 5 stars as we waited for ages only to realise our order had been misplaced. This was made up for with a free desert though which was very...More

Thank Ben H
Astro_Cafe, General Manager at Astro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to share your visit to our facilities here in Lake Tekapo. It is great to read that you chose to use the free Mt. John Walkways - a brilliant way to enjoy the true beauty of the...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

A must do!! We were short on time so we drove up to the cafe instead of the 3hr return hike. There is a fee of $8 to drive up the road but we’ll worth it. The cafe serves amazing coffee (expensive $5.50!) and delicious...More

Thank Nicjane15
Astro_Cafe, General Manager at Astro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Kia ora, We want to thank you for your kind review regarding your recent visit to the Astro Cafe, situated at the University of Canterbury Mt. John Observatory. It is great to read that you choose to use the Mt. John Access Road to visit...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

A small cafe on top of Mt John. We had coffee and a slice of chocolate cake. Decent enough. You go there not for the cafe but for the views.More

Thank Amitabh211
Astro_Cafe, General Manager at Astro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Kia ora, Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent visitor experience with our team. We are delighted that you enjoyed the panoramic views, seen only at the University of Canterbury Mt. John Observatory. We are pleased you chose to sample a sweet treat...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The lady/ cashier taking the orders was the slowest I've ever met. Felt like I was in the movie Zootopia with the sloths. She was taking an order a min of 5-10minutes per person. The queue was long she should've paced herself a bit quickly....More

Thank pink_marjory
Astro_Cafe, General Manager at Astro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Kia ora, Thank you for sharing your recent visitor experience with our team. We are disappointed that you walked away from a visit to our facilities, with an experience anything less than perfection. Please be advised that our team work very hard to deliver excellent...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We weren't sure if it opened at 0900 or 1000 as they just indicate 'summer' and 'winter' so we headed up just after 1000 along with a stream of other tourists. The view is magic and worth the $8 access fee paid to the Uni...More

Thank Axle C
Astro_Cafe, General Manager at Astro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Kia ora, Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent visit to Lake Tekapo. We want to thank you for your contribution for use of the Mt. John Access Road. All visitor contributions go towards the ever increasing road maintenance costs, allowing the safe...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Best coffee around. Carrot cake with natural yoghurt beautiful. It makes the climb up the hill worth while that's for sure.More

Thank tinpins
Astro_Cafe, General Manager at Astro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora, Thank you for your kind review for your recent visit to the Astro Cafe. It is great to read excellent comments for our sweet & savoury treats - especially our homemade carrot cake! We are pleased that you chose to use the free...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great cafe and epic view. Super busy and huge line- though staff handled customers well. Bit of a wait on food but not unexpectedly. Prices were pretty typical cafe prices. Definitely recommend!!!More

Thank Jessica G
Astro_Cafe, General Manager at Astro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora, Thank you for your kind review, regarding your recent visit to the Astro Cafe, situated at the University of Canterbury Mt. John Observatory. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and the panoramic views of the Mackenzie basin and Lake Tekapo. When...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The café food was standard fare, nothing to write home about, but the views more than made up for it, and this included the small toll needed to get to the top of Mt. John via paved road. Parking could become a quick problem during...More

Thank AdrianT-NZ
Astro_Cafe, General Manager at Astro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent visitor experience with our team. We are delighted that you chose to spend your afternoon at the Astro Cafe, situated at the University of Canterbury Mt. John Observatory. With horizon to horizon views,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

High in the sky it offers 360 degree views. Only a short drive from Tekapo town it's a great place to visit. There is a toll gate at the bottom of the hill but the $8 fee is well worth it.More

Thank Pdunchob
Astro_Cafe, General Manager at Astro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora, Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent visit to Lake Tekapo, and to our facilities here at the University of Canterbury Mt. John Observatory. We are pleased that you chose to use the Mt. John Access Road. All donations are used...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Small eatery but top coffee and cheap too. Go early to avoid being crowded out. Or you can sit outside and enjoy the view but it can get windy.More

Thank focalpointimager2018
Astro_Cafe, General Manager at Astro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our team, here at the Astro Cafe. We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities during your recent visit. Our team pride themselves in high standard across all elements of our daytime...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Lake Tekapo
Peppers Bluewater Resort
3,415 reviews
2.10 km away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
719 reviews
2.26 km away
The Godley Hotel
543 reviews
2.45 km away
The Chalet Boutique Motel
349 reviews
2.63 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Kohan Restaurant
1,057 reviews
2.38 km away
Run 76 Cafe
579 reviews
2.28 km away
Reflections Restaurant
657 reviews
2.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Tekapo
2,104 reviews
2.39 km away
Mount John University Observatory
558 reviews
1.68 km away
Church of the Good Shepherd
1,610 reviews
2.58 km away
Tekapo Springs
918 reviews
1.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Pita2409
18 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from birdman222015 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for the delay I think it best to check with the cafe directly I live in Christchurch not Tekapo.... check this web site earthandsky/astro-cafe Cheers and happy holidays Enjoy the views and the night sky... More
0
Votes
Jussy_11
3 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ivar1970 | Reviewed this property |
Eriikita answerd all your question allready, the only ting to know is that you have to Pay 9 nzd to drive up! Enjoy your trip! And the drive to Wanaka!
0
Votes
CrisMag2014
24 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from 5robs91 | Reviewed this property |
Every time we go we have not had a problem getting a table. They have both inside and outside eating areas.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Waitstaff, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mt John | Godley Peaks Road, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Mackenzie District  >  Lake Tekapo
  • Phone Number: +64 3-680 6007
Description
Astro Cafe on top of Mt John, beside the Mt John Observatory. Operated by Earth and Sky Limited, with office situated in Lake Tekapo township.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing