We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$3 - US$16
CUISINES
Cafe
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
23
8
1
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
23
8
1
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews corn fritters bacon and eggs cheesecake big breakfast quick service food was amazing great coffee gf chef heaps shepherd plate view cabinet church tekapo yum
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the Hotel overnight as we went on the star gazing tour up at Mt. John observatory that night. I ordered the vegan breakfast as I don't eat pork and I was more than suitably impressed with the size of the plate that...came out and the price I paid. Even better was the coffee, nice strong bean, double shot flat white in a tulip cup, how flat whites should be made and sipped.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 18 April 2022 via mobile

We were very impressed with the calm and organised way we were served on a very busy day. The lady at the counter was super friendly as was the lady who brought our meals . The portions were big ( 3 eggs with the eggs...Benedict) and the came out quickly, even though the restaurant was full. The only thing that was disappointing was the price of the cold drinks … $5 was expensive for a can of cokeMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 18 April 2022

I saw this cafe and thought it looked really nice, has lovely decor and friendly staff. Ordered corn fritters and they were deep fried by the looks of them and so greasy I couldn’t eat them. My daughter had a ham and cheese crossiant and...it was stale tasting and the ham not nice. Other food was egg and beans on toast which was just as it sounds. The cake and slices looked nice so would maybe go back for them but disappointed with our food and think it could be better.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 22 January 2022 via mobile

The second time we have been here for breakfast. The chef is amazing and the breakfast is the best I’ve had in a long time. The staff are always welcoming and happy. Well done for being the go to breakfast in Tekapo ❤️😎More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Markéta M, Marketing at Jack Rabbit, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2022

Hi, Thank you for your great review! We’re thrilled to hear that we are go to breakfast in Tekapo! We have passed on your great feedback to our team and it really made their day. Have a nice day and hope to see you soon!...More

Reviewed 19 January 2022

Great food, good price and lovely location. Service was good and we had a good start with a large breakfast which was very yummy.

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
Markéta M, Marketing at Jack Rabbit, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2022

HI, we’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our stay with us and that you enjoyed a delicious breakfast at our restaurant! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review! Hope to see you soon! Jack Rabbit Team

Reviewed 13 January 2022

Walked in on a hot day but they didn’t do smoothies or milkshakes, walked out again wouldn’t go back not enough variety

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Markéta M, Marketing at Jack Rabbit, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2022

Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear you had such a frustrating experience, anyway you can find our menu online: jackrabbit.nz. Jack Rabbit Team

Reviewed 7 January 2022 via mobile

Amazing food, fantastic coffee, lots of gluten free options! We had our coffees less than 2 minutes after ordering them and our food was on our table in less than 10 minutes! Lovely staff and soo good we came back for breakfast again on our...second morning!More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
Markéta M, Marketing at Jack Rabbit, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review. It's made our day! Hope to see you soon. Jack Rabbit Team

Reviewed 6 January 2022

Food was nice, but very surly service from the person at the till, and our vaccine passes weren’t checked! Waiting staff were friendly, but definitely not service with a smile at the order/pay stage.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Markéta M, Marketing at Jack Rabbit, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2022

Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not up to standards. Please know that your situation was an exception. Thank you for letting us know about this. As you can see on other reviews, we are known...More

Reviewed 5 December 2021

Such a great setting, beautiful view to match the great variety of food. Service was excellent. Over two days had two breakfasts. Poached eggs and bacon, toast. Very good. Sweetcorn fritters we’re the best I have ever had. So tasty and filling. A latte and...a mocha were both hot and good. Definitely recommend if your wanting, reasonable price, great food and service.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Markéta M, Marketing at Jack Rabbit, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2021

Hello!! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review! It made our day! Hope to see you soon! Have a nice day! Jack Rabbit Team

Reviewed 27 November 2021 via mobile

Very nice brunch. Nice streaky bacon, eggs perfectly cooked as you like, really lovely bread made into toast, with proper Kiwi butter. Service was friendly and professional. View was stunning.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Markéta M, Marketing at Jack Rabbit, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2021

Hello, Bruce! Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review! We have passed on your great feedback to our team and it really made their day. Hope to see you soon. Have a nice day. Jack Rabbit Team

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Godley Hotel
40 reviews
.03 km away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
791 reviews
.25 km away
The Chalet Boutique Motel
396 reviews
.42 km away
Peppers Bluewater Resort Lake Tekapo
4,569 reviews
.54 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Greedy Cow Ltd
281 reviews
.25 km away
Blue Lake Eatery & Bar
255 reviews
.14 km away
Kohan Restaurant
1,371 reviews
.12 km away
Ramen Tekapo
104 reviews
.22 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lake Tekapo
2,643 reviews
.31 km away
The Church of the Good Shepherd
2,088 reviews
.43 km away
Mackenzie Sheep Dog Statue
477 reviews
.43 km away
Tekapo Star Gazing
187 reviews
.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Jack Rabbit staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Jack Rabbit

Yes, Jack Rabbit offers takeaway services.

Jack Rabbit is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5