We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Golden Lion Hotel Restaurant

$$ - $$$, British,
Market Hill, St Ives PE27 5AL, England
+44 1480 492100
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good26%
  • Average16%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“roast dinner” (5 reviews)
“soup” (7 reviews)
“ribs” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Market Hill, St Ives PE27 5AL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 228 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I was staying in St Ives on business, so came here in my own for dinner. Friendly welcome and cheerful smiles from the staff. I had lamb kofta to start and lamb rump for my main, both were delicious. I can’t really comment on the...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank rach10201
Reviewed 1 week ago

The restaurant area is fresh, clean and seems new. The menu is extensive with lots of options. We all had trouble choosing what to have. The servings were all a decent size and the food itself was very tasty. Desserts were equally appetising. We will...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Neil G
Golden_Lion_Hotel, Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your lovely 5* review, your kind words have been passed onto both the kitchen team and front of house team who looked after you. It's lovely to hear that we will be seeing you again for future visits.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I believe that fish and chips should be served on very hot plates, so I was very happy with mine. My wife had the ribs and asked to take half away since there was so much. This was not a problem for the staff. As...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Terry W
Golden_Lion_Hotel, Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Terry, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit, and for leaving such a great response! We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals and that you found our staff to be excellent, i will pass on your kind...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have been saving for a whole year to have Christmas dinner out this year. We got to the golden lion restaurant at 2.30pm as dinner was for 3pm. We ordered proscecco to have with our meal. There wasn’t any. Big disappointment. But we got...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank oaks63
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came to the golden lion last Christmas and had a wonderful meal. We decided after such a great experience to return this year. And what a let down that was. There was issues with every course and I recommend not going. First course was...More

Date of visit: December 2018
3  Thank Toddler_fun123
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited today for lunch with a friend. After taking our order, no wait staff visited us for over an hour and a half. We left having wasted our time. Nearby tables also went without clearing for a long stretch of time and the floor was...More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank Covenant660
Golden_Lion_Hotel, Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we are sorry to here that the service wasn't 100% satisfactory however we do have a new management team in place so all the issues you have raised will be used as training tools for...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

went for afternoon tea, sandwiches poor and not enough!! Service was poor and prosecco came when we'd nearly finished!! Not worth the £16 they charge. Scones without jam so had to ask. What a shame as we are local, and I was looking forward to...More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank LisaSmith46
Golden_Lion_Hotel, Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. We will pass your comments on to ensure this doesn't happen again in the future and make sure the team have the relevant training. Again we do apologise, and the new...More

Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

Came for a function leading up to Christmas the function room is very nice and is situated at the back of the hotel.. we got drinks at the front bar before going to the function room staff were pleasent and professional.. The function room was...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Loppylou61
Golden_Lion_Hotel, Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Many thanks for your review, we take all feedback seriously and will use your comments towards future training for the team. I do apologise that on this occasion you were let down but I do hope that you give us another chance in the future...More

Reviewed 16 December 2018

We visited with a group of friends today for a christmas meal. Firstly we were surprised there was no brown bread and butter with the prawns and smoked salmon and no roll with the soup. On to the main course the lambs was rather chewy...More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank Pete M
Golden_Lion_Hotel, Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review, we do apologise that you felt your meal was below standard. Your concerns have been passed onto the kitchen team who send their apologies. We have a new General Manager appointed who will look into this to ensure it doesn't...More

Reviewed 14 December 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in April and had a very nice stay. The location is excellent and our room was beautiful. I could not get parked out front but that was not a problem as the weather was fine. The only negative was...More

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank langers65
Golden_Lion_Hotel, Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear that both yourself and your wife enjoyed the stay. We do apologise for the delay on breakfast we are currently working with the kitchen team to improve our breakfast service. We do hope to welcome...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in St Ives
Golden Lion
260 reviews
.00 km away
Best Western Dolphin Hotel
500 reviews
.29 km away
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
154 reviews
.46 km away
Slepe Hall Hotel & Restaurant
315 reviews
.67 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tom's Cakes
295 reviews
.10 km away
Zzohanna Indian Cuisine
137 reviews
.14 km away
Di Rita's Italian Cuisine
154 reviews
.12 km away
The Taproom
328 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Ives Electric Riverboat- Day Boat Tours
77 reviews
1.28 km away
St Ives Bridge
43 reviews
.15 km away
The Norris Museum
77 reviews
.33 km away
Holt Island Nature Reserve
14 reviews
.64 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
fizzio4u2
3 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from waynemrrs | Reviewed this property |
As of 1st June the park and ride carparks are no longer free, it costs £1-00 for up to 18 hours so is not expensive compared with the town centre car parks. Parking at the Dolphin hotel is free as long as you buy a drink... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Hill, St Ives PE27 5AL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  St Ives
  • Phone Number: +44 1480 492100
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing