We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Brecknock Arms

Bayham Road, Bells Yew Green, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 9BJ, England
+44 1892 750237
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good18%
  • Average4%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (5 reviews)
“moules” (2 reviews)
“burger” (4 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bayham Road, Bells Yew Green, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 9BJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

It was my birthday and my family and I went to the Brecknock for lunch. My wife and I and our 3 children - 13, 11 and 6. We booked in advance, which was just as well, as the place was busy and obviously very...More

Thank John F
Reviewed 3 days ago

We came across the Brecknock Arms by chance. It was raining heavily outside but very cosy inside, with 2 fires to sit in front of! We both chose the salmon with chicory which was really delicious and a treat for our taste buds. For dessert...More

Thank S W
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a lovely family friendly pub- particularly great garden with chickens and ducks etc. The food was delicious- the chef must get a special mention- the chef spoke to us at length and was helpful and accommodating when we explained one in our party...More

Thank Global15530451155
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely laid back pub offering a nice variety of food, with varying specials. Have visited on several occasions and can always rely on a warm, friendly service and some very delicious food. It is evident how much owner Digby and his team value their customers...More

Thank Miss K
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been here 3 times over the past few months. Each time I have had great service from the lovely landlord and his team. The roast was delicious, I have also had a great steak bagel and fantastic gammon egg and chips. The pub...More

Thank Cosmopolitan802420
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are locals and were in the pub the night in question referred to by the previous three reviewers. They were incredibly rude and did indeed get a round of applause from the other customers once they’d left. This is a welcoming family run pub...More

Thank Explore03732767328
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I went out to eat with friends to celebrate that my husband has just been given the all clear from cancer. We are a respectable group aged around 70. We had visited the pub many times before, & knew the previous manager...More

Thank patricialowing
Digby F, Owner at The Brecknock Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

As already mentioned in the comments from everybody else from your table. You comments on the evening were particularly rude and patronising and you reviews one sided. You were asked to leave due to your attitude and rudeness. It was not only noted by myself...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

A new experience - I have never been thrown out of a restaurant before. As a pensioner and one who was stone cold sober and not the slightest bit noisy, I have to admit to being a tad confused as to what actually happened -...More

Thank PeterM123
Reviewed 1 week ago

Four of us went to the pub to celebrate a friend's recovery from illness. We had booked a particular table but when we arrived it was taken so I did mention it to the landlord quietly. The pub had no champagne but we settled for...More

Thank GTW53
Digby F, Owner at The Brecknock Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

18 years I have been running pub and restaurants in Tunbridge Wells and I’ve never been treated so badly by customers. Your table was given away because you turned up 40 minutes late for your reservation. Then you walk in and just say champagne to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If like me you like your roast Beef at its best rare then you must come here. We had a delicious family Sunday lunch at the Brecknock Arms. Everyone was pleased with what they ordered (lamb, chicken and beef) and we washed it down with...More

Thank cogs123
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
One Warwick Park Hotel
301 reviews
3.73 km away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
327 reviews
3.78 km away
The Tunbridge Wells Hotel
334 reviews
3.80 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
1,027 reviews
3.95 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Abergavenny Arms Pub & Restaurant
398 reviews
2.12 km away
The George Inn
106 reviews
1.92 km away
Arte Bianca
57 reviews
3.76 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dunorlan Park
482 reviews
3.27 km away
The Parish Church of King Charles the Martyr
20 reviews
3.70 km away
Fairfax Gallery
18 reviews
3.77 km away
Knowle Grange Health Spa
17 reviews
2.26 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
SiJaJa
3 February 2018|
Answer
Response from David F | Property representative |
Yes we have a number of dishes that are gluten free. Kind Regards
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Monday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bayham Road, Bells Yew Green, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN3 9BJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Royal Tunbridge Wells  >  Bells Yew Green
  • Phone Number: +44 1892 750237
  • E-mail
Description
A charming village pub just outside Royal Tunbridge Wells. Serving fresh food from locally sourced ingredients, local beer & a fine selection of wine & gins.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing