We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spice Village

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Reserve a table

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Updated 05/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Spice Village
Updated 05/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
At Spice Village, we represents the most authentic dishes freshly prepared in our kitchen to your table. Authentic food menu has been designed that takes you back to the streets & villages of India which are well known for their food culture. We welcome you to have an enjoyable dining experience with us.
PRICE RANGE
US$16 - US$29
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Indian, Asian
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Wine and Beer, Family style, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
194
21
5
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
194
21
5
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry butter chicken gosht samosas plain naan mango prawns best indian indian food beautiful meal nice decor amazing flavours delicious food definitely eat here again lovely service portion sizes south island
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was supposed to be a treat weekend for my mother after a very stressful few weeks for her and dinner out was to be special occasion. From being seated at 8pm we waited 40 mins before we even got served at our table and...I am talking about just the menus, water or even a drinks order - let alone ordering any food. After trying to get the attention of staff several times my partner relented and went up to the kitchen window - the staff member looked startled and actually said 'omg I am sorry I forgot you were in the end booth'. We ordered food and our starters came out . . . . 20 mins later. Poppadum's and chutney, except they had run out of mango chutney. What Indian restaurant runs out of mango chutney ! Instead we were given some watery insipid dipping sauce of some nondescript flavour. The onion Bhaji was dry and believe me I am a connoisseur of that dish, but by this time we were starving so gladly ate it. When our meals finally came out at 9.45pm we were over waiting and ready to walk out. You would have thought the restaurant would have tried to restore our faith in having to wait so long. We had ordered butter chicken (the go to dish for my Mum) and Dal Makani but never before have I ever been so disappointed. Now we eat Indian a lot, so I know these dishes extremely well, but what we were served was an incredibly salty Dal Makani and a butter chicken that was watered down and sloppy, with the exact same consistency of soup, that not even the naan bread could revive. On leaving the restaurant we were asked did we enjoy our meal and we all had to be honest to say 'no, not really' and that we were extremely disappointed with the poor service. The reply was that they were short staffed - but on a busy holiday weekend with full bookings, when people were finally getting back out after covid lockdowns to support hospitality, you would think customers would be welcomed with opened arms not a provided poor experience. No discount offered for the inconvenience either. It saddens me to give such a negative review as I can usually find some positive feature in dining somewhere but sadly we will never be dining here again and the experience dampened what was supposed to be a nice treat weekend for my mum. The next day we went out for lunch in a restaurant packed full to the brim and limited waiting staff. We got our menus as we sat down, our coffees within 5 mins and lunch within 20 mins. We will be going back to there!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The best Indian Cuisine we’ve eaten in years! We had the butter chicken and lamb bamboo, and they were divine! Thank you so much!

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 13 April 2022 via mobile

The food was of average quality, not the best curries I’ve had but not the worst. Just classic Indian food. What was really disappointing and ruined the experience for me was to see was that out of 32 food options, there were only 3 entrees...and one main vegetarian curry that was nut free. If you have a nut allergy you will be limited with food and probably go home hungry or will have to leave. My daughter was quite upset having such limited options. Will not come again.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Bhupinder Singh, Owner at Spice Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2022

Hi there I understand you have specific dietary requirement, shouldn’t you have asked in advance before booking so that you won’t be disappointed with less options. I can’t tell you really why, but base gravy has some nuts in it which we can’t remove from...More

Reviewed 22 March 2022 via mobile

Some of the best curries I have tasted in NZ. Cannot recommend enough. Staff are attentive and courteous the atmosphere is modern and very clean

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 18 March 2022 via mobile

The food and service at this restaurant was first class. Despite COVID times the decor of this establishment was up to scratch. ... neat, tidy and clean. We ordered Zafrani Chicken Masala and Lamb Bhuna Gosht as 'mains' and the taste was devine and the...meat was so tender it melted in our mouths. A must for people to visit for a meal.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 23 February 2022 via mobile

One of the best butter chicken meals I’ve ever had. A side of garlic narn and you can’t go wrong. The flavours were amazing and just enough spice for a mild. Restaurant is beautifully set out and very clean and tidy. Staff are very very...friendly and make you feel welcomed. Even got a free bowl of peanuts to start. Highly recommend and so glad I came.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 21 February 2022 via mobile

We came here due to the previous reviews raving about the service and the food. They were right. Both were amazing. Friendly and atmospheric with really really superb food. We had lamb biryani and a lamb saag with butter naan.

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 24 January 2022 via mobile

Absolutely devoured this meal. Easily the best Indian food we've ever had. Fresh, flavourful and delicious. The Veg Manchurian is a real standout, the naan is super fresh and not oily, the smashed Samosa goes to another level, and the curries were divine. This is...a must visit if you are in this part of the country.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 23 January 2022

Great food, great service. Standout was the restaurant allowing us to bring pizza for our child who refuse to eat curries. Was a great bonus after being turned away by the competitorMore

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Bhupinder Singh, Owner at Spice Village, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2022

Hi Rachel Thanks for taking time to review. We as a team at Spice Village are always willing to go an extra mile to ensure that our patrons have an awesome experience while dining with us. Look forward to see you next time. Warm regards...More

Reviewed 22 December 2021

One of the best Indian restaurants in South Island. Very unique presentation . Will definitely come back on our next visit to the town

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hanmer Springs Hotel
1,141 reviews
.06 km away
The St James
778 reviews
.10 km away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
173 reviews
.14 km away
Village Lake Apartments
389 reviews
.20 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
MK Restaurant
533 reviews
.07 km away
Springs Pizza
249 reviews
.02 km away
No.31 Restaurant & Bar
1,172 reviews
.44 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Conical Hill
541 reviews
.91 km away
Hanmer Springs Animal Park
130 reviews
1.39 km away
A Maze N Golf
133 reviews
.93 km away
Hurunui i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
55 reviews
.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MonMun
15 June 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from bhupindersingh91 | Property representative |
Hi there, sorry we don't do BYO. We got wide range of Craft Beer & unique wines to match our food.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Spice Village

Yes, Spice Village offers takeaway services.

Yes, Spice Village is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Spice Village is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5