We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$14
CUISINES
New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
86
78
23
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
86
78
23
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salmon salad bread outside seating cabinet food hollandaise sauce blackboard menu friendly service coffee courtyard cafe kumara
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quiet and comfortable. Friendly staff. Efficient service. Good cooked breakfast with tea. Good value.

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I wish I had read the reviews. We were going to go to Paddock but they were so busy. This place seemed to give off a nice French vibe but we were sorely mistaken. My husband had the Big Breakfast. The eggs looked like they...were scrambled in a microwave and the mushrooms looked like they were from a can. The sausage looked pre cooked quality. I had the French Toast and they served it with frozen raspberries and over-whipped cream. The service was extremely slow. A lot of unhappy customers. Line up for Paddock and wait, you’ll be better off. I gave it a 2 as I liked my cooked banana and the cappuccino froth.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 October 2020

The capuccino I ordered tasted sour, what means that either coffe wasn’t ground properly or barista hasn’t got necessary skills. This was first bad tasting coffee in NZ for us.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?2  
Garcia L, stomatologist at Rouge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

You have a taste problem.

Reviewed 9 October 2020 via mobile

My husband and I had lunch here yesterday whilst having a look around Cambridge. Not a huge selection in the cabinet but what we had was nice. Salad that came with each meal was basic, just lettuce with a dressing, but it was fresh. I...had a curried chicken and Kumara filo which was very nice. My husband had gourmet meat pie that was full of meat but little to no gravy. A bit drying. Tasted ok tho. Nice semi courtyard and street seating. Friendly staffMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 13 June 2020

I had the 20$ French toast and it was the saddest looking floppy thing I’ve ever seen. I wouldn’t even pay 10$ for it. Soggy brioche (come on, how did anyone fail to toast brioche?!), banana is burnt black but mushed on the inside (I...do commend them for such an ability), bacon drenched with oil (where’s the crisp?)... all this stacked into an ultimate disaster of a French toast. They need to hire a new chef or upgrade some basic culinary skills before even attempting to start a cafe.More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?3  
Garcia L, Other at Rouge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

You was ignorant. 1, You doesn‘t like soggy brioche is not mean it was wrong cooked. 2,"banana is burnt black but mushed on the inside" it is called "caramel"( I do commend you relearn some commonsense ) 3, You did not ordering crisp bacon, so...More

Reviewed 7 June 2020 via mobile

Pumpkin Soup quite revolting served very thick like paste with vegetables scattered on the soup which looked they were left overs. Strange addition to the soup. Overpriced $16.50 served with bread Placed in the soup plate with no plate or butter. Service far too slow.

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?2  
Garcia L, Other at Rouge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I recommend you go Countdown to buy a can soup. It will be very liquid like water and no any addition which looked very yummy, and just cost you $5 and just heat 5min in microwave.

Reviewed 21 February 2020 via mobile

Stopped in Cambridge on the way North as always. Great choice if Cakes and biscuits and great service.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 29 January 2020

Went there for coffee and lunch and was very disappointed. The cabinet had a very small selection. The muffins were flat and the coffee was terrible. I don’t think I will go back as there.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Garcia L, Other at Rouge Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

We never selling muffins......WTF?

Reviewed 15 January 2020 via mobile

Average food. Small seating area inside. Some seating outside. Board menu or cabinet food available.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 November 2019

A lunch time visit to Cafe Rouge was a little disappointing. I ordered the eggs Benedict and it was nothing like I had expected, hardly any hollandaise sauce and lots of dry spinach. My partner had the salmon rosti and said it was good. We...tried to order a glass of wine only to be told they do not serve wine? (Cafe Rouge - Food - Espresso - Wine) you can understand my confusion? The coffee was fine but with so many other eateries withing close proximity I doubt that we will be returning to this one.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
No. 1 Motels
70 reviews
.48 km away
Hidden Lake Hotel and Apartments
70 reviews
.50 km away
Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
83 reviews
.76 km away
Cambrian Lodge Motel
65 reviews
.78 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Alpino cucina e vino
547 reviews
.09 km away
Alpha Street Kitchen & Bar
293 reviews
.19 km away
Onyx
397 reviews
.13 km away
Paddock
308 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
CAMJET Boat Tours Cambridge
248 reviews
.68 km away
Tivoli Cinema
99 reviews
.44 km away
Cambridge i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
57 reviews
.34 km away
Lake Te Koutu
73 reviews
1.36 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Rouge Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing