We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bikery Cafe

15 Hanlin Road, Cambridge | Avantidrome, Cambridge 3283, New Zealand
+64 7-282 0605
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good19%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (4 reviews)
“chicken tacos” (4 reviews)
“roulade” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
15 Hanlin Road, Cambridge | Avantidrome, Cambridge 3283, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

My wife gave me a gift voucher to use at the Bikery Cafe. Unfortunately the voucher barcode had faded but the print on the voucher was readable and said it was valid for $5. However the staff at the Bikery said that they couldn't accept...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank ChrisA5633
TheBikeryCafe_NZ, Owner at The Bikery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi there, You were given an opportunity to look into your damaged voucher at another time which you chose not to accept Cheers, Samara

Reviewed 11 December 2018

A great place to visit as you can also enjoy all the activity at the Velodrome. Coffee was good and there is a delicious cake selection. Only issue we had was with the scrambled eggs which were crumbly with liquid separating from eggs (yuck!)More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank bianca5699
TheBikeryCafe_NZ, Owner at The Bikery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Hi Bianca4599, Thank you for your awesome review - glad you enjoyed your visit! So sorry to hear about your eggs; that is not how they normally come and we would love to make it up to you! Send me an email to team@thebikery.co.nz and...More

Reviewed 10 December 2018

This is a regular for us as it is a destination on Saturdays. My wife and I meet up after an early morning workout. The coffee is always consistent, as is the cabinet food. I am not an egg person so its hard to comment...More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank buddybear2015
TheBikeryCafe_NZ, Owner at The Bikery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Hi Buddybear2015, Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased to hear you love our coffee, vibe and epic taco's Thank you for the tip - always helpful to have constructive feedback, Thank you! Hope to see you soon, Samara

Reviewed 7 December 2018

Called in based on great reviews on TripAdvisor. Our experience was certainly not the best. Average cabinet selection, kitchen closed (2pm) and an indifferent staff member manning the counter. Wont be back and wouldn’t recommend to a friend :(More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank uniqueuser2
TheBikeryCafe_NZ, Owner at The Bikery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Hi uniqueuser2, Thank you for your review I am sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with us like many other customers We do our best to advertise our Kitchen opening hours (website, facebook, Instagram) as it does close at 2pm. We are...More

Reviewed 1 December 2018

As a local I have always enjoyed dining here. Good food, good value and great staff. Plenty of options for everyone.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Patman1963
TheBikeryCafe_NZ, Owner at The Bikery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Hi Patman1963, Thank you so much for the great review We love providing somewhere for awesome people to come, relax and eat good food! Hope to see you again soon, Samara

Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Cant believe how much this place has improved over the last 2 years!! Great coffee, great service, great food and great smoothies! Some really great menu and cabinet options and it was hard to choose! Also great to see they’re getting environmentally friendly and trying...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Excursion31976874739
Reviewed 2 September 2018

This cafe goes from strength to strength in a town that isn't short on great cafes. The service is outstanding. The staff are really personable and always make sure that the order is done in a timely way. The food options are really good. The...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Mike P
TheBikeryCafe_NZ, Manager at The Bikery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thank you so much for your amazing review. This is what we strive for. See you again soon! :)

Reviewed 28 August 2018

Had morning tea both Saturday and Sunday during a recent visit to the Avantidrome. Took a while for my drink to arrive on Saturday as they were very busy. Sunday was a lot quicker as they were less busy. The Charge extra for a take-a-way...More

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank ErinC3114
TheBikeryCafe_NZ, Owner at The Bikery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Hi Erin, Thank you for your review. It is not often we receive an average review and would appreciate some constructive feedback around this. Understand that wait times can be a little longer during busy periods as is only natural however we do apologise for...More

Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

I dined with friends and the service was friendly and the three brunch options we all had perfectly cooked and presented. I was actually surprised how good this cafe was. Would definitely go back again!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank lou h
TheBikeryCafe_NZ, Owner at The Bikery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Hi Louise H, Thank you for your lovely review! So pleased you enjoyed your brunch with us Hope to see you again soon, Samara + Team Bikery

Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Nothing startling. Food looked nice but arrived luke warm. The staff were stressed out and running around trying to keep on top of a very lunch day. Environment was nice. Lots of little kids everywhere (something to note if you’re not big on the noise...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Nwal032
TheBikeryCafe_NZ, Owner at The Bikery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Hi Nwal032, Thank you for your review! So pleased you enjoyed our space. The school holidays always brings extra children out - I am sorry if their noise was a bit much that day. Lukewarm food is not how we like to do things -...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Cambridge
Kelly Rd Cambridge Lodge
126 reviews
1.55 km away
Colonial Court Motel
51 reviews
1.92 km away
Cambridge Mews
75 reviews
2.09 km away
Captain's Quarters Motor Inn
69 reviews
2.50 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Alpha Street Kitchen & Bar
228 reviews
2.99 km away
Onyx
550 reviews
3.05 km away
Rouge Cafe
187 reviews
3.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
CAMJET Boat Tours Cambridge
128 reviews
3.81 km away
Tivoli Cinema
90 reviews
2.95 km away
Cambridge i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
50 reviews
2.91 km away
Lake Te Koutu
53 reviews
3.91 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Bikery Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$5 - US$14
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Monday
7:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 15 Hanlin Road, Cambridge | Avantidrome, Cambridge 3283, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Cambridge
  • Phone Number: +64 7-282 0605
  • E-mail
Description
We are situated at a world class venue on the Te Awa River Trail - the perfect distance from town for a stroll or ride to earn that coffee and bite to eat. Our kitchen team put together a delicious seasonal menu as well as a variety of fresh cabinet items, sweets and guilt free treats. We use good honest local produce where possible, including free range and organic foods.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing