We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Speights Ale House Wanaka

$$ - $$$, ,
93 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
+64 3-443 5459
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good46%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“lambs fry” (10 reviews)
“lamb shank” (49 reviews)
“caesar salad” (10 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 2:00 AM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
93 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 889 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

The sea food chowder is awesome and the 400gm steak perfectly cooked. Great service, good location near the lake. If you are in Wanaka you must try this place.

Date of visit: May 2013
Thank gazzzzzza
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that the seafood chowder was "awesome" and that the steak was cooked perfectly for you. We hope you will visit us again when you are in Wanaka.

Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

This is a true southern Kiwi experience and one every visitor to Wanaka should try. The service and hospitality is very Kiwi. This establishment is located on Wanaka lake front in the centre of town.

Date of visit: May 2013
Thank Patearoa
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you for visiting the Wanaka Speights Ale House. We are glad you enjoyed "some good old kiwi hospitality" whilst you were in Wanaka and that you found our meals, service and price all to your liking.

Reviewed 29 April 2013

Very modern and quite big but had a really nice dinner of liver and mash and some nice wine. Service was very fast.

Date of visit: April 2013
Thank Priss58
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you for visiting us at the Wanaka Speights Ale House. We are pleased you enjoyed the Lambs Fry and Bacon - it is a southern specialty. We hope you visit us again.

Reviewed 27 April 2013

We came for a late lunch & we treated very well by the friendly staff. Good lunch menu that extends until 5pm. We both enjoyed what we ordered, which arrived promptly & tasted great! Cosy pub with good food & service..what more can you ask...More

Date of visit: April 2013
Thank Simonetta C
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that we assisted in your satisfaction of a Saturday afternoon with Gastro Pub food that was enjoyed.

Reviewed 24 April 2013

The regular dining tables were all full when we arrived but we were kindly seated and waited on near the bar with the full service expected in the dining room. The food was fine, drinks full. We went away very happy.

Date of visit: March 2013
Thank MANDKJ6
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your dining experience at the Wanaka Speight's Ale House. We are glad you enjoyed your meals and went away content.

Reviewed 12 April 2013

Was very busy both times but food and service was excellent. Was nice to have good quality pub food.

Date of visit: March 2013
Thank Visiblyred
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you experienced excellent service and enjoyed your meals both times you dined at the Wanaka Speights Ale House. We look forward to your repeat custom.

Reviewed 9 April 2013

We ate here twice during our recent trip to Wanaka and had great meals both times. The first evening they got my Wife's meal wrong but this was sorted quickly and professionally. Thoroughly recommended.More

Date of visit: April 2013
Thank markkellaway
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Firstly, thank you for your positive feedback. It's great to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your meal at the Wanaka Speights Ale House and even better to hear that on that same trip you dined at the Wanaka Speights Ale House again. We...More

Reviewed 3 April 2013

This is a new place right on the waterfront. My husband and I ate here twice, before and after a long hiking trip and were pleased both times. The steaks were good, as was the pork belly, though the cheesecake was pretty awful. Service was...More

Date of visit: March 2013
Thank Emily A
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your experience with the Wanaka Speights Ale House. Easter was an extremely busy time in general for Wanaka and the staff did their best to keep up the prompt friendly service during that time. At times it was difficult...More

Reviewed 1 April 2013

We had a wonderful meal when we decided to sample this new restaurant. The service from the staff was fantastic, finding us a table so quickly, on a busy Friday night and the very prompt arrival of menus, drinks and food. All with a smile,...More

Date of visit: March 2013
1  Thank Mary_Sue_NZ
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you for the positive feedback you have given us on your dining experience at the Wanaka Speights Ale House. We pride ourselves on efficient and prompt service and delivering a variety of meals to suit most palettes. We are glad that you have been...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Wanaka
Wanaka Hotel
634 reviews
.11 km away
Lakeside Apartments
571 reviews
.12 km away
Bella Vista Wanaka
392 reviews
.14 km away
The Moorings
497 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Big Fig Wanaka
695 reviews
.07 km away
Kika
379 reviews
.11 km away
Wanaka Gourmet Kitchen
596 reviews
.12 km away
Francesca's Italian Kitchen Wanaka
1,313 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wanaka i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
221 reviews
.06 km away
The Picture Lounge
7 reviews
.22 km away
Wanaka Farmers Market
8 reviews
.08 km away
Wanaka Fine Art Gallery
9 reviews
.08 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kates1960
8 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Cechová M | Reviewed this property |
Dear Kates 1960, Sorry about this, But I was in NZ Speights Ale House with my french husband 1 Month ago and the food was truly delicious. Believe me, that french peoplae do have very hight level about the food. And me, as a... More
1
Vote
milnefamily71
16 December 2016|
Answer
Response from charlotte k | Property representative |
Hi there. No we are not open for Christmas Lunch. There are a definite 2 places open though - Francescas - which is directly behind us. It is an Italian restaurant - you will need to book this though. Edgewater resort... More
0
Votes
poiuyt2
13 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from charlotte k | Property representative |
Hi there. We do not have roast meals. If you go to our website you can view our menu. Hopefully there is something that would be to your liking.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$23
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Parking Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Monday
11:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Friday
11:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Wanaka
  • Phone Number: +64 3-443 5459
  • E-mail
Description
The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing