We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Speights Ale House Wanaka

$$ - $$$, ,
93 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
+64 3-443 5459
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good46%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“lambs fry” (9 reviews)
“lamb shank” (48 reviews)
“caesar salad” (10 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
93 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 30 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2018

Fantastic service, awesome food, great beer and wine. While I visit Wanaka I will be going back there for dinner.

Thank daveschouten
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. We offer and serve good Southern Fare .... which you have alluded to very well.

Reviewed 9 September 2018

Consistently good food good beers nice atmosphere for a pub An extensive menu and busy atmoshere We enjoyed the steak cooked perfectly

Thank 272chrissyc
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Great to hear your steak was cooked perfectly. Thanks for your comments.

Reviewed 8 September 2018

Food at this place is excellent we couldn't fault it. Service was also excellent so warm and friendly. Wish other place's were like this. When we are in Wanaka we always go to this place for a meal, don't think anyone else can beat them.AAA+++

Thank RuthR2344
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Perfecto! We'll see you back then again soon.

Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Great way to round out a day at the snow farm. Fast efficient and friendly service. Very good meals and great kids menu too. Really nice setting as well.

Thank Markyparknz
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Nothing like a delicious meal after a day up the mountain. Thanks for your comments.

Reviewed 23 August 2018

A warm and cosy diner. Friendly staff, generous portion serving. Food was great and the diners also welcoming to us visitors. A great variety of local craft beers.

Thank AudyY
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We have a large selection of beers and wine - something to pair with everything on our menu. Thanks for your comments.

Reviewed 22 August 2018

As a family of 7 we were able to get a table fairly quickly. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Meals were terrific and the kids had a great time as well. Interesting decor and would go back again.

Thank Lesley S
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. With our outdoor grass area bordering on Bullock Creek - kids and adults can have a lot of fun!

Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Big group of 20 odd people... can’t book but they eventually managed to allocate 2 tables for us. Food and service was good. Great outdoor fire place!

Thank loretta g
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

With enough notice we can accommodate large groups easily. Thanks for your comments.

Reviewed 20 August 2018

Had lunch at the Ale house. Burgers and food were really good and good selection on offer. Seafood chowder was good and the kids meals were also very good. Good quiet atmosphere when we were there and the service was exceptional, didn't have to wait...More

Thank Zane S
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. The seafood chowder is very popular and perfect for lunch.

Reviewed 19 August 2018

Family lunch at the Ale house. Great food and the Seafood Chowder was absolutely awesome. Cheesy garlic loaf should always be ordered with your meals. No complaints about the food or the service.

Thank Allan D
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

The Cheesy Garlic Loaf is a crowd pleaser at the best of times. I agree - it should be ordered with every meal!

Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

You gotta get the garlic loaf..amazing in itself! Cozy busy place, had to wait about 20 mins for a table on a Friday night but was worth it. Food delicious and staff friendly. Sport on the big screen.

Thank Ohmeow
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

The Garlic Loaf - cheesy is another option - is certainly scrumptious - if I do say so myself!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Wanaka
Wanaka Hotel
633 reviews
.11 km away
Lakeside Apartments
569 reviews
.12 km away
Bella Vista Wanaka
390 reviews
.14 km away
The Moorings
493 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Big Fig Wanaka
670 reviews
.07 km away
Kika
368 reviews
.11 km away
Wanaka Gourmet Kitchen
589 reviews
.12 km away
Francesca's Italian Kitchen Wanaka
1,299 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wanaka i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
219 reviews
.06 km away
The Picture Lounge
7 reviews
.22 km away
Wanaka Farmers Market
8 reviews
.08 km away
Wanaka Fine Art Gallery
9 reviews
.08 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kates1960
8 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Cechová M | Reviewed this property |
Dear Kates 1960, Sorry about this, But I was in NZ Speights Ale House with my french husband 1 Month ago and the food was truly delicious. Believe me, that french peoplae do have very hight level about the food. And me, as a... More
1
Vote
milnefamily71
16 December 2016|
Answer
Response from charlotte k | Property representative |
Hi there. No we are not open for Christmas Lunch. There are a definite 2 places open though - Francescas - which is directly behind us. It is an Italian restaurant - you will need to book this though. Edgewater resort... More
0
Votes
poiuyt2
13 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from charlotte k | Property representative |
Hi there. We do not have roast meals. If you go to our website you can view our menu. Hopefully there is something that would be to your liking.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$23
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Parking Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Monday
11:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Friday
11:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 2:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Wanaka
  • Phone Number: +64 3-443 5459
  • E-mail
Description
The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing