We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Speights Ale House Wanaka Restaurant

) #14 of 59 Restaurants in Wanaka $$ - $$$, Bar, Pub, New Zealand
93 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
+64 3-443 5459
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Overview
  • Reviews
  • Location
  • Q&A
  • Details
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good45%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (41 reviews)
“caesar salad” (9 reviews)
“garlic loaf” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
93 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 719 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

My wife and I called in for a quick ale (or two) on our way to have a walk through Wanaka. The place was packed and very busy, and the staff run off their feet. Leonie and I decided to have our drinks outside in...More

Thank Rushie08
Reviewed 6 days ago

After a 15 minute wait we were shown to our tables, service was was swift and efficent. Our food was typical large serve pub food.

Thank 04MJC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Although not a Craft Brewery, Speight's has some good brews. This location is in central Wanaka, within walking distance of pretty much anything of interest in the downtown. Their is a bar, a restaurant and patio. Items from the same menu can be ordered in...More

Thank davejohnbiking
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It is certainly great having a central location - especially being so close to Lake Wanaka.

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a good no-nonsense pub with 10% off voucher for drinks from Wanaka Heights Motel. There is a nice lively outdoor area and the food is good with plenty of it.

Thank patricia t
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Our outdoor area is certainly a popular spot especially on a beautiful sunny Autumn Day.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our experience at Speights Ale House was great. Friendly staff, great food and great atmosphere. If in Wanaka give it a go you will not be disappointed. Meals are generous You will not leave hungry. The cheesy garlic bread a must. We found this good...More

Thank jennifero326
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us at the Wanaka Speight's Ale House. It's always good to know people do not leave us still hungry.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good meal, quick service, large portions and good beer, well priced for the size of meals. Was busy the night we were there but wasn't noisy or didn't feel crowded.

Thank raelene m
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It was great to read that although we were busy you didn't find it too noisy or crowded. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This restaurant does not take bookings and is very popular, so to get a table it pays to go early - before 6pm - if possible. The food is nicely prepared and very tasty and reasonably priced. Family friendly but can get a bit noisy...More

Thank Murray A
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review

Thanks for that feedback. We are definitely a family friendly restaurant with a grassy area outside for kids to play on and the Bullock Creek for kids to explore. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at the ale house around 18:30, walked inside and the place was a buzz. ( very busy ) Because of the open space of the restaurant it was quite noisy. We were told that there were no tables available but if we could...More

Thank DJJ252
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review

Feedback like yours DJJ is certainly very much appreciated. I will make sure that this is passed through to the staff. Thanks again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went back for a second dinner as we enjoyed our meal here so much. We all enjoyed our meals and the atmosphere

Thank vannsandra
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review

That's fantastic feedback. Thanks for commenting. We hope the rest of your travels are fantastic.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I ate at several Speights venues in south island finding them good value and reliable. Had the pork belly 3nights in a row-that good.

Thank Stephen C
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this review

WOW - Pork Belly 3 nights in a row - that's quite something. I will make sure your comments are passed on through to our kitchen staff. Happy travels.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Wanaka Gourmet Kitchen
383 reviews
.13 km away
Big Fig Wanaka
250 reviews
.08 km away
Kika
154 reviews
.11 km away
The Spice Room
819 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wanaka
965 reviews
.26 km away
Deep Canyon
173 reviews
.09 km away
Lake Wanaka i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
172 reviews
.06 km away
Sofa Ski Camps
10 reviews
.31 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
kates1960
How about quality control rather than berating someone for posting an honest review of a less than satisfactory meal? I did tell staff and I wasn't happy with the solution offered.
8 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Cechová M | Reviewed this property |
Dear Kates 1960, Sorry about this, But I was in NZ Speights Ale House with my french husband 1 Month ago and the food was truly delicious. Believe me, that french peoplae do have very hight level about the food. And me, as a... More
0
Votes
milnefamily71
Are you open for Christmas lunch?
16 December 2016|
Answer
Response from charlotte k | Property representative |
Hi there. No we are not open for Christmas Lunch. There are a definite 2 places open though - Francescas - which is directly behind us. It is an Italian restaurant - you will need to book this though. Edgewater resort... More
0
Votes
poiuyt2
Do you have a Sunday roast meal tonight?
13 November 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from charlotte k | Property representative |
Hi there. We do not have roast meals. If you go to our website you can view our menu. Hopefully there is something that would be to your liking.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$23
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Parking Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 02:00
Monday
11:00 - 02:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 02:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 02:00
Thursday
11:00 - 02:00
Friday
11:00 - 02:00
Saturday
11:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Wanaka
  • Phone Number: +64 3-443 5459
  • E-mail
Description
The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.