We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
American, Fast food, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
248
97
23
12
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
248
97
23
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger fries salad chicken bread fresh ingredients take away long wait quick service south island bun queenstown crispy freshness beers bite yum
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Best burgers in NZ, delicious every time! Super easy to order via the app. And parking is easy for pickup. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really tasty and generously sized burgers. Not great value when feeding a family, but a varied menu and good options for vegetarians too.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Quite dry burger. A bit disappointed considering the price. Had much better elsewhere. Egg overcooked. Little taste to be fair.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 November 2020

If ordering online expect it to be ready well after the expected time. Add at least 25 mins. Doesn’t appear to be any linkage between what’s happening in the kitchen and the online system.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 21 November 2020

All round good stuff. They always fill the burgers up to the max and it taste consistently great. I always order ahead and they’ve never messed up, always been on point.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 17 November 2020 via mobile

Great service, bloody great burgers and a really good value price Fast and they even turned on the heater as it was starting to cool down

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 31 October 2020

A mid-sized selection of burgers, and a small range of local beers and other interesting drinks/shakes. Good for a quick lunch or dinner. I've ha better burgers, but I've had a lot worse too. The food was a little better than Burger Wisconsin or Burger...Fuel. Indoor and covered outdoor seating is available, but if its busy assume you'll be buying to take away. Service was excellent.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 October 2020 via mobile

Still wonder how this can get so many good reviews. Been eating at Redstar burger 3 or 4 times and I’ve been soooo disappointed each time. Burgers have no taste, no sauce, no identity. Will not even pay half of the price of what they...ask for it. Boring.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 14 October 2020 via mobile

Got 2 takeaway burgers and kumera fries from here all of it was stone cold, when I rang they were very apologetic and offered full refund in form of a voucher but have rung twice since and still nothing. I'm ok with a cold burger...and an apology it happens but dont offer money back and dont follow through.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Scott4844, Owner at Red Star Burger Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2020

Hi there - I’m sorry for the delay in processing this refund, however it hasn’t been for lack of effort. I’m sure we aren’t the first to have been tripped up by your extremely complex email address. The staff member who took your initial call...More

Reviewed 3 October 2020 via mobile

Lovely friendly staff, quick service and most importantly awesome burgers. Craft beer and soft drinks available.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
269 reviews
.10 km away
Wanaka Heights Accommodation
56 reviews
.10 km away
Archway Motels & Chalets
179 reviews
.17 km away
Wanaka Hotel
680 reviews
.23 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Burrito Craft
231 reviews
.32 km away
Kika
548 reviews
.31 km away
Kota Restaurant & Bar Wanaka
296 reviews
.27 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wanaka i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
234 reviews
.39 km away
Wanaka Fine Art Gallery
12 reviews
.39 km away
Wanaka Heli Hikes
5 reviews
.32 km away
Wanaka Farmers Market
11 reviews
.30 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jojoward554
17 February 2018|
Answer
Response from Scott4844 | Property representative |
The chicken changed to free-range a couple of years back. I’m sorry if our happy chickens offended you.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing