We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Federal Diner

$$ - $$$Cafe, ,
47 Helwick Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
+64 3-443 5152
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good25%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (22 reviews)
“scones” (31 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
47 Helwick Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Nice coffee. Good service. Didn’t get the chance to eat here unfortunately, but the food that we saw coming out looked pretty amazing!

Thank SunTraveller84
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am a local on Wanaka and from time to time I try all the restaurants and cafes. But I always find myself wanting to be here at the federal Diner. Today’s breakfast was exactly the same as the last one I had as was...More

Thank Chefmetcalfe
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awesome menu, good wine list and nice relaxed atmosphere. My wife and I had dinner with a friend and thoroughly enjoyed it. Often booked out so make a reservation.

Thank davemoore2018
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I popped in the morning of the 14th, a young chef made a eggs benny with salmon. I am so happy to recommend this venue for breakfast as he produced the bests I have eaten anywhere. Sometimes the breakfast chefs have huge pressures and can...More

Thank Greg M
Sian W, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Lovely review and thank you for taking the time to share this with others. So lovely to hear that we helped make the start to your day enjoyable. Hope to see you again soon :-)

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We found this cafe thanks to a brochure of cafes/restaurants/shops worth visiting in Wanaka. It is tucked away in an alley and very easy to miss. Once you find it you feel like a local! We had coffee and lunch (vegetarian for me), which was...More

Thank Janine M
Sian W, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Great to read your review and that you enjoyed your Fed experience and got to be a local for a while :-) We hope to see you again on your next visit to Wanaka.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great place for coffee and food. Highly recommend the scones. Great staff, service and atmosphere. Will definately be back.

Thank Anthony W
Sian W, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with others. Great to hear you enjoyed your Fed visit and hope to see you next time your in town.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went with a group of friends for dinner. Where do you go where a waitress offers to move you to a quieter table when a group leave after you are already seated with drinks. When we hadn’t even complained. There was a table of...More

Thank Kushla R
Sian W, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and great to hear that our staff made the visit as comfortable for you as possible. We hope to see you again when your in Wanaka.

Reviewed 10 July 2018

An old street sign points the way to the hidden alley housing this interesting restaurant. The menu is not extensive but the food good and the service excellent. My meal was tailored to my food intolerances. The style was casual with the kitchen in full...More

Thank Sue S
Sian W, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and glad to hear that we could meet your dietary requirements. Hope to see you next time your in town.

Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Visited on Thursday morning and the diner. The staff were really good and brought our breakfast and coffees over pretty fast for how busy it was. The location was a little hard to find but worked quite well as didn’t have people walking by staring...More

Thank Nathan H
Sian W, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with others. Great to hear you enjoyed your Fed visit and hope to see you next time your in town.

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

This cafe is tucked away down an alleyway, it would be easy to miss. Food and service were excellent, my porridge was excellent but the portion could have been more generous. My husband had eggs and salmon, which were very good. Bit disappointing that after...More

Thank Sue804
Sian W, Owner at Federal Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm sorry you weren't able to get the wifi to work, sometimes the wifi needs to be reset however when its busy the staff may not have had the chance to do so. However, I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and the food and hope...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
388 reviews
.09 km away
Aspiring Lodge Motel
231 reviews
.12 km away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
347 reviews
.13 km away
ASURE Brookvale Motel
133 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Wanaka Gourmet Kitchen
557 reviews
.15 km away
Kika
336 reviews
.14 km away
Burrito Craft
163 reviews
.10 km away
The Spice Room
972 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wanaka i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
213 reviews
.21 km away
Sofa Ski Camps
22 reviews
.12 km away
The Picture Lounge
7 reviews
.11 km away
Wanaka Fine Art Gallery
9 reviews
.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Federal Diner staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$60
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 47 Helwick Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Wanaka
  • Phone Number: +64 3-443 5152
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing