We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
By popular demand, Erik’s Fish and Chips has opened our second food truck in beautiful Lake Wanaka. Using only the best local ingredients, sourced from the land and seas of New Zealand’s South Island, Erik serves up our delicious menu in a light crisp batter. With a unique Kiwi twist on traditional fish and chips, you’ll find items like handmade Kumara wedges and deep-fried kiwifruit that’ll keep you coming back for more. Everything is available Gluten Free.
PRICE RANGE
US$3 - US$14
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Seafood, Fast food, New Zealand
FEATURES
Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
104
26
21
8
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
104
26
21
8
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips kiwi fruit tartare hand cut chips blue cod small chips food truck gluten free light and crispy great taste great meal yummy food take away hoki cauliflower erics kiwifruit
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Super friendly team and great customer service. The food was available promptly and was warm, tasty and totally kiwi experience. They really catered well for all of our dietary needs, from gluten free to vegan and I really appreciated the local and sustainable focus of...this company. Would go again and recommend to anyone visiting for sure.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Anna A, Owner at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for coming to Erik's Fish and Chips and taking the time to write such a great review

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the atmosphere and the crunchy fish and chips. Great options of fish. Ready fast. Fantastic to have gluten free options.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Anna A, Owner at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review and coming to Erik's Fish and Chips.

Reviewed 23 June 2021

Love Eriks Fish and Chips. So much choice, great value and super yummy. Massive bonus that all available gluten free and Coeliac safe, which is a must for our family.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Anna A, Owner at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review for Erik's Fish and Chips and mentioning our good value and that we look after Coeliacs

Reviewed 16 June 2021

We visited Eric's fish'n'chips in June. The wait time was 30 minutes and once received it was nothing short of disappointing. The chips were cold and soggy, the fish was also cold and uneatable. I wrote them a message regarding our disappointment and still have...not received a reply/apology. In a time when restaurants/food outlets our struggling I thought businesses would be trying harder, obviously not!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Anna A, Owner at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2021

Hello Natasha We are very sorry about your unfortunate experience at Erik’s Fish and Chips. Firstly that we did not respond to your first message which we have now found buried in Google, we have never had a message in this place before, this was...More

Reviewed 2 May 2021

Hoki was good, Blue cod not good. Cauliflower bites not good, chips ok. Asked for salt before they wrapped it but could not taste it. Would not go back sorry!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Anna A, Owner at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2021

We are very sorry you our fish and chips were not as you expected. We lightly salt everything before it is wrapped and then provide more salt on a bench outside. This is to ensure we don't over salt the product for some people as...More

Reviewed 21 April 2021 via mobile

Revolting, overpriced and small portions. Hot dog on a stick was $4.50 and barely bigger than a breakfast sausage and tasted very odd. Oysters very expensive but tiny. Blue cod overcooked. Unbelievably bad on so many levels.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Anna A, Owner at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2021

We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your meal from Erik's Fish and Chips. We are sorry you don't like our hot dogs, these are homemade as our website and staff would have told you. These are a local favourite although they are different from...More

Reviewed 19 March 2021

Sat in the evening sun looking out at the mountains eating great fish & chips topped with mushy peas & vinegar - Friday evenings don't get better than this

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Anna A, General Manager at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2021

Wow! Thank you for your great review! Fish and Chips Friday :D

Reviewed 20 January 2021 via mobile

Chips were good. Fish tasted terrible. They had oysters on special, but they were fishy flavoured, small and simply not nice. I see that the hotdogs (they make their own) get mixed reviews, with some people loving the “homemade” versions, but we hated them -...children, for whom hotdogs are a favourite, each had one bite and no more. I managed half of one. Otherwise service was quick and friendly, but it was a bit pricey and I wouldn’t eat here again.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Anna A, General Manager at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2021

Hi Bob, we are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy our Bluff oysters. Our Hot Dog is homemade indeed, a chunky Hot Dog made from Lamb/Beef. We hoped you enjoy your time in Queenstown and we appreciate your support

Reviewed 13 January 2021 via mobile

Excellent value for money and well cooked take-away fare. Fish was nicely cooked and portion size was generous. They threw in a couple of bottles of lemonade as we had quite a large order ( but was still under $100 for five people) Good place...to re-fuel after a hard day!More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Anna A, General Manager at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2021

Thank you for your great review. We are pleased you enjoy your Fish and Chips and thank you for mentioning our portion sizes.

Reviewed 22 November 2020

We had a grab one for 4 people. Only thing I can complain about was getting faaaar to much chips. Unfortunately, did not get the same service in Queenstown.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
259annaa, Owner at Erik's Fish and Chips, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2020

Hello, thank you for your lovely review and mentioning our chips portions. We will discuss this with the team to make sure everyone experience the same level of customers service in Wanaka and Queenstown, thank you for your feedback.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Wanaka Hotel
687 reviews
.12 km away
Lakeside Apartments
634 reviews
.16 km away
The Moorings
563 reviews
.18 km away
ASURE Brookvale Motel
154 reviews
.19 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Kika
617 reviews
.22 km away
Burrito Craft
236 reviews
.26 km away
Kota Restaurant & Bar Wanaka
332 reviews
.13 km away
Red Star Burger Bar
421 reviews
.14 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wanaka i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
237 reviews
.26 km away
Wanaka Fine Art Gallery
12 reviews
.28 km away
Wanaka Heli Hikes
5 reviews
.18 km away
Wanaka Farmers Market
11 reviews
.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Annelore2014
20 February 2020|
Answer
Response from Anna A | Property representative |
Yes I am sorry we do fry it in the same oil Kind Regards Anna Arndt
0
Votes
Mayfly8051
5 March 2018|
Answer
Response from Anna A | Property representative |
I am sorry we don’t offer crumbed fish but we do offer poached fish which is cooked in tin foil. However our batter is like a tempura batter very light and crisp not thick like traditional batters, customers are very happy... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Erik's Fish and Chips

Yes, Erik's Fish and Chips offers takeaway services.

Yes, Erik's Fish and Chips offers delivery services.

Erik's Fish and Chips is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4