We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kika

2 Dunmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
+64 3-443 6536
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good12%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shoulder” (24 reviews)
“gnudi” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
2 Dunmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This restaurant has great food and lovely people. However in the view of all 5 in our group they need to take bookings not just for groups of 10 or more but take bookings full stop!! We were told our wait would be “about 40...More

Thank Hils20
Francescaspizzas, Manager at Kika, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Hils20, Thank you for taking the to leave some feedback about your experience with us. We appreciate your comments about the food and staff but naturally, were disappointed about your view on the rest of your experience. We've given serious thought to taking bookings,...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

After several recommendations to Kika I decided to phone to make a booking. I was told there was no bookings but if we just walked in we could be seated within 10-15 minutes. I asked what time was best to come in order to reduce...More

1  Thank markjT6301LG
Francescaspizzas, Manager at Kika, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi MarkjT6301LG, I appreciate you giving us the opportunity to explain what happened on Friday evening. As with any customer who rings the restaurant, we explain our no bookings policy but encourage people to come down and join the wait list. However, when you arrived...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

This restaurant is a standout. Modern ambience, cool attentive waitstaff, but the food is something else. We shared three mains. The lamb shoulder with preserved lemon rosemary and chilli simply fell apart, superbly slow cooked. The Gnocchi alla Romana, caponata and Tallegio was delicious, expertly...More

Thank Andrew D
Francescaspizzas, Guest Relations Manager at Kika, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Andrew D, Thank you so much for your fabulous review! It was such a pleasure to read your comments. Thanks again!

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

After a long day of driving, not having to make any choices was perfect and the food that Kika fed us with was exquisite. A great place to go for tapas if you are in Wanaka but also a good place for a hearty meal...More

Thank Jordan A
Francescaspizzas, Guest Relations Manager at Kika, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Jordan A, We're so glad that you enjoyed your 'Just Feed Me' meal with us. We hope to see you again if you ever return to Wanaka. Thank you!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a group of four adults. We shared all the starters and all the sides and there was plenty for everyone and a great variety of flavours. We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. Many thanks.

Thank JakeNorthumberland
Francescaspizzas, Guest Relations Manager at Kika, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi JakeNorthumberland, Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We truly appreciate you taking the time to write it.

Reviewed 1 week ago

World class food with friendly staff. We've eaten at many fine restaurants and were surprised at the quality of food here. Highly recommend, worth waiting for a table (as you often need to do).

Thank Ouiuken
Francescaspizzas, Guest Relations Manager at Kika, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ouiuken, Thank you very much for your recommendation and your 5 star review!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was a very pleasant experience. The restaurant bases his dishes on being able to share it with all participants. This is what we do ourself fairly often and its great to experience this as a base for a restaurant concept. The food is well...More

Thank Gjhuahin
Francescaspizzas, Guest Relations Manager at Kika, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Gjhuahin, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your evening with us so much. We have been working very hard with our wait staff to make sure there wine knowledge...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had one night in Wanaka and we picked Kika for dinner after consulting the other reviews here. We hadn’t booked and the restaurant was busy - but rather than being turned away, our name was written on a chalkboard and we were advised to...More

Thank Docrobperry
Francescaspizzas, Guest Relations Manager at Kika, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Docrobperry, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Kika. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience as a whole but we were a little disappointed reading your comments on the service. We have been working really hard with...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the place for fine tapas/share plates in Wanaka. The lamb dish on the night was just incredible followed closely by the other dishes. Great wine list and service, this is a certainty for return visits. Don't be put off by the volume -...More

Thank RGS1956
Francescaspizzas, Guest Relations Manager at Kika, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi RGS1956, We are so pleased you enjoyed your meal at Kika so much. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Hopefully we can host you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We celebrated my 33rd birthday here at the recommendation of our Airbnb host. It did not disappoint. WOW! We ordered the 'Just Feed Me' Chef's menu, and my partner chose to also do the matching beers. We had specialised dietary requirements, and I don't drink...More

Thank JLinnane
Francescaspizzas, Guest Relations Manager at Kika, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi JLinnane, Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us! We are so pleased that we could make it even more special for you. We look forward to seeing you again (hopefully soon!) when you visit New Zealand again. Thanks again!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Big Fig Wanaka
367 reviews
.13 km away
Wanaka Gourmet Kitchen
452 reviews
.13 km away
Francesca's Kitchen
1,130 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Deep Canyon
181 reviews
.18 km away
Wanaka i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
183 reviews
.13 km away
Wanaka Fine Art Gallery
8 reviews
.12 km away
Wildwire Wanaka
177 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Kika staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$5 - US$27
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Dunmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Wanaka
  • Phone Number: +64 3-443 6536
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing