We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$46
CUISINES
International, European, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
13
9
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
13
9
3
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 8 February 2021

A stylish restaurant with a charming bar with an open log fire. Our dinner was well presented which was freshly made and delicious but the quantity was not adequate for some people as we were in a massive group with AATKings. Breakfast was reasonable.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 9 May 2020

My wife and I were on a tour and stayed at the Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier hotel and had a meal at the Canavan's Restaurant. The food was great and the restaurant had a wonderful selection.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 11 March 2020

My wife and I stayed at this resort and enjoyed eating here. There was a good selection of food available.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 8 February 2020

The food is just beautiful, we had dinner here the 2 nights we stay in FJ and we have no complaints at all. wonderful service, kind staff and lovely meals, what more could you ask for!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Cruiser23359887156, Other at Canavan's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2020

Hi Hannah Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner, and service during your stay here in Franz Josef. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time here in New Zealand. Nga...More

Reviewed 4 January 2020 via mobile

Really nice buffet breakfast but a little more variety of fresh fruit would not go a miss. A barista would also improve it

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 December 2019

Most of the food we ate in New Zealand was fabulous. Given that, I was a bit disappointed with Caravans. While the sauce was good, the lamb was overcooked and the potatoes were oily. The apple strudel was OK, but had too much crust for...my taste.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 14 July 2019

The restaurant was quiet when we visited as it was the quiet season. However, the service was good and the food was delicious. There was a variety of dishes on offer to suit a variety of tastes and appetites.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
MickYuan, Restaurant and Bar Manager at Canavan's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2019

Dear Lesley, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed dining with us in the Canavans Restaurant. We do aim at providing great service nonetheless we are in the quiet season....More

Reviewed 9 April 2019

I would have preferred to give this restaurant 3.5 stars but there you go. Staff were a little snooty when we booked our table, as we had just come in from walking I guess, and didn't look very smart. Seemed reluctant to let us have...a table. Starter was good, and puddings were luscious, but the sous vide duck was as tough as old boots - I guess we should have sent it back. I'm going off sous vide now as a method of cooking, as I had lamb later in our trip at a different restaurant, and that was also quite chewy. Regarding the menu, we were really looking for food with a New Zealand slant, but their menu options were very limited with that regard. I don't remember seeing lamb there, but the green lipped mussels we had for starters were huge and wonderful. Staff were very attentive though, and the wine was good. Great views from the upstairs conservatory. Would I go back? I'm not sure.... But my husbands main course was good, so perhaps if we'd chosen something else off the menu, it would have been a solid four star and good recommendation. There are steps to both restaurants to my recollection, so would be difficult for disabled folks to visit - although maybe there was a ramp on the downstairs restaurant, I'm afraid I can't remember.More

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?
MickYuan, Restaurant and Bar Manager at Canavan's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2019

Dear Tripjunkie1 Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am with regret to read that you did not enjoy the duck. Your feedback has been passed onto the team and the team has taken it positively so as to make...More

Reviewed 1 January 2019

There are not many options in Franz Josef as there are only a handful of restaurants. I reckon Canavan's is the most high end one (arguably the most expensive). What we pay for is good quality ingredients, very nice presentation of the food, great ambience...as the restaurant overlooks greenery and the glacier peaks. Since its in a hotel, it is also much less rowdy then independent restaurants. Our orders included fish of the day and the very tender beef. Upon knowing we are celebrating my daughter's birthday, the manager presented us with a complementary cake!More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
MickYuan, Restaurant and Bar Manager at Canavan's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2019

Dear Mr. Goh and family, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Glad to hear from you and I am truly delighted to read that you have enjoyed your dining experience with us. Thank you for choosing us and let us...More

Reviewed 29 December 2018 via mobile

This review is in relation to Caravans as a restaurant for the dinners we had on two nights while in FJ not as part of the hotel to which it is attached. The hotel and breakfast in this location is the subject of a seperate...review. We arrived in FJ on Christmas Eve and not knowing how busy the place would be we decided to pre book dinner in this restaurant for Christmas Eve as well as Christmas Dinner. The first was Ok the second was a BIG mistake!! Christmas Eve: The staff and service was good and attentive and the meals we ordered were quite enjoyable except for one dish. This was a vegetable lasagna. Now this should be reasonably easy to prepare but the dish delivered was tasteless and nearly inedible. Unfortunately, when collected virtually untouched by the staff no questions were asked about it being barely touched. Christmas Dinner: This was a big let down. Staff service was Ok but they were really just working a busy floor and did not really want to get involved in problems or issues. The three course meal that was served (a selection from 3 dishes for each course) was, to say the least, terrible. The food when served was only lukewarm or cold (this is Ok if it is a cold dish but they weren't all surprised to be cold!!!!) and generally quite bland and tasteless. A steak that was ordered medium rare and suggested as being only available as medium was served well done, was tasteless and practically inedible. This would certainly rate as one of the worst dining experiences we have ever had and the only positive point was that after complaining to management representatives we were given a credit for the price of the meal which had been prepaid due to it being a Christmas Dinner and I would thank the staff for this.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?1  
MickYuan, Restaurant and Bar Manager at Canavan's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2019

Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am disappointed that we did not deliver our service standard on this occasion. I am sure there are things we can improve on. Your comment has been brought to the attention...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
1,010 reviews
.05 km away
Rainforest Retreat
2,404 reviews
.12 km away
Punga Grove Motel & Suites
419 reviews
.13 km away
The Terrace Motel
424 reviews
.21 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Alice May
1,964 reviews
.19 km away
BLUE ICE RESTAURANT & BAR
882 reviews
.39 km away
Monsoon Bar & Restaurant
746 reviews
.13 km away
Snake Bite Brewery
1,402 reviews
.21 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ecorafting - Day Tours
36 reviews
.25 km away
Tatare Tunnels Walk
112 reviews
.18 km away
West Coast Wildlife Centre
970 reviews
.18 km away
Franz Josef i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
89 reviews
.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Canavan's Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Canavan's Restaurant

Canavan's Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4