We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hobnail Cafe

Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7951, New Zealand
+64 3-751 0005
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good51%
  • Average16%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (35 reviews)
“french toast” (7 reviews)
“beans” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7951, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The cabinet food and the menu lacked vegetarian option. Found all the items lodged with carbs. Came In the morning and the place was packed. Since it was raining and cold outside couldn't sit outside and the inside seating were full Had to stand the...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank harrylawson1234
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There was notjing worth our time to eat The staff were busy chatting and everyone had a poker face Just had a coffee and decided to go to the opposite cafe to have breakfast The prices are also quite high as compared to the rest...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank L1434WMpetrap
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Good service and a decent range of food. Was a good place to stop for lunch with easy parking and good facilities.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ozziemale1964
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Yummm! Butter Chicken Pie was delicious. its handmade, now that’s what I love! We also order chai latte, flat white and pork roll. Cute little spot for stopover, if you’re not doing the Fox Glacier. We were enroute to Hokitika. Wifi on coupons. But it...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank hellomissmay
Reviewed 2 October 2018

The coffee isn't good, at least for NZ standard. The food is not much to say, really. But it's good spot to chill and wait for your tour to arrive nonetheless. After all, what other choices do you have around here anyway.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Phongsan_M
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Came here with my family after reading there were vegan options. There was nothing worth our time to eat. It is very disappointing that you can't find anything vegan in a tourist town like this, in the year 2018!More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank brianeduffy74
Karen J, Manager at Hobnail Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Hello I am very sorry about your experience at the Hobnail. At this time of year it is very hard for us to guess how busy we are going to be,so we don’t have a wide variety available .Had you asked us to prepare something...More

Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Went to this cafe twice and girl remembered us - lovely food nice service and very welcome logburner - thank you would highly recommend

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Shirley C
Reviewed 20 July 2018

I took a party of very pleasant.5 to the Hobnail Cafe for Breakfast, Everyone had a nice meal. All the meals were very filling and in good portion sizes, All over a great visit, It can get busy but the morning we were there it...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Robert Charles I
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

Two words: lamb burger. Medium rare (as it should be), juicy, tender. On a soft bun with lettuce and tomato. Served with waffle-cut chips. Yum! After a morning on the glacier, you will have a big appetite; ease your hunger at Hobnail Cafe. You will...More

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank cjglynn
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Would have been 3 stars had I not had an incredible soy latte. The soy cappuccino was also Awesome, very good barista skills. The fries however looked time they were bought in the frozen section across the road...

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank DanFoxell
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Fox Glacier
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
30 reviews
.05 km away
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
79 reviews
.05 km away
The Westhaven
388 reviews
.12 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
210 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Last Kitchen
803 reviews
.10 km away
Bigfoot Bar and Restaurant
203 reviews
.13 km away
Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon
597 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Skydive Fox Glacier
238 reviews
.11 km away
Fox Glacier Hiking Trails
369 reviews
.01 km away
Minnehaha Walk
39 reviews
.24 km away
Fox Glacier Te Moeka o Tuawe Valley Walk
17 reviews
1.41 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hobnail Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$11
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Wifi, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7951, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  West Coast Region  >  Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)  >  Fox Glacier
  • Phone Number: +64 3-751 0005
Description
Our friendly and helpful staff will tempt you with the delicious breakfast or lunch menus. Our scrumptious homemade baking is made fresh on the premises everyday, and the delicatessen style food is perfect for a casual lunch, or food on the run. Meals can be made to order if you need to take away, or if you have a little more time to savour the flavour, enjoy in our cosy café either inside, or outside and lap up the sun. We are licensed too, so enjoy a beer or a glass of wine at the café with your meal. We also offer vegetarian meal options if you prefer. Groups are most welcome but advance notice is appreciated. Wifi is available with any purchase, so if you want to catch up on messages and emails or upload photos from your Fox Glacier experience, then this is the perfect opportunity. The Café is open from 7.30am daily.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing