We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hobnail Cafe

Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7951, New Zealand
+64 3-751 0005
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good52%
  • Average16%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (33 reviews)
“french toast” (7 reviews)
“beans” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7951, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Good service and a decent range of food. Was a good place to stop for lunch with easy parking and good facilities.

Thank John A
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Yummm! Butter Chicken Pie was delicious. its handmade, now that’s what I love! We also order chai latte, flat white and pork roll. Cute little spot for stopover, if you’re not doing the Fox Glacier. We were enroute to Hokitika. Wifi on coupons. But it...More

Thank hellomissmay
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The coffee isn't good, at least for NZ standard. The food is not much to say, really. But it's good spot to chill and wait for your tour to arrive nonetheless. After all, what other choices do you have around here anyway.

Thank Phongsan M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here with my family after reading there were vegan options. There was nothing worth our time to eat. It is very disappointing that you can't find anything vegan in a tourist town like this, in the year 2018!More

Thank brianeduffy74
Karen J, Manager at Hobnail Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello I am very sorry about your experience at the Hobnail. At this time of year it is very hard for us to guess how busy we are going to be,so we don’t have a wide variety available .Had you asked us to prepare something...More

Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Went to this cafe twice and girl remembered us - lovely food nice service and very welcome logburner - thank you would highly recommend

Thank Shirley C
Reviewed 20 July 2018

I took a party of very pleasant.5 to the Hobnail Cafe for Breakfast, Everyone had a nice meal. All the meals were very filling and in good portion sizes, All over a great visit, It can get busy but the morning we were there it...More

Thank Robert Charles I
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

Two words: lamb burger. Medium rare (as it should be), juicy, tender. On a soft bun with lettuce and tomato. Served with waffle-cut chips. Yum! After a morning on the glacier, you will have a big appetite; ease your hunger at Hobnail Cafe. You will...More

2  Thank CJ G
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Would have been 3 stars had I not had an incredible soy latte. The soy cappuccino was also Awesome, very good barista skills. The fries however looked time they were bought in the frozen section across the road...

Thank Dan F
Reviewed 11 May 2018

We had breakfast here before our Heli hike to the Fox Glacier. I ordered the French toast with berries and maple syrup which I didn't enjoy and my husband had bacon and scrambled eggs which he said was average. We then had lunch here after...More

Thank Benaroon
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Very nice coffee and good service really enjoyed. Cafe is located across helicopter people with whom we had enjoyable ride. Very good service

Thank aurel00
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Fox Glacier
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
29 reviews
.05 km away
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
79 reviews
.05 km away
The Westhaven
385 reviews
.12 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
206 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Last Kitchen
794 reviews
.10 km away
Bigfoot Bar and Restaurant
194 reviews
.13 km away
Cook Saddle Cafe & Saloon
586 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Skydive Fox Glacier
226 reviews
.11 km away
Fox Glacier Hiking Trails
367 reviews
.01 km away
Minnehaha Walk
39 reviews
.24 km away
Fox Glacier Te Moeka o Tuawe Valley Walk
17 reviews
1.41 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hobnail Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$11
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Wifi, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7951, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  West Coast Region  >  Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)  >  Fox Glacier
  • Phone Number: +64 3-751 0005
Description
Our friendly and helpful staff will tempt you with the delicious breakfast or lunch menus. Our scrumptious homemade baking is made fresh on the premises everyday, and the delicatessen style food is perfect for a casual lunch, or food on the run. Meals can be made to order if you need to take away, or if you have a little more time to savour the flavour, enjoy in our cosy café either inside, or outside and lap up the sun. We are licensed too, so enjoy a beer or a glass of wine at the café with your meal. We also offer vegetarian meal options if you prefer. Groups are most welcome but advance notice is appreciated. Wifi is available with any Hobnail Cafe purchase, so if you want to catch up on messages and emails or upload photos from your Fox Glacier experience, then this is the perfect opportunity. The Hobnail Café is open from 7.30am daily.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing