We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Neve Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Rd | State Highway 6, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
+64 3-751 0110
Today
08:00 - 20:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 20:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 286: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Mostly went here because the wifi in the Hobnail wasn't working for me. Ordered a pot of fries and it was gigantic! A meal in itself and piping hot. Also had the iced mocha which was really tasty. Only 100MB of Wifi so downloading things was out, but worked great for checking email, etc.

Helpful?
Thank Christina T
Deloraine, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped here for lunch and it was very good, best milkshake I've had in a long time! Very good size meals

Helpful?
Thank HLE-94
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Worst food we ever had! Cold Pasta and tiny portions for more than 20 dollars. The pizza was tasteless and oily, uneatable. After complaining (which I have never done before) the owner only shrugged his shoulders, no apology.

Helpful?
4 Thank SuFe2017
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Looked for a place for a light meal on our overnite stopover on way to greymouth from Queenstown. Finally decided to have a pizza at cafe neve, as it looked empty. I should have checked with trip advisor first as similar concerns to mine were raised. I counted at least five couples who sat down and viewed the menu, eventually... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank kevi1317
Francois G, Owner at Cafe Neve, responded to this review

Dear kevi1317 how are you! We are delighted at Cafe Neve, Fox Glacier, NZ, to host you, but unfortunately this time around we couldn't satisfy your expectations. I agree with you when you said you MUST get your advice from fellow trip advisers especially when your looking for 'negative' reasons not to go and dine in at a town 'cafe',... More 

Matamata, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

If you like a nice pizza loaded with yummy ingredients this is the place to go. Quick friendly service and good food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jodi H
Francois G, Owner at Cafe Neve, responded to this review

Hello Jodi H, we are delighted to here that your Pizza experience was above your expectations, at Cafe Neve, Fox Glacier, NZ, we strive to provide consistent pizzas, beverage and service, we are grateful to you for recognizing our efforts! Best regards More 

Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

$18 for the worst breakfast I've ever had. The caged bacon was so over cooked my dog that was outside didn't even care for it. No salmon, no greens, the bread was not even buttered. Had to go down the road to get another brackfast.

Helpful?
1 Thank BradWindust
Francois G, Owner at Cafe Neve, responded to this review

Hello Mr Windust, i appreciate that you have taken valuable time to review your experience while you and your (dog) dined here at Cafe Neve, Fox Glacier, NZ. I dont like hearing that your experience was as bad as you described but we expect that if you had a problem, atleast you give us the opportunity to fix it while... More 

Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2017

A rainy day in Fox - we arrived early afternoon,not much left on the shelf so we had cups of tea and caramel slices and BLT sandwich, nothing to complain about but nothing special either. Standard tourist fare.

Helpful?
1 Thank markhb123
Francois G, Owner at Cafe Neve, responded to this review

Hello Markhb123, thank you for choosing Cafe Neve to enjoy your afternoon with us, we appreciate that you have taken the time also to review your experience. We wish you the best! Kind regards More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
174 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2017

During my 3 days' stay stay in Fox Glacier, I went to this cafe twice for dinner. I loved the steak and my wife enjoyed the combo. The staff was friedly. In view of the good location of this cafe (near the corner of the main road and Cook Flat Road), you may need to wait a little while for... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas L
Francois G, Owner at Cafe Neve, responded to this review

Hello Thomas L, we appreciate that you have reviewed your experience while you dined here at Cafe Neve, Fox Glacier, NZ. We are delighted that you chose our cafe as your preferred place to dine, we are grateful! Best regards Francois More 

Sunny California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2017

We stopped at Cafe Neve to re-energize ourselves! We just hiked Frans Josef and were about to hike Fox, so we needed a bit of pick-me-up. We ordered two lattes and two hot chocolates. They were excellent! The location is right on the main street, so very easy to find.

Helpful?
2 Thank bullman99
Francois G, Owner at Cafe Neve, responded to this review

Hello bullman99, we appreciate your honest opinion of your experience when you chose Cafe Neve as your place to relax. As being innovative cafe, we try our best to 'live up to 'coffee connoisseurs expectations' we enjoy noticing that you have helped out others to make their decision. Best regards More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

I don't normally write reviews but felt obliged to share this. My wife and I were looking for a good breakfast spot and Neve Neve appeared from the outside to be suitable with a few customers already being served. We were hoping for a good standard cafe breakfast. What we got was cold mushrooms, reheated hash browns, inedible bacon and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank okeeffe12017
Francois G, Owner at Cafe Neve, responded to this review

hello okeeffe12017, we appreciate that you have exercised your right to complain about your experience here at Cafe Neve, unfortunately you have described your experience based on your interaction with unidentified staff member and you have been thoroughly in our kitchen to find what processess we have when cooking food, unfortunately on this occasion you must of had been lectured... More 

Travellers who viewed Cafe Neve also viewed

Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Cafe Neve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, Pizza, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Highchairs Available
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 20:00
Monday
08:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 20:00
Thursday
08:00 - 20:00
Friday
08:00 - 20:00
Saturday
08:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Rd | State Highway 6, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  West Coast Region  >  Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)  >  Fox Glacier
  • Phone Number: +64 3-751 0110

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Neve staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?