We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$14 - US$25
CUISINES
New Zealand
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
34
43
22
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
34
43
22
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private room the study timely manner plenty of parking homestay horses
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 20 October 2020

Possibly the worst meal we have had,the garlic pizza bread had no garlic,the scotch fillet was tough and cold,my wife had the sticky date pudding which had been heated in a microwave and was like leather,should have sent all back.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 4 June 2020

We had a friends wedding dinner in one of the rooms here. It was really good that there was plenty of parking. The place was nicely decorated with lots of horses on the wall. Most of the food was served in a timely manner and...it was generally tasty. The pasta serving my friend got was actually quite large. It was a nice venue for an event and the food was decent. I'm not sure of the costing though.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 9 March 2020

We had an enjoyable late lunch. Stopped in about 1:30 pm, place was fairly full and had no reservation , but shown nice table on the veranda for two right away. Think if we were earlier we would have needed reservations. Carol had the Calamari...entree and I a Lamb burger with a side of chips. A couple of non alcohol drinks, and we were ready for shopping again. At least one of us for shopping..... Very pleasant dining areas, inside and out, good food , great service and at a fair price. Try it.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 20 February 2020

It was a surprise birthday party we attended. The food was great, service was on point. Great area booked.

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 9 February 2020

Booked for high tea and then after waiting for approx 40 minutes staff came and said sorry we don’t have any tea at the moment as they are busy???? She then asked us what she should do. Totally gob smacked! To save the family event...we suggested we have something else to drink while we waited until we could have our high tea. Oh ok was the response. Eventually got our high tea which was pretty average. Honestly even the young male at the bar looked miserable so not sure what is going on with this place. Won’t go back and suggest management sort out basics like making sure you can cater to your bookings and maybe see if they are the reason staff are so miserable.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 24 January 2020 via mobile

Situated right in the heart of Highbrook commercial zone (near the crossing) the house itself is a beautiful reminder of day’s gone. The menu prices are very high for this location. It’s nreminderowhethis

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 4 December 2019 via mobile

Tastless pricey food they charge so much for a dish which wss so disappointing slow service not recommended better places in aklMore

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?2  
Mark N, Owner at Fisher House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2019

Hi Zureen, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that your experience at Fisher House was not what you anticipated. It sounds like we didn't meet our own high standards. Could you please let me know when you dined, and what exactly you ordered, so...More

Reviewed 30 November 2019 via mobile

Great friendly service - attentive without being intrusive. The food was beautiful and served promptly which was great as was on a lunch break.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 11 November 2019 via mobile

Great wee place hidden behind lush green hedges which is nice as the area is industrial. Could be amazing with a bit of a tidy up. Furniture outside was a bit tired looking. Staff were a bit inattentive! Ordered drinks and went to pay but...instead of giving us our drinks they just left them at the other end of the bar. One staff member said to the other after we ordered can you do this my shift has finished. Not sure why she just couldn’t serve us then go. We decided to go eat elsewhereMore

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 15 October 2019

We booked a family dinner for eight people to celebrate my father-in-laws 86th Birthday. I was able to drop him off right at the front door and then park. We had a private room (the study) which was an ideal size for our group and...being in a private room we were able to choose to have the music off. We were there on a Sunday and most of us ordered one of their Sunday roast specials, beef, pork, chicken or lamb. The food was perfectly cooked with a generous helping of meat and vegetables. They had a good selection of drinks at typical restaurant prices. The service was just right with lovely staff and we'll be back next year for the 87th birthdayMore

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Botany Motor Inn
41 reviews
2.90 km away
Academy At Botany Motor Inn
46 reviews
2.94 km away
540 on Great South Motel
108 reviews
2.99 km away
Mount Richmond Hotel
258 reviews
3.05 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Woolfy's
37 reviews
.75 km away
The Brook Bar & Kitchen
5 reviews
.27 km away
Namaste Indian Restaurant and Bar
30 reviews
.13 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Paradice Ice Skating
5 reviews
3.33 km away
Relaxing Journeys - Day Tours
35 reviews
3.07 km away
Botany Town Centre
8 reviews
3.48 km away
Extreme Indoor Karts
5 reviews
.81 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Gloria S
22 July 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from kentoni2018 | Reviewed this property |
Hats are not necessary for Fisher House as I'm aware
0
Votes
helenthegen
18 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Mark N | Property representative |
HI, We open at 6am on Monday mornings apart from Public Holidays when the opening time is 10am.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing