We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$2 - $30
CUISINES
New Zealand, Fast food, Caucasian
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
View all details
features, about
Reviews (17)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
9
3
1
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
9
3
1
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 29 October 2021 via mobile

Nice fish and chips. Crisp chips, medium sized battered snapper that was nice. Got a smile from the cook - always nice. Helpful youth on the till.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2021 via mobile

Was very disappointed with the experience of this shop. I kid you not - the “fish” was no bigger than 2 McNuggets. Rip off!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Explorer06663086274, Owner at The Old Store Takeaways, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2021

Hi Mike. I am so sorry you were given such small fish. I have already spoken to the staff regarding this as I saw the small pieces they had cut in my absence. They were told that they had to give 3 for every 1...More

Reviewed 25 February 2021 via mobile

Popped in for classic fish and chips. Paid $8.50 for a piece of gurnard.. tiniest piece of gurnard I’ve seen and dry. $3.50 for a “crumbed scallop” .. came out of the bottom of the chest freezer in front of us, with virtually empty non...sealed bag of clearly Chinese produce. Bland, horrid and definitely not crumbed. Took the second one, and 2 similar mussels, back.. to give the women their due they refunded us for the mussels and scallops. Chips were fine. Not good enough for a venue right on the marina .. maybe precovid overseas tourists kept this alive?More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2021

Popped in to get milkshake and meat pie. Food was good but service was absolutely terrible. Place was quiet - only 1 other person there, the woman serving really should not be involved in customer service. Surly;; I have never come across someone so disinterested...in giving a smile or even a greeting. Got the impression that I was a real nuisance. . After waiting some time (im talking over 10 minutes here) for one milkshake, said we needed to catch the ferry. She replied "well you can have it but it wont be mixed properly", and that was that. Really sad to see service such as this, when you have a great location and nice food. Always like to support the locals, but wont be returning here again.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2020 via mobile

While the front of the restaurant is quite appealing old style, the inside is very stark, wobbly tables and plastic chairs. There’s probably a couple public health violations going on, BUT the pies are way too good, I don’t think I have had better. They...make great coffee. The service is good. Seriously get your quick pie snack from here!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2019

When one is in business, busy is good. And the excellent quality of the fish and chips and meat pies of this establish are very, very good with the result that it is busy. However, a smile is free, as is politeness, and even given...that this was an off-day due to a morning power failure, the recovery by staff for guests in terms of hospitality just wasn't there. Having read about this in previous reviews, we know this isn't an isolated incident. Five stars for the food, 2 for the attitude.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2019 via mobile

Lovely burgers, woman who served us was very grumpy, may have just been having a bad day. No water views

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2019

I don't know what the lady has let herself in for as the pies are homemade and I doubt she will be able to keep up with the demand. I wish her a lot of luck because the pies were just too good.

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2019 via mobile

Fantastic fish burger and delicious chips cooked to perfection nice and crispy just the way they should be sadly often not the case these days. Highly recommend it

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2019 via mobile

Excellent food, friendly staff and really good value. A burger and chips is more than the average appetite can eat. Hot tea and coffee, pies, rolls and sandwiches and pre-made burgers also available.

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2019

We all had different burgers,my fussy son asked for a special order(no onions or salad but an egg)nothing was too much trouble.All burgers exceeded expectations,having generous fillings and the 'plain'burger I had had a homemade patty.1 serving of chips on top of the burgers was...too much for usMore

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2019

Grabbed a coffee whilst waiting for ferry. Good service and food selection will go back to try fish and chips next vist.

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2019 via mobile

Stopped to get take away fish and chips before getting the ferry. Service was slow (almost missed the ferry) and surly. Asked advice on the different types of fish on offer and was told I don’t know, I don’t like fish. Gave 3 stars as...the end product was not bad, just wish he could have displayed more of the Kiwi hospitality we have so loved on this trip.More

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Explorer06663086274, Owner at The Old Store Takeaways, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2019

I would like to apologize for the poor service you received. The staff member concerned is no longer with us for the very thing you complained of. In defense of "kiwis" he is not one and I believe has returned to his home country! Please...More

Reviewed 15 December 2018 via mobile

The service here is excellent. The fish is fresh and great tasting and if there are two of you one scoop of chips is plenty! Real friendly staff!

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2018

We are locals and have dined at The Old Store a number of times. We have never been disappointed. Unless you phone your order through beforehand, you may have to wait but, it is well worth the wait.

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Opua Motel
28 reviews
.54 km away
Bridgewater Bay Apartments
13 reviews
2.46 km away
Anchor House
16 reviews
2.97 km away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
269 reviews
3.27 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Marina Cafe Opua
111 reviews
.32 km away
Omata Estate Vineyard & Kitchen
240 reviews
1.95 km away
Opua Cruising Club Bistro
44 reviews
.36 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Great Escape
212 reviews
.41 km away
Paihia Harbour
1,229 reviews
4.25 km away
Opua Kauri Walk
7 reviews
.92 km away
Oneroa Bay
100 reviews
3.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Old Store Takeaways staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE OLD STORE TAKEAWAYS, Opua - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Store Takeaways

Yes, The Old Store Takeaways offers takeaway services.

The Old Store Takeaways is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4