We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$1 - US$19
CUISINES
New Zealand, Fast food, Caucasian
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
View all details
features, about
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
9
3
1
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
9
3
1
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 29 October 2021 via mobile

Nice fish and chips. Crisp chips, medium sized battered snapper that was nice. Got a smile from the cook - always nice. Helpful youth on the till.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 3 July 2021 via mobile

Was very disappointed with the experience of this shop. I kid you not - the “fish” was no bigger than 2 McNuggets. Rip off!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
Explorer06663086274, Owner at The Old Store Takeaways, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2021

Hi Mike. I am so sorry you were given such small fish. I have already spoken to the staff regarding this as I saw the small pieces they had cut in my absence. They were told that they had to give 3 for every 1...More

Reviewed 25 February 2021 via mobile

Popped in for classic fish and chips. Paid $8.50 for a piece of gurnard.. tiniest piece of gurnard I’ve seen and dry. $3.50 for a “crumbed scallop” .. came out of the bottom of the chest freezer in front of us, with virtually empty non...sealed bag of clearly Chinese produce. Bland, horrid and definitely not crumbed. Took the second one, and 2 similar mussels, back.. to give the women their due they refunded us for the mussels and scallops. Chips were fine. Not good enough for a venue right on the marina .. maybe precovid overseas tourists kept this alive?More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 22 February 2021

Popped in to get milkshake and meat pie. Food was good but service was absolutely terrible. Place was quiet - only 1 other person there, the woman serving really should not be involved in customer service. Surly;; I have never come across someone so disinterested...in giving a smile or even a greeting. Got the impression that I was a real nuisance. . After waiting some time (im talking over 10 minutes here) for one milkshake, said we needed to catch the ferry. She replied "well you can have it but it wont be mixed properly", and that was that. Really sad to see service such as this, when you have a great location and nice food. Always like to support the locals, but wont be returning here again.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 7 January 2020 via mobile

While the front of the restaurant is quite appealing old style, the inside is very stark, wobbly tables and plastic chairs. There’s probably a couple public health violations going on, BUT the pies are way too good, I don’t think I have had better. They...make great coffee. The service is good. Seriously get your quick pie snack from here!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 30 December 2019

When one is in business, busy is good. And the excellent quality of the fish and chips and meat pies of this establish are very, very good with the result that it is busy. However, a smile is free, as is politeness, and even given...that this was an off-day due to a morning power failure, the recovery by staff for guests in terms of hospitality just wasn't there. Having read about this in previous reviews, we know this isn't an isolated incident. Five stars for the food, 2 for the attitude.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 14 November 2019 via mobile

Lovely burgers, woman who served us was very grumpy, may have just been having a bad day. No water views

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 8 August 2019

I don't know what the lady has let herself in for as the pies are homemade and I doubt she will be able to keep up with the demand. I wish her a lot of luck because the pies were just too good.

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 24 July 2019 via mobile

Fantastic fish burger and delicious chips cooked to perfection nice and crispy just the way they should be sadly often not the case these days. Highly recommend it

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 21 April 2019 via mobile

Excellent food, friendly staff and really good value. A burger and chips is more than the average appetite can eat. Hot tea and coffee, pies, rolls and sandwiches and pre-made burgers also available.

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Opua Motel
28 reviews
.54 km away
Bridgewater Bay Apartments
13 reviews
2.46 km away
Anchor House
16 reviews
2.97 km away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
236 reviews
3.27 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Marina Cafe Opua
99 reviews
.32 km away
Opua Cruising Club Bistro
40 reviews
.36 km away
Omata Estate Vineyard
226 reviews
1.95 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Great Escape
198 reviews
.41 km away
Mullarkey Tours
82 reviews
.48 km away
Ataahua Luxury Sailing
23 reviews
.44 km away
Twin Coast Cycle Transport and Bike Hire
19 reviews
.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Old Store Takeaways staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Store Takeaways

Yes, The Old Store Takeaways offers takeaway services.

The Old Store Takeaways is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4