We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$10 - $45
CUISINES
New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (357)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
157
116
41
12
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
157
116
41
12
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza seafood risotto surf and turf salad great meal takeaway yum
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 March 2024 via mobile

The service was excellent but have to give it 3 stars because of the decor and some of the food. I had the beef rib, it was delicious but I chose this dish because it said it had mash potatoes. All the other dishes said...garlic mash. Unfortunately mine was also garlic mash but this was not stated on the menu. The coleslaw is their own recipe but it wasn’t to my liking, I’m not sure what the green bits were or what was added to it but it just didn’t taste right. My husband had the surf and turf, the thick cut chips were underneath the steak and then the prawns were on top. Then a load of gravy was poured over the top making the chips soggy and everything taste of gravy. You may wish to consider putting the gravy in a side pourer and the chips separate. The chairs have seen better days and the decor lacked imagination. The staff were very knowledgeable about the wines and they were smilie and friendly.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2024

A really great experience the food was good and the service excellent. The food was fresh and wholesome not fussy and pretentious, obviously well known locally.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2024 via mobile

The initial impression of the furniture and decor is disappointing, but the food and service more than make up for it. A lovely meal.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2024

An evening out with a big group of friends, what a lovely meal! Delicious, fresh crisp food, lovely flavours, generous helpings, very impressed. A really good variety of offerings both for pizzas, mains and entrees. Plenty on offer for vegans and also gluten free customers,...will certainly make a point of booking again soon.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 January 2024 via mobile

Yummy pizzas. Base was crisp and fillings were plentiful. Staff were nice and also cute little quirky premises. Definitely recommended

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2023

Great spot, good service, yummy food! Recomment the halloumi fritters and the boysenberry and lemon compote!

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2023 via mobile

I've been to the Black Olive twice. The first time the food was mediocre and wasn't worth coming back for but I went again, just last night, and very much enjoyed my large 'Kiwi' pizza. The service was very quick and wait staff where very...nice and helpful. We sat at a table by the window which would have been very hot if the blinds had not been down to block the sun. I also enjoyed the 'Fries' which were cooked with a lovely lemon (I think) dressing. The Ice-Cream Sundae was, as always, superb! Thank you to The Black Olive and wait staff for such an amazing time!More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 October 2023

Great service amazing food even our kids/teenager loved it so big wins😁.. Mihi nui ki nga ringawera🤗

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2023

What a disappointment! We have been several times before and was always good, but last night - not so much! Firstly we were seated in the thoroughfare, near the takeaway counter, so people waiting were watching us eat. Some of the dips were dried out...or tasteless (we could only work out the tomato one, not a clue on the others) Tough Wagyu short ribs with lots of gristle and flobby bits, a slaw that looked (and tasted like) the old remnants of the salad drawer, lumpy mashed potato. Then getting a surcharge (without a warning) for using plastic to pay. Poor waitressing (made to feel rushed) On a plus note the dogs enjoyed the $36 main course. I took it home as I thought someone might as well enjoy it. No apology when we complained. Shall not go back!More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeminae Clasby, Owner at The Black Olive, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2023

Hi Kath. Thank you for your roasting 😂 Firstly, where do you suggest we sit people in a busy restaurant that is not a thoroughfare? You dined early, when the restaurant was practically empty… If it was that bad you could have simply asked and...More

Reviewed 25 March 2023

A popular restaurant on main road into kerikeri. It is sensible to book ahead, although we were accommodated both evenings we were here without any delay. We found the staff very friendly, service was efficient and the food very good and affordable. We also liked...that there was a car park. We spotted the restaurant is currently up for sale so hopefully standards will remain high with new owners.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2023

Great pizza, usually order as takeaway and pick up on the way home. Love the vegetarian options. Parking can be a bit tricky when it's busy

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2023

On our way back to the USA from Tasmania, we stopped off in the Bay of Islands on the North Island of New Zealand. In the town of Kerikeri, we discovered this superb restaurant. Our server Cora was delightful and knowledgable. My buddy Dave was...immediately locked into their Kiwi Pizza, which he enjoyed along with a New Zealand Pilsener. On Cora's recommendation, I went with their slow cooked lamb shank paired with a glass of Aussie Di Bortoli Shiraz. I have had lamb shank all over the world, but this was by far the most delicious I have ever tasted. And the silky, ripe red fruits of the Shiraz elevated the meal to perfection. Props to Cora and the head chef, Billy, for creating a truly memorable meal at a very reasonable price.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2022

We had a booking for four adults. Food was excellent and service of a high quality and very friendly.

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2022

I was with 2 other people, we had the rolled chicken x 2 and my daughter had a pizza, the food was amazing could not fault it, so tasty and a little pricey but it is worth it when you get the high-end food delivered

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2022 via mobile

Went to this restaurant for evening meal with parents. Decided to go here as they claim to be good and a local favourite. Pricing is high and bases it’s self on pizza and pasta dishes which is probably why my main wasn’t so impressive. I...ordered the Surf and Turf and at $48 had high hopes. Initial it took time to be able to order our food component as server said kitchen wasn’t taking orders as they were too busy ?? Only 5 tables occupied. The wine list is good and has many local wines available at market pricing. When the meals arrived we were pleasantly surprised at portions and ready to get into my steak but my cutlery hadn’t been changed and needed to ask for steak knife. Steak fine cooked rare . Prawns were over cooked but edible. My chunky fries were a little under coat and salad was really a garnish. The other meals were ok and pizza was better than the take away ones according to parents. This we mentioned only to get a on going rebuttal from server. Look over all it was an ok meal but for me I have had better for the price range. So give it a go if you want a pizza or pasta but be prepared to pay. Average.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Kerigold Chalets
90 reviews
.18 km away
Kerikeri Homestead Motel & Apartments
347 reviews
.46 km away
Kerikeri Court Motel
68 reviews
.62 km away
Woodlands Motel & Conference Venue
191 reviews
.99 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Madly Indian
468 reviews
.36 km away
Cafe Jerusalem
424 reviews
.53 km away
Curry King Indian And Thai Cuisine
355 reviews
.53 km away
The Village Cafe
162 reviews
.53 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St James Anglican Church
43 reviews
.64 km away
Bay of Islands Farmers Market
40 reviews
.34 km away
KeriKeri New Zealand
14 reviews
.45 km away
The Merchants of Kerikeri
7 reviews
.79 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mayvis8
I also dined at this restaurant last night and came here to post a glowing review for the staff and meals we all received last night. So I beg to differ with Ms Hannam21 and find this review quite disturbing and dillusional. I was dining near these customers who were all clearly drinking alcoholic beverages. We were dining at a large table and a member of our group even approached the owners out of concern should they need our support in dealing with you and your group. You spoke rudely, you demanded, you did not listen clearly to what the staff were informing you and continued to harass all staff when they tried to clarify things. I could see the wrist bands on your hands indicating you had all been to the Paihia food and wine festival which indicates, as well as your behaviour that you had previously consumed alcohol before coming out to this restaurant. There was also one member of your group who was persistently up and down at the bar harassing the staff. And young lady for someone who does not post reviews I have just read the many you have left here and they are ALL complaints for other places...... so perhaps you just dine at home in the future. Thank you Black Olive for an awesome evening...we will be back!!!!
25 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from jeminae | Property representative |
Thank you so much for your feed back. I am sorry you were subjected to the unpleasant behaviour from these customers. The festivals in Northland are great but unfortunately we then have to deal with the odd unsavoury... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE BLACK OLIVE, Kerikeri - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Black Olive

Yes, The Black Olive offers takeaway services.

The Black Olive is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4