We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Luna Estate

133 Puruatanga Road | Luna Estate, Martinborough 5784, New Zealand
+64 6-306 9360
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good24%
  • Average6%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (13 reviews)
“baked brie” (4 reviews)
“dumplings” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
133 Puruatanga Road | Luna Estate, Martinborough 5784, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a lovely time at Luna Estate. Beautiful location, friendly staff and nice wine. Time your visit for lunch as the food is fantastic, recommend the dumplings.

Thank BruceG1517
MelanieP2838, General Manager at Luna Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Bruce, lovely to have you come and visit. You'll have to come back again to check out the new moongarden when it's finished.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Luna for lunch last weekend with three toddlers. We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome by not only the staff but other diners as well! The food is fabulous and we could have stayed all afternoon. Can't recommend it highly...More

Thank 713judyp
MelanieP2838, General Manager at Luna Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for the lovely comment, it was a pleasure to have you all come to visit. We are fortunate to have so many wonderful customers and it's great to hear you were made to feel so welcome. We look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 16 September 2018

After a rocky start to the day forgetting phone and camera Luna's staff put the birthday back on track with excellent service, food and wine. A huge thank you to all especially Beck for the little things you did. To anyone visiting Martinborough this should...More

Thank vivienneathome
MelanieP2838, General Manager at Luna Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Hi Vivianne, thanks for your wonderful review! Great to hear you had a lovely time and Bec looked after you so well. See you again soon.

Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Very nice location, very nice people, very nice wines and good food. You get a real value for your money. And a lovely experience.

Thank HansRudolfH3
MelanieP2838, General Manager at Luna Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the lovely review Hans

Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

We visited Luna Estate today and it was just beautiful. The entire experience from our wine tasting to lunch was lovely. The veggie dumplings are out of this world! The ladies that looked after us were fantastic. Wish we could’ve stayed longer. If we’re back...More

Thank Cassandra T
MelanieP2838, General Manager at Luna Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We think the combination of wine and dumplings is pretty good too! Lovely review thanks and hopefully you can come back and see us soon.

Reviewed 9 August 2018

Luna has its visitor centre in a delightful corner of the property with natural contour and stands of trees. The reception and restaurant are bright contemporary buildings. We were able to taste as many of their wines as we liked for just $5. The wines...More

Thank John_1000010
MelanieP2838, General Manager at Luna Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi John, thanks for your great feedback. We are very lucky to be able to share our beautiful surroundings and wines with our guests. We'll take on board your comment about the bench seating and make sure our restaurant is toasty and warm on cold...More

Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

What a classy place. Fantastic scenery, fantastic decor. Thought of everything for the comfort of their guests. Have a wine tasting - great value for money and then.....the surprise stay for a bit of lunch with an Asian flavour - dumplings, spicy chicken, cheese plate,...More

1  Thank TheReefBoy
Melanie P, General Manager at Luna Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Thank you! It was a pleasure to have you spend time with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Nice setting but we waited an unreasonable time for our food to turn up. Yummy Asian food but not worth the wait. Dumplings would probably be pre made and frozen and all they would need to do is chuck them in a steamer. It wasn’t...More

Thank Kate A
Melanie P, General Manager at Luna Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Hi Kate, I am sorry to hear of your experience at Luna over the weekend. We take pride in our usually excellent customer service and I will be speaking to the team to find out what went wrong. I would welcome the opportunity to talk...More

Reviewed 29 July 2018

we cannot deny that the place is nicely designed but the service is horrible. We were there yesterday along with a group of French people with around 10 people. We tried the wine tasting with one of the staff, while a second staff member was...More

Thank Fabricio_Chicca
Melanie P, General Manager at Luna Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Hi Fabricio, we are sorry to hear of your experience. We take customer service very seriously and I have spoken with our team. Our staff incorrectly assumed you were part of the larger group and I apologise you were overlooked. We appreciate this was not...More

Reviewed 13 June 2018

Our first visit, started with a tasting of their excellent wines (we purchased a mixed half dozen) followed by a perfect light lunch of Japanese style fried dumplings washed down by one of their pinots all for a very reasonable price. No expenses has been...More

Thank Ann S
Melanie P, General Manager at Luna Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Hi Ann, thanks for the wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and our new Asian inspired menu.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Martinborough
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
129 reviews
1.56 km away
The Martinborough Hotel
281 reviews
1.84 km away
Petit Hotel
23 reviews
1.86 km away
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
206 reviews
2.28 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tirohana Estate
616 reviews
.98 km away
Poppies Martinborough
386 reviews
.43 km away
Pinocchio
366 reviews
1.86 km away
In The Neighbourhood Coffee House & Roastery
122 reviews
1.75 km away
Nearby Attractions
Poppies Martinborough
147 reviews
.44 km away
Ata Rangi Martinborough
59 reviews
1.18 km away
Colombo Martinborough
24 reviews
.68 km away
Schubert Wines
67 reviews
1.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Luna Estate staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 133 Puruatanga Road | Luna Estate, Martinborough 5784, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wairarapa  >  Martinborough
  • Phone Number: +64 6-306 9360
  • E-mail
Description
Luna Estate winery offers a cellar door where you can sample the range of wines we produce from our two Martinborough vineyard blocks. Our restaurant (reopened in June 2018) focuses on dumplings and other Asian inspired dishes, providing the perfect compliment to our range of elegant wines. We have indoor seating for 20 and a large outdoor terrace. We open 7 days a week, no bookings taken.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing