We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Italian, Seafood, Fusion, Pizza, Mediterranean, European, Central European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (383)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
44
17
11
1
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
44
17
11
1
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza fresh seafood salad excellent food location is great glass of wine lake waiters view boat classy chf
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 14 February 2024 via mobile

Superb view to Lake Thun, even from the inside (we went in February), great food and drinks selection, extensive menu options for children, dogs welcome (a water bowl for each), very friendly service.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vitor Silva, General Manager at Riviera by Elio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2024

We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our establishment, K2691PGtomm! We're especially glad that you appreciated the view of Lake Thun, our extensive menu, and our welcoming atmosphere for both children and dogs. We pride ourselves on our friendly service, so it’s...More

Reviewed 1 November 2023

dinner with friend he had tortellini with spinach gorgonzola y had pizza pizza was sure pretty decent but in these area i preffer the pizza at lido di elio and pizzaria campione rossli in Gwatt i woud say the doug is best at riviera and...lido put the topings at other place.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2023

Should have paid attention to many of the other reviews but this restaurant is terrible. Sub-par food, servers have little idea of the menu, service generally awful and a very rude host. If you have the choice to visit this restaurant or miss a meal,...take the miss option.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2023

I thought that the food was very good! We went back twice! The view is lovely, the wait staff was fine and it is within walking distance to the Eden Spiez hotel. A good choice for dinner-

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2023 via mobile

Staying at the hotel & had our first evening meal here. We were greeted by a lovely gentlemen, who made us feel very welcome. Menu distinctly Italian & it smelt amazing when we were seated as there is a traditional pizza oven. Had the lasagne...(best ever tasted) & pizza (was lovely) followed by tiramisu & chocolate souffle pudding (both yummy) Was the cheapest meal we've had so far in Switzerland & definitely worth the money. Location is right on the lake side - tables indoors & also on the terrace. As thunderstorms had recently occurred we were advised to sit indoors.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?6  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2023 via mobile

Receptionist was very rude person. There were many empty tables but he said without reservation we cannot seat. When we were leaving he asked if we eat then he can allow us to seat those empty tables.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2023

Nice location however placed in an area away from other tables. Didn’t bring drinks menu and food took a long time to come. Salmon pasta had very little salmon in it, was also brought out to another customer and clearly returned to us 10 minutes...later. Lasagne was burnt, eaten around as it was our first meal after hiking and we were very hungry and could not wait to return as we had a train to catch. Very disappointing. Also took a very long time to bring the bill (when we tried to pay we were told we had to wait for a colleague) - evidently not enough staffMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vitor Silva, Diretor-Geral at Riviera by Elio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2023

Good evening I wish I could offer my sincere apologies , but we are not a fast food restaurant and take time to make food !!!! When you don't know the difference between burnt or au gratin in a wood oven .... I wish you...More

Reviewed 8 July 2023

Absolutely shameful staff , dont want to attend to their customers, they think they are giving food for free. I went with my kids thinking of having a good time, we sat there for 20mins no one even came to take the order. Then while...calling the steward, he threw an attitude that he’s doing a favour although the restaurant was all vacant except 7-8 people sitting. Even the old man standing on the entrance was so rude these people think that Indians cannot spend money, they should be knowing that most of the economy of their country is run by the people from India spending here. Further I would recommend not to visit this place.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vitor Silva, Diretor-Geral at Riviera by Elio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2023

Good evening Do you know what respect means when you are in a country on holiday ?..... And all I have to say and Switzerland is not ruled by your country !!! Pathetic is when you think you are rich and can boss people around...More

Reviewed 31 May 2023

Half of the order gets forgotten and it’s a challenge to get the servers attention because they are too busy. And instead of an appology, guests get blamed for the mistakes THEY make. Their excuse is „we were busy. Mistakes happen“. Unfortunately, not just once,...but every time. I‘m definitely not going again!More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2023 via mobile

Usually you get a view or excellent food. It’s rare to get both but this is a very authentic Italian restaurant with attentive service. We had the minestrone soup homemade and delicious followed by the cold seafood salad with lemon dressing. You couldn’t get any...fresher. For main we split a fish I never had before called sea breen which was very mild and flavorful. Grilled veggies and risotto on the side. If I had one complaint It’s we shared all 3 items with one glass of wine and it was just under 100 Swiss franks. Quite pricey but when service and quality is on point I looked past the price. Go and enjoyMore

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2023

We came to rstaurant with a group of friends by chance because we missed the boat to Interlaken. The staff was nice and provide us tables eventhough we did not make reservation prior. The place is cozy and classy with nice view of the lake....We ordered some dishes - Pizza , salad, soup because we were still not hungry. We asked for spare dishes in order to share Pizza which was quite large but we were charged 3 CHF for each dish. It was understandable not not acceptable for us. Anyway, the food taste good and we enjoy the view.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2022 via mobile

We enjoyed a beautiful meal the the Riviera. They were very knowledgable and helpful when it came to providing gluten free options.

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 August 2022

Location is great, near the lake. Nice for lunch. Bruschetta was very average. Bread needed to be toasted, not very good flavours. Husband ordered seafood pizza which was very good and well covered with fresh seafood. My carbonara was very heavy and gluey, they used...a smoked lardon which I found too much. Servers were very rushed, but were helpful. Wine list had a reasonable selection.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2022

I went their with my friends last Saturday and here are the series of events. We went inside restaurant to ask if there are some spots available near the lake side. This staff member got furious and asked us to wait outside. We did wait...outside and after sometime I requested him only once to look for a spot near the lake and he replied "Can't you understand English, there is no spot near the lake, leave this place and BYE!" It was very humiliating, I invited my friends to have a lunch there. It really spoiled our holidays and It was embarrassing for us. I had this kind of rude and racists behaviour for the first time in Switzerland after living here so long. IF YOU DO NOT WANT YOUR HOLIDAYS TO BE SPOILED, NEVER VISIT THIS RESTAURANT!!!More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vitor S, Diretor-Geral at Riviera by Elio, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2022

Good morning Sir When a customer comes to a restaurant without a reservation and INSISTS on having a table next to the lake, when they are told that there are no free tables and they make us waste our working time !!! It wasn't only...More

Reviewed 31 May 2022 via mobile

Outstanding dinner….we’re there twice within a week ….excellent food….nice waiters…..lakeside tables on terrace ….perfect setting

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Seegarten-Marina
169 reviews
.20 km away
Belvedere Strandhotel
364 reviews
.37 km away
Hotel Eden Spiez
730 reviews
.58 km away
La Belle Vue Boutique Hotel & Cafe
87 reviews
.74 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cafe & Bistrot la belle vue
68 reviews
.74 km away
Mia Osteria & Pizzeria
44 reviews
1.15 km away
Restaurant Krone
105 reviews
.77 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Schloss Spiez
102 reviews
.18 km away
Artilleriewerk Faulensee
16 reviews
1.74 km away
Wakehouse Gunten
7 reviews
2.89 km away
Panoramabrucke Sigriswil
173 reviews
3.57 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Riviera by Elio staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

RIVIERA BY ELIO, Spiez - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Riviera by Elio

Yes, Riviera offers takeaway services.

Riviera is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4