We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fairway Hotel and Restaurant

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 29/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 29/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$7 - US$27
CUISINES
Bar, British, Scottish
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
228
79
31
31
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
228
79
31
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken balmoral steak bruschetta function suite birthday meal great place to eat lovely meal food was fantastic first class keep up the good work fairways christmas west lothian
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

I visit here every Friday as a treat for myself and my 2 daughters, my youngest daughter loves it here and really enjoys the food. I have had the steak pie here twice and it’s been cooked to perfection. I have had the blaggis here...as a starter with the wee side of peppercorn sauce and it tastes great. We were here last Friday and me and my oldest daughter shared the pate and mozzarella sticks as our starters and we could not fault them. Then I had steak balmoral and it was cooked to perfection for me ( fussy when it comes to steak) and there was a perfect amount of peppercorn sauce on it veg and pots were great too, my oldest daughter had Cajun chicken with peppercorn sauce and she really enjoyed it. My youngest had sausage, chips and beans and loved it. I can not fault the fairway on anything. Staff are very friendly and polite, the go above and beyond to make sure your visit is comfortable, and that you are happy, always check on you to make sure everything is ok. I will be back as myself and my daughters love our wee treat, keep up the hard work all staff at the fairway. Will see you same time on Friday 😁😁😁More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 6 days ago

Startes were passable bruschetta with grilled cheese put me off ….it was like roasted cheese.Mushrooms with pate 2 mushrooms on the plate and soaked in grease we had our starters but NO cutlery ..We ordered fish and chips and a steak …the chips were meant...to be rustic but no potato was found just full of grease.The fish was bland .The mushrooms and onion rings soaked in grease .very disappointing and we won’t be back.Very sad for Bathgate and not cheap at £41 !!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Disappointed the chicken was dry, the tables were cramped in no room to get in or out without disturbing the table behind, the staff had no idea what was going on twice asked for drinks at the table, twice asked what we would like to...order.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went with friends and was very disappointed booked a table had to ask again for the table I had booked. Our hot starter was cold server took it back and the second hot starter came out cold also. Had the fish as it is normally...tasty but was disappointed with it no taste. Then we waited a long time before they cleared the table. The waiting staff were not professional one member of staff her hair was all over the place one had a pair of trousers on that needed an iron over them. My chair was so close to the other table every member of staff banged into me. Not anly did they drown my drink in mixer because we did not won't a dessert the waitress said do you just won't your bill then we said no can we have another drink and asked not to over fill with mixer she did not listen. Very disappointedMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for several nights on our way to a train tour of the highlands and also stopped on the way back. It was very kindly agreed that we could leave our car in the hotel car park which worked well. Our room was...warm and comfortable, it is not a boutique Hotel but a friendly family place. Breakfast offered a good choice and was freshly prepared. We were so impressed we chose to eat here every evening .Food was tasty and the portions generous. Everything we chose from the menu was very good. The owner and all the staff were very friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed the time we spent at the Fairway Hotel. Thanks you all.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here over the years and loved however the quality of food was not great. Meat was chewy, ice cream was cheap. Dads food was inedible covered in too much sauce (serve in a jug and let people put on to suit their own palate)....Decor felt tired.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 26 August 2021 via mobile

Visited here a few times over the years always at evening time & generally been impressed with the food. However my wife and I decided to go out for lunch today very disappointed... the tempura chicken was nice for starter, we both ordered the Balmoral...Chicken with the peppercorn sauce. Unfortunately it was not peppercorn sauce but black pepper sauce no peppercorn insight. This making our meal inedible, as you would think the chef had put a whole pot of pepper in the sauce it was horrible, mouth and lips burning, we both tried to scrape as much of the sauce as we could off the meal but to no avail, After 5 mins we gave up and left over half our lunch. We told the waitress what was up and she said she would tell the chef about our monstrosity of a meal by the time we finished our drinks we still had no feedback... Much better places in West Lothian to have lunch... AVOIDMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 1 August 2021 via mobile

My friend and I regularly eat here and believed it had the best food In Bathgate until today. We booked for 1pm were offered a seat at entrance or one next to walkway we took the one at walkway big mistake there was a wedding...on and between guests and staff running behind me constantly knocking my back (although restaurant was not busy while we were there ), the staff could see I was being knocked constantly but did not offer to move me. My friends steak pie came out without pastry and literally dumped on plate, my chicken Balmoral was the same and swimming in pepper sauce , presentation was very poor. The chicken was very hard and chewy and there was little steak in steak pie. The chicken tempura for starter was different than normal and not as tasty also presentation poor. When the waitress took our dishes and asked how things were I told her not up to usual standard she asked what was wrong I told her and she said she would pass on. My friend and I do not get out often so this doubled the disappointment for us.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?3  
Alan o, Owner at The Fairway Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2021

Hi Debi, I am very sorry to hear about your experience on Saturday afternoon. This is certainly not the standards we try to achieve here at the Fairway. While it was very busy on Saturday with our first wedding of the year I would like...More

Reviewed 24 July 2021

We initially booked last year to stay as we were attending a wedding close by, due to covid the wedding was rearranged and so was our booking. Due to some miscommunication/error when we arrived our rooms had been doubled booked. Within 15 mins the staff...had arranged an alternative for the night and couldn't apologise enough. Although not ideal, it wasn't too much of a issue as we were only 5 mins away. We came back the following day for our second night. Can't fault the staff, all the staff we came in contact with were very friendly couldn't do enough to help, made you feel very welcome. We had breakfast and again couldn't fault. The rooms were basic and clean with ensuite facitiles. Met our needs. My only critism would be the beds some new mattresses wouldn't go a miss. Wouldn't put us of coming back thou!More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 10 July 2021

Been here time and time again for many occasions. Always a great experience, fantastic value and service!

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Kaim Park Hotel
229 reviews
1.11 km away
Cairn Hotel
334 reviews
1.61 km away
Premier Inn Livingston (Bathgate) Hotel
1,044 reviews
2.26 km away
Best Western Glasgow Livingsto
423 reviews
4.10 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Cottage Restaurant
183 reviews
.35 km away
Balbairdie Restaurant
123 reviews
.28 km away
The Coffee Club
42 reviews
.30 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Bathgate Cinema
78 reviews
.35 km away
Reconnect Regal Theatre
49 reviews
.50 km away
DreadnoughtRock
27 reviews
.18 km away
Yolo Bar
25 reviews
.42 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Shell A
13 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from louisemZ100SY | Reviewed this property |
Yes it’s there
0
Votes
Sandy C
12 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from eyesblue | Reviewed this property |
No there is no need to book in advance, can be busy at the weekends, but have always managed to get a seat
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Fairway Hotel and Restaurant

Yes, The Fairway Hotel and Restaurant offers takeaway services.

Yes, The Fairway Hotel and Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Fairway Hotel and Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4