We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Pub, Beer restaurants
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
393
128
61
38
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
393
128
61
38
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken kiev steak cheese board bread sunday roast scallops ice cream pudding gastro pub vine tree eton mess log fire fabulous food warm welcome marquee countryside landlord
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 12 June 2022 via mobile

Excellent service. Despite not having booked in advance - (having booked a different place but didn’t have food there - disappointed and a different story!) we had a lovely table in the garden. Service was excellent, very attentive to our needs. Food - traditional roast...(beef and pork) was really tasty and plentiful. Beautiful setting - glad to have had a bed experience before so we were about to have our dinner there. Highly recommend!!!More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 May 2022

Had the soup of the day--a very watered down potato and leek. My vegee burger was tasty but was luke warm. Husband's mushroom pasta was very hot and tasty. Seemed like bread was several days old and stale. Friendly service. It is an out of...the way pub. Indoor service only.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 April 2022

I had the serloin steak and husband had smoked haddock: both of our meals were cooked to perfection, the blue cheese sauce was particularly yummy and plentiful. We went on a Friday evening and it was quiet, we needn't have booked, but the atmosphere was...still lovely and friendly. We normally visit on a Sunday for roast, when it is usually packed, and have never been disappointed.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 April 2022

I visited here with 14 friends for our monthly U3A lunch. We were recieved very warmly and professionally by the staff who were very accomodating, attentive and helpful. The food came out all together, as fast as the staff could bring it and was piping...hot and well presented. I had the Smoked Haddock, Bubble & Squeak and egg in a sea of hollandaise sauce which was very tasty, followed by the Vine Tree Eton Mess which was excellent. A meringue nest plentifully topped with fresh strawberries and fresh whipped double cream (not squirty cream out of a can). I think most enjoyed their meals except one who wasn't impressed with her battered fish & chips. The pub itself is a bit out of the way but I think that adds to it's charm as it is in a very quiet country setting away from all the hussle & bussle. This idyllic pub is well worth a visit.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 April 2022

This is not a seafood, Asian, nor Nepalese restaurant, very disappointed as menu full of stodgy fat foods or meat, only vegetarian dish was risotto. Had to have smoked salmon starter as a main...over £15, for a bit of lettuce and salmon that I could...have bought in lidl for less than £5!!! Definitely not recommended for a healthy eater...More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 April 2022

Came for a Sunday lunch with a group of friends. Excellent service and amazing roast beef. 10/10 would recommend.

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 April 2022 via mobile

Really enjoyed the food and atmosphere at this county pub , We had the steak night special. Sirlion and ribeye for an unbelievable good price, the steaks were cooked perfectly and the quality of meat was amazing, I would recommend this pub, we will definitely...return.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 March 2022

I went to the Vine Tree for a few quiet drinks with some friends. Unfortunately this was ruined by the drunk chef celebrating with his friends, including turning the music up to unacceptable levels and trying to engage with us even though we were clearly...uncomfortable with this and not interested. We sent feedback to the pub on our experience and the response we got was “There was a couple of people celebrating within the pub last night which I can only apologise about but none the less, it's still a pub and we are here to accommodate everyone.” Clearly terrible customer service if you can’t even pull your staff in line and can justify their unacceptable behaviour. My friends and I will never set foot in this place again (and we are local).More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 February 2022

We were a large group of 11 and couldn't have been looked after better - the staff were really attentive. It was hard to choose from a fantastic choice on the menu. All our food came at the same time, hot and delicious. We were...all very impressed. Ideal for our family get together.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 31 January 2022 via mobile

Ok I wish to start with the positives, as this place has always been a special place to visit for me. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the place was lovely and warm on a cold night , and the food was above average. However...there were a few things that let the night down, and could do with tweaking. The vine tree has always been a step up from from the norm, with a more select menu, normally done well, and the experience has alway in the past made for a special night. This time however I left a little disappointed. From seating at the table the first things we noticed were the napkins were now coarse tea towels of the quality you would find in Ikea. Clean but not conditioned, a little “too rustic” for a food that commands the prices charged. The steak arrived , and appeared lovely , however we were waiting for a minute for a side of vegetables as what was on the plate didn’t suggest we would finish it anywhere near full. They didn’t arrive and we were still hungry after eating the meal. I had the t-bone, which was very tasty and cooked perfectly , but not the best quality of meet I’ve had , my partner had the braised beef with mash, again cooked lovely and tender. However we were both hungry. At the prices charged that’s not what I expect from a main. Also the peppercorn sauce was charged at an addition £3 for what was already a £22.50 meal, that doesn’t sit well with me. Then the cost of a weak lager shandy as I was driving was £4.75 , this in itself is pretty disgusting considering the Average cost of a pint , let alone a weak shandy. Lime and soda also £3.45. As far as I’m aware this isn’t a Michelin star pub, so unsure why they are charging Michelin prices. Moving on to pudding, my partner had the pear and apple crumble with custard, however the custard was more of a vanilla milk, and not very much of that either. I had the sticky toffee pudding and this was lovely, however too heavy for me. The dessert menu was missing a palette cleanser , something light like a sorbet , I assume that wouldn’t bother some people and just my opinion. Another small niggle was when the pudding spoon were bought out, they were placed on the Center of the rustic wooden table. They weren’t wrapped in napkins or placed on a plate, again for the price of service , I expected more , even weather-spoons wrap them in napkins last time i frequented one. I guess the summary would be , food great but service not worth the money paid, I imagine they are trying to re-coup since a poor last 2 years and I really do empathise with the hospitality trade. But if you are going to charge these prices , you need to step up the game. Will I go back, I think maybe as these things can be improved and the little food I ate I throughly enjoyed , there just wasn’t enough for the money paid.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Vine Tree, General Manager at The Vine Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2022

Thank you for your feedback. We take great pride in our food and the prices at which we charge them. £22.50 for a 16oz T-bone steak is more than reasonable and if you were to go elsewhere, you'd pay slightly more than that for the...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Whatley Manor
1,198 reviews
2.84 km away
Stanton Manor Hotel
466 reviews
5.06 km away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
657 reviews
5.37 km away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere M4 Westbound
215 reviews
5.50 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Dining Room at Whatley Manor
386 reviews
2.81 km away
The Rattlebone Inn
335 reviews
3.65 km away
Grey’s Brasserie
383 reviews
2.83 km away
The Bridge
21 reviews
3.59 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Rattlebone Inn
50 reviews
3.65 km away
Malmesbury Abbey
497 reviews
5.29 km away
Highgrove Gardens
1,093 reviews
6.78 km away
Athelstan Museum
90 reviews
5.30 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ajstratford
26 March 2017|
Answer
Response from PollyM482 | Property representative |
Thank you for your question. Our chef will happily adapt a meal on the menu to suit your dietary needs, please feel free to mention your requirements when booking a table and we'll be ready to cater for you. Many thanks
0
Votes
annparmakis
20 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Fiddler1068 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, I really don't know about this.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Vine Tree

The Vine Tree is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5