We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spyglass & Kettle

2 Woodside, Gillingham ME8 0PG, England
+44 1634 231392
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good29%
  • Average14%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“sundae” (2 reviews)
“sunday roast” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Woodside, Gillingham ME8 0PG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We live in Essex and visited Kent today to visit relatives. Getting hungry we decided to stop at the next place we could, to eat. Happened to stumble across this pub/ restaurant, and we are very glad we did. Two perfectly cooked steaks with lovely...More

Thank alan_lautman
Sarag L, Assistant manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thankyou for you review! We are glad you had an enjoyable visit, least you know where to find us if ever need to make a trip over again! Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Had a family meal, our party consisted of 17 people not an easy task to serve. Our meals arrived hot and fresh, we were attended by a staff member called Tilly who was attentive and pleasant, a real asset to the evening.

Thank John W
Sarag L, Assistant manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Thank you for your review! We are so glad you had a fab time visiting us!! Hope to see you again soon!!

Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Went to the spy glass as a family staff and management was great polite friendly ordering food was smooth and fast and we had no complaints with the food we will definitely be returning

Thank kevdan
Sarag L, Assistant manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you for your review, we are glad you had an enjoyable visit! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 8 October 2018

First time here since becoming a Greene King pub/eatery. Booked a Saturday lunch time but did not get the table booked someone else walked in a took it. Waste of time booking! The menu is the same as an Greene King but I was surprised...More

Thank ge0ffcat
Sarag L, Assistant manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Tha k you for your review, we apologise about the table, doesn’t usually happen. We hope you will visit us again soon!

Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

I frequently visit with friends or family for food and usually buy the two meals for £9.99 which is great value. Always found the staff pleasant, I want to give a special mention to Jo who done a great job today serving us and making...More

Thank AngKent
Sarag L, Assistant manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Thank you for you review!! We love that you had a great tume with us at the spy!! We look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

I eat and drink here frequently with friends and family. Every member of staff is always very accommodating and friendly. You can reserve tables here and help when I've booked large parties for my daughter's birthday. Family friendly pub and good food at very reasonable...More

Thank GlobeTrotting402067
Sarag L, Assistant manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for your review! I will make sure i notify all the staff of how great they are doing! We take prode in everything we do as a team! We look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Night out meal and a few drinks, first time here nice pub, good atmosphere, busy but not rowdy fair choice of gins, meal was ok we had two steak platters, plenty of food for the price but meat quality wasn’t great. We will definitely go...More

Thank NicolaB320
Sarag L, Assistant manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Thank you for your review! Sorry to hear the neat wasnt anygood. Im sure on your next visit it will be lovely!! Look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Arrived at the pub yesterday for dinner to find a wet smelly dog running around the place. The dog then decided to take a number 2 in front of the bar that sat there for 5 minutes. On speaking to the northern dog owner he...More

Thank robbie g
Sarag L, Assistant manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Thank you for your review, this is a bit of an exstreme review, i have reported this due to the fact that none of this happened, the dog you mention happens to very well trained is loved by our locals as well as our staff....More

Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Clair is an outstanding member of the team - very friendly and helpful. The pub serves delicious food and a great choice of Gins at the bar. Lovely local for Us. Also great place to watch the football Recommended

Thank beckruth
Sarag L, Assistant manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit and i will spraise clair for her outstanding service! Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

True is the place I come for chicken wings. They're only deep fried but they taste great and you get at least 7 for £4.99. This place does burgers too, they pricey but you get a free drink so it works out. Only problem is...More

Thank Andrew M
Sarag L, Assistant manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Thank you for you comment, im sorry to hear you had a disappointing visit. We will also swap peas for beans, and most adjustments if needed, we do our best to keep our customers happy, if you would like to discuss the matter further, please...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
Premier Inn Rainham (Kent) Hotel
237 reviews
2.02 km away
Premier Inn Gillingham Business Park Hotel
453 reviews
2.12 km away
Travelodge Medway M2
346 reviews
2.26 km away
Premier Inn Chatham/Gillingham (Victory Pier) Hotel
500 reviews
5.02 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Parkwood Cafe
80 reviews
1.05 km away
Spice Fusion
151 reviews
1.27 km away
3sixteen Coffee Shop
18 reviews
1.07 km away
Friendly Phil's
99 reviews
1.52 km away
Nearby Attractions
Prince of Ales
37 reviews
2.34 km away
Capstone Farm Country Park
195 reviews
1.64 km away
St Margaret's Church
14 reviews
2.25 km away
The Dewdrop
7 reviews
2.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kayla G
5 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from sarahlin87 | Property representative |
sorry we don’t serve a normal roast dinner off of the normal menu in the week, but we have a seniors menu that has a roast beef.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Woodside, Gillingham ME8 0PG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Gillingham
  • Phone Number: +44 1634 231392
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing