We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

FEATURES
Playgrounds
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
127
61
16
13
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
127
61
16
13
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch filo french toast eggs benny nachos cake salad great coffee big breakfast boat trip great lunch cabinet food great spot friendly service yummy food spinach slice
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 June 2021

breakfast in the morning at The Harbour House Cafe, arriving there at 7:45. There was a lovely blazing fire going in the fireplace and the place was warm and cosy. Greated by a friendly Manager, who took our order. I ordered the eggs benedict with...salmon and an english breakfast tea which came in a teapot, and enough for a second cup. We took the table close to the fire. It wasnt too long before my cuppa tea arrived,, followed soon after by my breakfast. The Eggs were cooked to perfection with a lovely hollandaise sauce. The smoked salmon was rolled to look like a flower. Very impressive, very enjoyable. Would recommend this place. The had a cabinet full of lovely home made cakes and slices that looked very tempting.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 11 May 2021

Was lovely to be greeted with a good sense of humour. It added to our time there! Lovely food and coffee and massive servings!!! Sausage rolls in the display looked like they were on steroids! Go with an empty belly!!!!

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 27 February 2021

Three of us for lunch on our last day in Whitianga. We all had the butter chickens filo pies served with side salads and a lovely relish. Good coffee, good food and good and friendly service..

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

We are regulars at Harbour, we love it but feel compelled to write about a couple of particularly good specials on the menu at the moment that we'd love to see permanent. The superb vegan nachos which I've had two days in a row and...the mussel chowder pie which the hubby really enjoyed. Big ups to the team for continuing to create yummy food and friendly service. Always check out the specials board folks!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

The service was slow and inattentive. The food was less than satisfactory. Overall a very poor experience. Would not dine again.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

They have one menu for the entire place to share thats stuck to a table (no social distancing) when we asked about the menu, we were snapped at and treated really poorly. There was almost no cabinet food. Would never come back.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
angewhitianga, Owner at The Harbour House Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2020

Heya. We have plenty of menus. When you asked for a menu I myself told you that our kitchen was closed.Our newest member of staff who was unaware told you about the menu stuck to the counter.(it was his first day and you were extremely...More

Reviewed 10 September 2020

Been to harbour house a couple of times and during those times I've watched a young girl on the counter learning get abused and another worker for not being quick enough with a broken arm. horrible language and downgrading. Both were abused Infront of customers....The feeling in there wasn't very nice especially being a customer and witnessing that.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 2 August 2020

Unwelcoming till staff, rude waitress who spilled the coffee and couldn't say sorry or at the very least replace the saucer - she just grabbed a bunch of serviettes from an old tin and dumped them on the table. Overpriced food, nice enough although half...of the bacon was so tough it couldn't be eaten. Not a great birthday outing 😔More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 1 August 2020 via mobile

Really delicious food but the service could be improved by (1) making it clear to guests that there is not table service, they need to order at the counter (2) clearing the previous table by not wiping away the crumbs and mess into the new...guest’s lap (3) getting the order right so that a side of mushrooms arrives with the eggs on toast and not 10 minutes later after having to ask where it is.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 29 July 2020 via mobile

Nice café to sit outside and enjoy the view of the harbour but beware of seagulls wanting your food too. Nice food and good service.

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?2  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Anchorage Motel
46 reviews
.22 km away
Mana-Nui Motel
96 reviews
.22 km away
Blue Marlin Apartments
64 reviews
.47 km away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
487 reviews
.47 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
That Curry Place
318 reviews
.33 km away
Blue Ginger
366 reviews
.25 km away
Sangam Indian Cuisine
350 reviews
.25 km away
The Espy Cafe
440 reviews
.02 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ferry Landing Wharf
19 reviews
.85 km away
Mercury Bay Museum
194 reviews
.02 km away
Mercury Bay Cemetery
6 reviews
.55 km away
Whitianga i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
199 reviews
.33 km away
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Harbour House Cafe

The Harbour House Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4