We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, European, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
154
86
16
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
154
86
16
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch cakes salmon roulade eggs benedict french toast carrot cake great coffee for sale counter food cafe food nice surroundings morning tea lovely little cafe delicious food great menu service was prompt big breakfast
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My word those scones are something to behold!!!! Lovely staff, the food rest of the food looked fab too...but the scones I could not go past! Numnums!!! Rest pf the team loved their meals too! Thumbs up from us!

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
starlightbambam, Owner at The French Fig, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I am very proud of my staff and food so glad you enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed 16 April 2021

As title, awesome food served by friendly staff. Only visited towards end of our stay in Whitianga, not happy that we didn't visit sooner as would have eaten in again for breakfast 100%

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
starlightbambam, Owner at The French Fig, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2021

Thank you so much I am very lucky to have such great staff who make and serve the best food. We hope to see you again Safe travels

Reviewed 6 April 2021

We visited here after reading reviews, was bit disappointed as not much French food, I had almond croissant which was so yummy and a nice cup of tea, husband had bacon & eggs was really nice but bread wasn't french bread. Was hoping for filled...baguettes like we get in France. Staff were all great, food fresh, lovely atmosphere.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
starlightbambam, Owner at The French Fig, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2021

Thank you for your comments. Our rolls are Sundried rolls which are baked from a French recipe. We also had Ham, Cheese and Tomato filled croissants . We have owned the cafe for 3 1/2 years now and it carried the name when we purchased....More

Reviewed 30 March 2021

Came for breakfast with the family while on holiday. It was really good value and everything tasted so good

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
starlightbambam, Owner at The French Fig, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2021

Thank you for your great review. We are happy you enjoyed our food

Reviewed 28 March 2021

Stopped in here for brunch with a couple of friends. All meals were served in good time and all hot and tasty. Coffee was good but could have been hotter

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
starlightbambam, Owner at The French Fig, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2021

Thank you. We look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 25 March 2021

Visited here as the cafe we usually go to when we are here on holiday on the waterfront was closed and a local recommended French Fig to us. We are really pleased they did - there was so much delicious food in the cabinet it...was hard to choose! Although it was very busy we received our food and coffee (which was hot and strong) promptly. All staff we interacted with were efficient and friendly and we will definitely return next time we are back in Whitianga.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
starlightbambam, Owner at The French Fig, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2021

Thank you for trying us. We do all love our little cafe :) We look forward to seeing you next time you are in town.

Reviewed 13 March 2021 via mobile

Great food BUT all counter food does not have a listed price. And names listed on counter food does not match repeated order from cashier. Order the penne but waitress gave me a panini.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
starlightbambam, Owner at The French Fig, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

I am sorry there was a mistake with your order, I think it was miscommunication on both parts, the lady on the counter thought you said panini when of course you had said Penne ( that was our salad that day ) Very easy mistake...More

Reviewed 5 March 2021

We’ve been on a road trip around North Island for the last 2 weeks and French Fig has outstanding food, best dishes we’ve tasted so far. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
starlightbambam, Owner at The French Fig, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2021

Wow thank you so much. We are all very happy you enjoyed our food. We do pride ourselves on the quality and standard. We hope that you will find tie to visit again.

Reviewed 25 February 2021 via mobile

Nice place to sit down for a coffee. Coffee was average. Really tasty pastries. Had a delicious Chocolate and hazelnut croissant 👌.

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
starlightbambam, Owner at The French Fig, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2021

Thank you for you review . I am glad you enjoyed .

Reviewed 21 February 2021 via mobile

We loved the name and there seemed to be lots of people there so we thought that was a good sign... unfortunately we were quite disappointed... coffee was milky, iced chocolate was milky and had to ask for some more chocolate put in which did...make it a lot better. My husband got the big breakfast and I got the bacon and eggs which were very sub par... my husband loves his poached eggs runny but one was very over cooked... everything was just ok. The one thing I will say is the customer service was nice, the bacon was nice and crispy, and their cabinet lemon cake/muffin was divine! Unfortunately we wouldn’t go back :(More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
starlightbambam, Owner at The French Fig, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2021

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your experience. I am surprised as we are a very busy cafe, if you had asked for your eggs to be runny we would have made sure they were. Again as I have said many times I wish people...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Mana-Nui Motel
96 reviews
.18 km away
Peninsula Motel
175 reviews
.37 km away
Anchorage Motel
46 reviews
.39 km away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
487 reviews
.49 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
That Curry Place
315 reviews
.02 km away
Blue Ginger
363 reviews
.17 km away
The Espy Cafe
437 reviews
.28 km away
Sangam Indian Cuisine
349 reviews
.19 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ferry Landing Wharf
19 reviews
1.15 km away
Mercury Bay Museum
194 reviews
.32 km away
Mercury Bay Cemetery
6 reviews
.85 km away
Whitianga i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
199 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The French Fig staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The French Fig

Yes, The French Fig offers takeaway services.

Yes, The French Fig offers delivery services.

The French Fig is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4