Bread Alone

Bread Alone

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+1 845-876-3108+ Add website
Hours
Sun
7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Mon
7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tue
7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wed
7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thu
7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Fri
7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat
7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
CUISINES
American, Cafe
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
features
Is this restaurant good for local cuisine?
CUISINES
American, Cafe
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles344 reviews
Excellent
180
Very good
121
Average
26
Poor
13
Terrible
4
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Lisa K
Red Hook18 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 friends
If you're wandering around Rhinebeck and need a place to find breakfast or lunch (they close at 5), come here! It's a bustling place serving regular, organic and gluten-free breads that are out of this world delicious.Many vegan and healthy choices for lunch/breakfast. I always order a salad and bread. Desserts are scrumptious and can be ordered take-out. In warm months you can eat outside on the back patio.
Written 27 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tom C
Sea Bright36 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
This place is fabulous. We went on Saturday morning and had to wait a few minutes for a table. Boy, was it worth it! I ordered an omelette with bacon, carmelized onions and cheddar cheese. It came out quickly and was overstuffed with ingredients. Eggs were done just right and the bread they make in house was outstanding as well. My wife had a spinach, tomato and gruyere omelette and enjoyed hers equally as well. Top shelf coffee and excellent service make this an absolute must-try in Rhinebeck.
Written 1 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Terrace809
117 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 couples
Scones, muffins, cookies, artisanal breads, and prepared foods too - hot breakfast and lunch sandwiches. Seriously, I wanted to order every single thing in the display case and on the bread rack. 💯 % worth the visit.
Written 22 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Madie1406
New York City606 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022 solo
Pushy , Brooklyn crowd and sandwiches made with day old bread is not my idea of a good dining experience. Back in the day, this was a first rate bakery-back when Rhinebeck had “class”. So guess they had to lower their standard to service the new crowd in town. Disorganized line, with customers taking forever to order and you have to wait til they decide. The Bagel shop down the street has faster service and better quality!
Written 25 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Deborah F
Boston12 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 none
Avocado toast was served on hard sourdough bread that was almost impossible to cut with the plastic silverware provided. Also, the avocado was slathered with unadvertised onions, which ruined the flavor for me. My husband's bagel with lox and cream cheese was similarly disappointing: runny cream cheese, lox that wasn't tasty, and a large amount of unwanted arugula. the iced coffee was so-so. This looked like a really nice place with an attractive menu, but neither of us enjoyed our food much.
Written 17 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa B
Hello Deborah! We are so very sorry to hear that your experience with us was underwhelming. Do you mind me asking what location purchased from? The quality of the product that you described is NOT our standard so I want to make sure it is clear with the kitchen team that prepared this for you! The shallots are a part of the menu description so I apologize that it was not the taste you were hoping for. I will be passing along the information regarding the bread and other components you mentioned to make sure everyone is on point with their presentation. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you will stop in again for a 2nd try! Thank you so very much, Melissa
Written 19 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

liztinabeth
Westfield141 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021 none
This is usually a standard food recommendation for friends who come visit for at least one breakfast. Everyone loves their iced coffee. My friends also really enjoy the egg and cheese brioche sandwich. I love the avocado toast personally. Their pastries are also delicious. Service is always good considering how busy they can be.
Written 14 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Manda W
Saugerties24 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 couples
Late lunch (2:30 PM) yesterday at Bread Alone was a disappointment. I was ignored at the register until I asked "Where do I place an order?" three times, even though I was the only person in line. Placed the order for 1 Breakfast Burrito, 1 Smoked Salmon Bagel, 1 Cappuccino & 1 Coffee for $31.00. My Smoked Salmon Bagel was mostly cream cheese, w/ a single slice of cucumber and 2 very small, very thinly cut slices of Smoked Salmon - mostly a bagel and cream cheese for $15. My husband's Breakfast Burrito was mostly black beans & a bit of avocado - he couldn't taste any egg, cheese, sour cream or salsa and said the burrito itself was a tasteless mush. Coffees were fine. The restaurant wasn't clean. A customer allowed her two small children to run around the restaurant screaming and getting underfoot - that is when we left, although if I had not grabbed one of my elderly companions, she would have been knocked over by one of the small children allowed to race around the tables. One would think management would have stopped this behavior. We will think twice before eating here again, if ever.
Written 26 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Marcia F
Westport140 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 none
Located in the heart of town, Bread Alone has found the perfect formula for magnificent bread, scones, muffins, etc and light brunch options. Food is fresh and service is efficient,. A definite morning favorite worth standing on a short line.
Written 10 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Paul S
Toronto55 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 none
My wife and I noticed Bread Alone after eating a delicious pizza next door at Pizzeria Posto. The line of customers told us that this was a good place to eat. Their breads and sandwiches looked fantastic so on another day we drove back up to Rhinebeck for lunch at Bread Alone. What a great find! I had difficulty choosing from the menu choices but settled on a spiced chicken sandwhich, iced tea and a lemon scone for dessert. My wife chose one of the salads. My sandwich was a generous size, spicy and delicious. The salad was termed 'superior'. And the lemon scone was fresh and flavorful. We sat outside on the patio, enjoying the fine weather. We would certainly head back to Bread Alone when back in the Hudson Valley
Written 23 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Corinne B
Skaneateles357 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 couples
Breakfast sandwiches and pastries were delicious. Despite the name, a member of our party who is gluten free got a gluten free breakfast wrap. Breads and pastries were VERY tempting but we resisted bringing any home. Dog friendly, always a plus for us.
Written 2 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Linda O
Silverado169 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 family
What a darling boutique restaurant! The bread was delicious! We had several things from sandwiches to soups to salads and everyone was satisfied. Even a picky child devoured the grilled cheese they made him. The unique salad with goat cheese and sliced squash was yummy. My husband enjoyed the fajita soup and the thick slice of bread they served with it. Next time we hope to try some of their coffees.
Written 26 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Once Upon a Journey
Amsterdam443 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 none
Yummm! We visited Bread Alone multiple times during our time in Rhinebeck, simply because it was so delicious. From the coffee, bread, sandwiches, to the sweet baked goods. It's a lovely place that also has many vegetarian and vegan options available! And we love how they only use organic and locally produced products.
Written 29 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

GilBagnell
Catskill Region174 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2022 none
We mainly eat bread from Bread Alone. They have a wide variety of breads, though I lean toward the whole grain and the 12 grains plus one seed. Nice flavor from longer fermentation times, and good sourdough if that is what you get. I particularly like the structure of the breads, you find not only in their white breads, as you would edpect, but in all of their breads, including those with many heavier grans and flours added.
Written 4 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Bill P
Rochester53 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 couples
Bread Alone has become a Rhinebeck institution over the years. A great bakery, their restaurant is extremely good, with locally sourced comestibles. We recently ate breakfast there, with local sausage on my plate and local bacon for my wife. Both plates were delicious, as was the coffee and (Harney's) tea. A bag of Danish to go topped off an excellent meal.
Written 1 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

309allan
Hyde Park43 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 none
Have been going to this place mostly for breakfast for many years and pretty much satisfied. Now they have pared down their menu to not many choices. Still no table service. We always bring or dog and they always provided pans of water for the dogs. When I asked for water for my dog they said all they had was bottled water. They could give me a plastic container but would charge for the water. Where did they get the water before? Such a disappointment. Not sure if we will go back.
Written 27 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 344
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Terrapin
$$ - $$$ · American, International
Cinnamon Indian Cuisine
$$ - $$$ · Indian
The Amsterdam
$$ - $$$ · American
Market St. Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · Italian, American
Aroi Thai
$$ - $$$ · Asian, Thai
Matchbox Cafe
$$ - $$$ · American, Cafe
Smoky Rock BBQ
$$ - $$$ · Barbecue
Gigi
$$ - $$$
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

BREAD ALONE, Rhinebeck - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos

All Rhinebeck HotelsRhinebeck Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Rhinebeck
Things to DoFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire