We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Seafood
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (429)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
231
118
40
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
231
118
40
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scallops cookie skillet banana cream pie fish sandwich upstairs bar sister restaurant wonderful lunch water view outdoor seating long island views rumba summer marina boat valet deck
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was just ok. Way too much salt on a $54 steak. Waitress ran my credit card and told me it was declined 3X. I knew there was no issue with my card, but didn’t want to deal with it at the table with...family present and I gave her a different card. I come to find out, not three hours later, my other card was run five times, not 3, and all 5 charges are STILL pending 5 days later on that card. After speaking to the manager, and rightfully, I was very annoyed, the manager said that it’s not like the waitress got up in the morning and decided to do this to you. I give the entire experience a BIG FAT -10! And the manager needs to seek a new profession!More

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rooted Reviews, Owner at Cowfish, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hey Debbie, we're really sorry to hear about your experience. Your feedback means a lot and we want to make things right. Please reach out to us at marketing@rootedhg.com so we can address your concerns and get some more information regarding your visit. We look...More

Reviewed 17 April 2024

We had dinner upstairs at the bar. The drinks were delicious and unique! Food was excellent! Best clam chowder I’ve ever eaten! And Adia took very good care of us!More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rooted Reviews, Owner at Cowfish, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Eric, thank you for choosing Cowfish to visit on your vacation! We are so happy you enjoyed your way through our menu. Adia will be very pleased to hear the compliment on the excellent service. We look forward to welcoming you back for another...More

Reviewed 11 April 2024 via mobile

This restaurant is fantastic! Great staff, Food and scenery! Rita, our waitress was terrific! We will definitely be back.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rooted Reviews, Owner at Cowfish, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2024

Hi Patricia, we are thrilled to hear about your fantastic experience at Cowfish! Your kind words and 5-star rating mean a lot to us. Rita will be so happy to receive your praise. We look forward to hosting you again soon for another memorable meal....More

Reviewed 11 March 2024

Wow! This was all around the best restaurant experience I have had all year, I am from Boston, and the Clam Chowder was the best I have had anywhere not in New England. It was delicious. The salmon special was cooked to perfection, moist, and...perfectly seasoned. The service felt like I had my own private waiter. Any time I looked up, he was paying attention, and yet was completely unobtrusive, The atmosphere and decor were elegant without being overwhelming. The meal wasn't cheap, but it wasn't ridiculously expensive either. I had soup and an entree, and two cocktails. The total was under $75 including tax. I am staying nearby for work for two months and I plan to come back once a week.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rooted Reviews, Owner at Cowfish, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Hello Barbara, This review made our day! It's a great feeling to hear such wonderful feedback. We are honored that are clam chowder is a true contender! Thank you for choosing us as your dining destination during your stay, and we look forward to your...More

Reviewed 5 March 2024

We live in the area and visit this restaurant regularly. It never disappoints. A lively but relaxed atmosphere. Staff are always warm and friendly and food consistently fabulous. Summer or winter, the views are spectacular. It’s always a pleasure.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rooted Reviews, Owner at Cowfish, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Sue, we are truly grateful for your ongoing support and kind words about Cowfish! We look forward to seeing you during the upcoming season! -The Cowfish Team

Reviewed 27 February 2024

This is our first time here as we usually go to the Canal Cafe on the other side of Montauk Highway, but it was closed for the season. As a couple, we had a hamburger and Mahi sandwich for lunch, and both were very good....Service was very good. This is not a place that you will find by accident as you have to snake through the marina to locate the restaurant, but the trip is worth it.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rooted Reviews, Owner at Cowfish, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2024

Hi Kenneth, thank you for sharing your first-time experience and the great feedback! We're glad that you gave us a try and had a great time. Come visit us again when the season warms up to take advantage of our amazing outdoor seating! - The...More

Reviewed 23 December 2023 via mobile

Love this place. There seems to be a plethora of excellent restaurants in Hampton bays these days. This is among the best. It’s a beautiful setting with outstanding food and service. This restaurant group is consistently good. They seem to be good employers because the...staff is very consistent and positive. Just wish they always had the lobster roll on the menu. We also love their sister restaurants Rumba and in westhampton Flora and Fauna. They do a great job every time.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel Hersh, Owner at Cowfish, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2023

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this excellent review! We are honored to serve Hamptons Bays and are thrilled that you regard us as being one of the best restaurants in the area. We will share your compliments on our positivity with...More

Reviewed 10 December 2023 via mobile

WHEN LOW EXPECTATIONS TURN UPRIGHT. Clamps chowder 9/10 only because I am greedy and had to wait for my 2nd bowl. The BarBQ shrimp 🍤 outstanding there arev3 large 🍤 over a bed of Tartar Sauce did I mention LARGE SHRIMP??!! 10/10. The cocktail 🍸...do at your own risk but I will highly recommend the champagne and the martini with Khalua and coffee bean if you have enjoyed a mud slide or a screaming orgasm in your life (without the dairy) let me mention the BarBQ shrimp 🍤 yes there is a kick. Nothing that a 5yr anos could not handle. Trust the process you are going to thinkbit is not enough food it is. I promise. These folks has this down to a science, you will only be overjoyed. I wish you all could tag me in your experience here. Let me say in advance, welcome to the family. For my folks of color [BLACK] If your are like me feeling that most white folks are out to harm us. NOT here, please come enjoy in an atmosphere where you can breathe, relax, laugh, and become apart of what our lives should look like in our own communities. I am crying right now. It could be the drinks or the feelings of absolute acceptance. I feel like this experience was the hug I needed.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel Hersh, Owner at Cowfish, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2023

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave this review -- you made our day with this one! We are thrilled to hear that the deliciously bold and fresh flavors of our menu stood out to you and that you thoroughly enjoyed your time...More

Reviewed 5 November 2023

We came to the Hamptons to stay in a cottage at Canoe Place. We asked for a local, close proximity restaurant recommendation for dinner one night. We are on a site visit for a large event coming up in 2024, therefore we are assessing our...options for outings. Cowfish was suggested by our resort. It is directly across the highway from Canoe Place on the water. Very close proximity. Our first impression was moderately positive. You drive through an unkept, dingy boat storage and salvage area. Once you reach the property it is a much more pleasant aesthetic with a view of the water and docked boats. We were seated promptly per our reservation. Our server was adequate upon arrival, but soon failed to refill water when asked several times and missed other customary services. The food arrived in a timely manner ( drinks were often delayed ). The food was adequate, not fabulous. Most disappointing was our extensive efforts to celebrate a birthday of one person in our party. We had personally requested a birthday candle presented on dessert via our reservation for one guest. The guest services director at Canoe Place also called Cowfish and requested the birthday dessert. Additionally, one of our guests spoke with a hostess mid way through dinner to remind her of our request. Despite ALL of the requests and reminders, one SIMPLE detail could not be delivered. When we pointed out the error to our server, he had zero knowledge the request had been made. When we approached a manager, he called it missed communication. In fairness to the hostess, she had communicated the information to the manager. He was the person who failed to deliver. Yet management called it “missed communication”. Not a good look for a restaurant when management doesn’t acknowledged THEY were the problem. Overall assessment, management needs extensive training or perhaps a better management team. The two managers on site for dinner 11/3/23 were sub par professionals and clearly not able to manage the simplest requests. We will omit Cowfish from our next larger group event. The event is also a special occasion and Cowfish isn’t refined enough in their service or overall performance to make us want to return. The general demographic was 70+ with a sprinkling of families. Definitely a mid- low range experience. This restaurant would benefit from better training of their staff starting at the management level!More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel Hersh, Owner at Cowfish, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2023

Thank you for providing this feedback. Unfortunately, it sounds like you left unhappy and, on behalf of all of us at Cowfish, we apologize. There's no doubt about it – the miscommunication wasn't acceptable, and we'll certainly be discussing that as a whole team. We...More

Reviewed 18 October 2023

Excellent service menu options. Seafood dishes, salads. The cornbread appetizer is amazing. Excellent wine list. Delicious desserts.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2023 via mobile

Not a good place to order meat. Asked for A1 sauce... they have none...asked for Worstecheier and by the time they brought'something' the very expensive steak was cold. Took it home. For the baked potato with everything on it there was no butter, salt or...pepper on the table. The mussels were quite good. The service ad hoc... Not a fine dining experience the prices say it is.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2023 via mobile

Fantastic food, views and service apart from the front of house girl who was particularly rude, never smiled and literally dumped a celebration dessert on the table without a word or a smile. We have travelled from England to celebrate our sons marriage to a...girl from Long Island and just wanted a little surprise for them. Well done everyone except one!!More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2023 via mobile

One of the best places we’ve eaten since moving here from the UK. Service excellent, staff friendly and helpful. Best corn bread we’ve ever tasted! Cod Thai curry excellent, shrimp dish divine! All the food was presented so beautifully. Will definitely go back and thoroughly...recommend. The location is stunning too!More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2023

Ordered take out. Such a terrible meal. The salmon looked like it was someone’s leftovers. Disgusting sauce on the burger. Food and service has definitely gone downhill. Other take out packing was not closed properly.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2023

Although we were staying in Southampton & the 15 minute drive to Hampton Bays took us an hour in vacation traffic, this restaurant was wonderful enough that we went there 4 times during the month of July. The tuna & halibut was one of the...best fish dishes I've had in a long time. Perhaps the only thing better than the food was the setting. The restaurant is sitting on the water so be sure to ask to sit on the upstairs outdoor deck. The service was perfect. I'll miss this special place until next summer.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Hampton Maid
121 reviews
.47 km away
Ocean View Terrace Inn
113 reviews
.83 km away
Easterner Motel
65 reviews
1.87 km away
Seahaven Resort Motel
7 reviews
2.74 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Rumba
452 reviews
.62 km away
Edgewater Restaurant
256 reviews
.96 km away
The Hampton Maid
163 reviews
.46 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ponquogue Beach
168 reviews
5.33 km away
Meschutt Beach
83 reviews
1.27 km away
Church of St. Rosalie
9 reviews
1.67 km away
Tiana Beach
5 reviews
6.68 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Zoe S
8 February 2022|
Answer
Response from 235waynec | Reviewed this property |
No
0
Votes
liliya_me
8 May 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from cthyon | Reviewed this property |
Yes, we have always made reservations.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

COWFISH, Hampton Bays - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Cowfish

Yes, Cowfish offers takeaway services.

Cowfish is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5