We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (72)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
58
9
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
58
9
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch scones nelson coffee gem veranda uk treat date kiwi locals
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Best cafe on our trip. Delicious food - sausage rolls and quiche outstanding. Coffee delicious and service so friendly

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 December 2023

We always go to the Villa, the staff are awesome, especially Megan. And the food is delicious, and looks amazing. It is the one place we go and know we will reliably get a great cup of coffee.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2022

Four of us had a really nice lunch in the Villa. The food is and always has been very good although I would like to see a few new items added to the menu. Megan (new to the Villa) makes customers very welcome and is...a real asset with her professional service and happy smiley face.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2022

Hi all, we have been out of holiday travel for 3 years much like you all but the doors too NZ are now open to everyone. If you are passing Wakefield on your way too or from Nelson look out for The Villa. The front...won't grab you with vast neon signs but has a grand villa look. Go in and have a treat. We had a Devine date scone served with jam and cream. Coffee was very good as was the tea served with a 5min timer too get infusion perfect. I think the locals are trying to keep this gem to themselves as at 11.00 inside was full however outside was OK under the veranda, so kiwi.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2022 via mobile

What a lovely hidden gem in the village of Wakefield!! Had the best Date scone and coffee. Took my parents, here from UK, they were very impressed! Super friendly, efficient and helpful staff. Clean and tidy premises. We will 100 percent go back..next time will...try the lunch menu, which sounded delicious :-) Thoroughly recommend a visitMore

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2021

Stopped here on day Three of cycle trip. Good spot for morning tea or lunch in a lovely old villa with a gorgeous garden. Ordered scones which were tasting and the coffee was good.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 October 2021 via mobile

As my husband said, this was the best food he’s had in the last 12 months. He had a prawn tostada. I just had a vegetarian quiche and a salad, but that salad was to die for. The Villa is in a lovely old villa...right off the highway and the Great Taste Trail so be sure to stop if you’re passing by. We live in Nelson so it’s a new destination for us.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

We visited on a beautiful sunny Sunday, the Cafe was surprisingly quiet....however on walking in to order food at the counter we found we were in the way of staff and customers accessing the front door. We had wanted breakfast but on receiving the menu...realized they didnt serve this. So we opted for the cabinet food. There was not alot of variety in the cabinet and when we placed our order we were told so thats sold out....oh and that is too... What we did order came out rather slowly, was missing the condiments we were told they were served with....but was tasty, albeit not what we felt like - totally our fault for not doing our research. The interior also smelt very strong of deepfrier- so much so our clothes and hair smelt awful on walking out into the fresh air. The courtyard is lovely. But in summary if you are looking for a breakfast Cafe this is NOT the place. If youre looking for a venue that has a nice outdoor area and good coffee this is probably more suited to you.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael M, Owner at The Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Hi , thanks for your response. It always helps to improve . However reading into your review deeper it shows the misunderstanding of some people. There are to many cafes serving breakfast …. Well we don’t :) as well once the counter food sells out...More

Reviewed 23 April 2021

Amazing service and lovely food, cheese board is well worth it! Location is wonderful as well! Will definitely be going again!

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2021

This is the best café in the Nelson/Tasman district. I have been doing a survey and this café has won. No loud music so it's possible to have a conversation. Excellent service. Beautiful house and garden. Then there's the food ... never been disappointed yet...... except when I've forgotten that they're closed on a Monday. Always a very pleasant experience.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2020 via mobile

Fantastic stop off on cycle trail. Sat in beautiful garden. Loved the soup and fresh bread and strawberry tart was amazing

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

Wow is all I can say about our brunch today! The potato rosti was beautiful, the burger my partner had was amazing and the fries... wow amazing! If you’re travelling past I recommend you stop here

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 June 2020

Carrot cake Very dry and icing no taste.$8.50 was a waste. Baked cheesecake disappointing as no flavour.More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MichaelM19994, Owner at The Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2020

Hi Joan, thank you for your review about our cakes, very sad to hear that your money been a waste , you could simply sell us at the day and we would not even charge you and you would not have waste your money as...More

Reviewed 9 March 2020 via mobile

Lunch at the Villa cafe,they were super busy,with nearly every table seated,but the wait was reasonable,the staff were flat out but the service was good-they were even sending customers up the road to the other cafe as the chef meals were getting up to an...hour wait,the food was excellent and good strong coffee-They are always pleasant at this cafe in Wakefield.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2020 via mobile

Once again we were really impressed with the food and service an The Villa. We enjoyed the evening set menu meal with family. The courses were well thought out and tasted beautiful. Thanks for a lovely night out.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Brightwater Motor Inn
27 reviews
6.96 km away
Parkside Motel
90 reviews
13.02 km away
Gladstone Motel
59 reviews
13.54 km away
Oxford Court Motel
169 reviews
13.71 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Sprig + Fern Brightwater
11 reviews
6.42 km away
The Wakefield Bakery
69 reviews
.21 km away
HQ Cafe & Bar
14 reviews
6.41 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lord Rutherford Memorial
15 reviews
5.82 km away
Ngarua Caves
236 reviews
9.23 km away
Armageddon Paintball
8 reviews
11.62 km away
The Junction
5 reviews
12.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Racisce
14 March 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MsMartini | Reviewed this property |
On Saturday nights, for their special set menu meals, it is, yes. Small corkage charge.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE VILLA, Wakefield - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about The Villa

Yes, The Villa offers takeaway services.

The Villa is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 5